Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Of Thomas Kempe
Fascinating story about a young boy and his ghostly friend. None of the adults around him believe that there is a ghost until he befriends a local builder who doubles up as a psychic. I think I must have read this book about a dozen times 20-odd years ago when I was a child. Brilliantly written and what we would crassly describe as a "must-read" book these days. I...
Published on 19 Nov 2002 by Steve Needham

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Childrens favourite
Penelope Lively is a Booker Prize winner and her earlier work, books for children, show the promise to come. This is the story of a young lad who, with his family, move into an old cottage in an English rural setting. Unfortunately before they could move in an attic room had to be opened up to make a bedroom for young James Harrison, and that is what awakened the...
Published on 17 April 2002 by pennymwood2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Of Thomas Kempe, 19 Nov 2002
By 
Fascinating story about a young boy and his ghostly friend. None of the adults around him believe that there is a ghost until he befriends a local builder who doubles up as a psychic. I think I must have read this book about a dozen times 20-odd years ago when I was a child. Brilliantly written and what we would crassly describe as a "must-read" book these days. I wanted my own poltergeist but none ever materialised unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Of Thomas Kempe by Penelope Lively, 10 April 2008
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
This is a fantastic story. I did not come across it during my younger years, but my class of 10 year olds have loved it. It is very well written and we have found it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ghost of thomas kempe, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Lynda M. Nolan "Batsinthebelfry" (Bristol. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
I read this book as a child and absolutely loved it...so much infact that I bought it recently and reading it again, even after all this time none of the magic has been lost!
Set in Oxfordshire. It's the story of the Harrisons and their 10 year old son James, who move into to a draughty old cottage where creaks and strange bumps in the night become the norm.
Ten year old James is about to discover they have an unwelcome guest...Thomas kempe a seventeeth century sorcerer who has materialized in East End Cottage in the form of a meddlesome and malicious poltergiest.
Intent on making James his new apprentice Thomas Kempe becomes more and more mischievious to the point where drastic measures must be taken!
Funny and nicely written I love the way this book brings back memories of childhood, long summer days and apple orhards. A real gem of a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts are no match for little boys, 8 July 2008
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
Dr. James Harrison, FRS, MP, D.Phil, OBE, writer of The Life Cycle of a British Beetle is a pirate of the Seven Seas, first conqueror of the earth's highest peak, captain of a World-Cup-winning football team and professional hole-digger. In short, he is a normal boy. And if in his made-up adventures windows get broken, cups shatter and his arm gets stuck in a grate - well that's not really his fault, is it? No matter what his father, mother and, sigh, sister think.

After moving into an old house, James discovers that he is sharing a room with a literate poltergeist,Thomas Kempe, who resorts to banging doors and hiding glasses for attention. Of course, it is James who gets blamed and whose allowance has to pay for damages. Things take a turn for the worse for James when Kempe, a sorcerer, leaves notes all over the place offering his magicks and accusing people of witchery. Can he successfully exorcise Thomas so that he can finally eat dessert and not have to be sent to his room all the time?

Penelope Lively takes us to a time in our lives when the world was bright and wide; when every nook, cranny and hole can yield buried treasure and unfettered possibilities. Through James we remember climbing trees, running through grass, cartwheeling, and of course, telling ghost stories among friends. We also remember times when we couldn't ask adults for help because they wouldn't believe us and sadly, neither did our bestfriends.

This is the perfect reading material for children who will certainly know what it's like to be James and for adults who want to be like James again - at least for a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for 11/ 12 year olds, 2 May 1999
By A Customer
I have used this book with many classes at the top end of UK primary schools and the children invariably become totally enthralled by the relationship of past to present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative read, 28 Jan 2010
By 
L. Weston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
By Pupils of 5LW
Longford Primary School

This facinating book of The Ghost Of Thomas Kempe, about a young ten year old lad,James Harrison,and is being troubled by a ghostly haunter.Thomas Kempe is a seventeenth century Poltergiest. Our favorite character is Thomas Kempe because his notes are funny because he can't spell yet. He causes lots of trouble.We hope that you enjoy this book.We recommend this book to anyone over the age of 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly, 31 July 2011
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
When i was reading it, it was a bit boring in the beginning because there was nothing exciting for a while, but then after, it became more interesting and I couldn't stop reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter eat your heart out!, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I wonder if J.K. Rowling read this book in the 80's as I did because it could be easily described as a Hary Potter style book for it's day, although now sadly tame in comparison. I first read this book in 1985 and only recently in September 2001 and enjoyed it as much now as I did then. The story revolves around James, the pre-pubescent who moves into a recently renovated old cottage. However, when it was renovated, the spirit of a 17th century sorceror, Thomas Kempe, was released and is back to wreak havoc on the village.
The book starts off great but them meanders off a little towards the middle, featuring James's relationship with an imaginary ex-occupant and a lot of emphasis on the countryside and changes surrounding the old village of Ledsham. There's a great bit of excitement towards the end but the conclusion is a little bit of a damp squib, but enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Childrens favourite, 17 April 2002
Penelope Lively is a Booker Prize winner and her earlier work, books for children, show the promise to come. This is the story of a young lad who, with his family, move into an old cottage in an English rural setting. Unfortunately before they could move in an attic room had to be opened up to make a bedroom for young James Harrison, and that is what awakened the seventeenth century sorcerer, Thomas Kempe. The ghost selects James as his apprentice and gives him more trouble than he imagined possible. Who would believe him if he told the truth about the broken dishes and strange messages that keep cropping up all over the village? Fortunately the problem has a solution and James manages to find it. This is an excellent childrens story and leaves the reader in no doubt about the writer’s craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Aug 2014
By 
pompom (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghost of Thomas Kempe (Paperback)
My 11yr old son loved this, did not drop it until he finished it. Will recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ghost of Thomas Kempe
The Ghost of Thomas Kempe by Penelope Lively (Paperback - 6 Aug 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews