Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2011
Excellent buy excellent quality. I would consider buying again from this site. I would certainly look on this site to try and find what I was looking for
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
It follows a similiar pattern to the other books in the series so i recomend that yiou read a couple of the books before the penultimate Peril. Lemony Snickets style of writing is very rare and it grabs your attention. It is consistently breathtaking .There is no need to skip pages because this is a book that will improve your reading. The book is touching;it even made me cry because their emotional journey makes me speachless. The Penultimate Peril will have you turning the last page to find out what happens next
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
arrived on time, quick despatch, item in a good state as descirbed, happy to buy stuff from the same seller in future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2005
this is an fantastic book which you can't put down. the baudeliares are dropped off at a seaside hotel (where a V.F.D metting is being held in a few days time) by kit snicket (seen in the ending of the last book). she tells them that they are to take up jobs at the hotel as concierges. they can spy on the people staying there while doing their job. the aim is to see who is a vollenteer or villain before the meeting is held, and to stop the sugar bowl falling into an imposters hands. if there too many villains staying there or the sugar bowl falls into the imposters hands they must warn the v.f.d members before they arrive.one of the managers there know who they are and want to help. but his twin who is a villain is also there and is also a manager and unwillingly has to do what both of them say whether it's good or bad. as they begin to spy on the people staying there we have the option on which baudelaire to read about(they split up). as they explore the hotel while doing their jobs the baudelaires bump into lots of old faces,who eventally turn against them when they are accused of murder. the siblings must then resort to un-noble acts to escape the hotel and warn the V.F.D members before they arrive at the hotel. thrilling and funny and with the occasinal characters getting bumped off, it leaves us on a big cliffhanger. wondering who survived and who died in the climax of the book. it is setting us up for the big final yet it still feels like a stand-alone book.even know the loose ends are beginning to wrap-up,and the mystery sort of starts comeing together a lot has yet to be solved, such as what is so important about the sugar bowl, in the final book. can't wait.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
This book is definitely one if my favourites. If you love mystery and adventure you will love this book! Make sure to read all the other books before though, or else you won't understand. I wouldn't recommend this book to younger readers as they might not understand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
This book is probably my favourite of the series; it is dark and very eerie. It would make a fantastic Tim Burton film. The ending is a bit disappointing and the good/bad moral question is rammed home a bit too vehemently, but on the whole, it is a very good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Some bits of the book were a bit boring, but most of it was excellent and you find out a bit more about the Baudelaires and how naive they are and yet no one believes them. The end bit gives so much suspense and I cannot wait to read the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
This series of books have kept me and my 9 year old son going for a couple of months now. The style of writing does get a bit tedious at times, but it is great bed time reading together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
I haven't actually read this book as it was a gift for my grand children. I have seen the film though & thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This book was ordered for a girl of 11 years. She really enjoyed it as she has read all the other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse