Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2001
The final adventure of Tintin is unfinished. The book appears in sketch form, with a dialogue in the form of a playscript making the story easy to understand. The story ends some two-thirds of the way through. It reaches an exciting climax, and the book is an important addition to anyone's Tintin library. The book gives a brilliant insight into one of the 20th century's greatest artists, as you read the dialogue and look at Hergé's sketches: the great artist at work. The exciting ending will have you on the edge of your seats, and you will remember the final words in the Adventures of Tintin for the rest of your life...
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2004
It was only after I had read the Tintin Companion that I became aware of the existence of this work, the last attempted adventure for the Belgium reporter. I had been itching to see a copy of it (in any language) since then because, like Tintin in the Land of The Soviets and Tintin in the Congo, it was not very easy to find for a British reader. Thankfully, the publishers have seen fit to give the British Tintin buying public what they want and have finally released it again. Top say that this was a work in progress would be an understatement. Some of the drawings are basic and this is especially true of the later pictures, which are very simple line drawings. This means that it is very difficult to work out which characters are which. It is no means a very good story, and Herge admitted on many occasions that he did not know where the narrative was leading him. With this in mind, it was very difficult to rate this.
However, for those wishing to complete their Tintin collection, it is a must. People who really care about the subject matter have lovingly put this book together and the addition of work in progress papers at the end is an added bonus. The translations have not been added to the original manuscripts but have been placed at the side, which only adds to the experience. This work will not gain Tintin any new fans as there are better adventures but this is a welcome addition to Herge's work. I am not trying to spoil the story for those coming to this fresh, but it does not finish and we are left with Tintin's fate unresolved. It is a shame though that Herge did not offer us any clues as to how Tintin was going to survive, if at all.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
“Tintin and Alph-Art” is the absolutely last Tintin adventure, and was unfinished when Hergé passed away in 1983. It's essentially a collection of rough sketches and drafts (some of them peculiar). It ends with a cliffhanger, as Tintin is led away at gun-point by the bad guys.

The story is vintage Hergé, and was probably intended as a “legacy” of sorts, since the author knew that he was dying. A virtual who's who of characters from other Tintin albums show up in this detective story set in the world of modern art, and it's strongly implied that the main villain may be Rastapopoulos. If so, I wonder how Hergé was going to explain his return, since Tintin's old nemesis was abducted by aliens in “Flight 714”!

Rastapopoulos (if it really is him) uses the alias Endaddine Akass and claims to be a guru with supernatural powers of “magnetism”. Apparently, Akass is loosely based on Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh. In the drafts, Hergé claims that Captain Haddock has become a hippie with a taste for modern art (!!), but in the more developed sketches he is his old self again. Scared me there for a while…

Apparently, several “completed” pirate editions of “Tintin and Alph-Art” exists, but these are strictly underground and not sold by Amazon.

It's difficult to rate an unfinished story, but since I sense something magnetic and, you know, artistic in it, I will give its Alpha-Idea four stars. Dig it?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Having been a Tintin fan for years and now my daughter has taken over the passion, this book was a particular interest to me and her as we could see the layouts etc of how the illustrations were created which for a small child and an old fan is very interesting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The final unfinshed Tintin adventure.

Really for fans only - general readers may be a little disappointed.

Lots of draftt and rough sketches included
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
My son bought this and as an avid Tintin fan he found it fascinating to see how Herge worked. It isn't really a story and is very much a work in progress. This is one for real fans only or tose interested in how a detailed comic book adventure was constructed by one of the masters.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Nice collection of hardback books. Great illustrations. Husband is very happy with the full set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
The best of two worlds. An experience of a classic character and a history of drawing technique. Hard back too
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
A great tintin book in correct format - excellent service too - thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2001
i know the book is unfinished but that didnt stop me buying this. If you are a fan of tintin then you will love this more than your partner. I wont give the story away to much but one of the most classic moments in tintin history occurs when in the last frame where tintin is lead away to have a bust made of himself. we will never know what happens next.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse