Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final piece of the jigsaw
It was only after I had read the Tintin Companion that I became aware of the existence of this work, the last attempted adventure for the Belgium reporter. I had been itching to see a copy of it (in any language) since then because, like Tintin in the Land of The Soviets and Tintin in the Congo, it was not very easy to find for a British reader. Thankfully, the publishers...
Published on 3 Aug 2004 by Lenny Banter

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for Tintin buffs
A gem if you are really into Tintin - it is facinating seeing the work in progress but frustrating not to have the completed story.
Published on 14 Mar 2005 by artemisrhi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final piece of the jigsaw, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
It was only after I had read the Tintin Companion that I became aware of the existence of this work, the last attempted adventure for the Belgium reporter. I had been itching to see a copy of it (in any language) since then because, like Tintin in the Land of The Soviets and Tintin in the Congo, it was not very easy to find for a British reader. Thankfully, the publishers have seen fit to give the British Tintin buying public what they want and have finally released it again. Top say that this was a work in progress would be an understatement. Some of the drawings are basic and this is especially true of the later pictures, which are very simple line drawings. This means that it is very difficult to work out which characters are which. It is no means a very good story, and Herge admitted on many occasions that he did not know where the narrative was leading him. With this in mind, it was very difficult to rate this.
However, for those wishing to complete their Tintin collection, it is a must. People who really care about the subject matter have lovingly put this book together and the addition of work in progress papers at the end is an added bonus. The translations have not been added to the original manuscripts but have been placed at the side, which only adds to the experience. This work will not gain Tintin any new fans as there are better adventures but this is a welcome addition to Herge's work. I am not trying to spoil the story for those coming to this fresh, but it does not finish and we are left with Tintin's fate unresolved. It is a shame though that Herge did not offer us any clues as to how Tintin was going to survive, if at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Adventure of Tintin, 16 Jun 2001
By 
Richard (Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The final adventure of Tintin is unfinished. The book appears in sketch form, with a dialogue in the form of a playscript making the story easy to understand. The story ends some two-thirds of the way through. It reaches an exciting climax, and the book is an important addition to anyone's Tintin library. The book gives a brilliant insight into one of the 20th century's greatest artists, as you read the dialogue and look at Hergé's sketches: the great artist at work. The exciting ending will have you on the edge of your seats, and you will remember the final words in the Adventures of Tintin for the rest of your life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
Having been a Tintin fan for years and now my daughter has taken over the passion, this book was a particular interest to me and her as we could see the layouts etc of how the illustrations were created which for a small child and an old fan is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic!, 2 Jun 2001
By A Customer
i know the book is unfinished but that didnt stop me buying this. If you are a fan of tintin then you will love this more than your partner. I wont give the story away to much but one of the most classic moments in tintin history occurs when in the last frame where tintin is lead away to have a bust made of himself. we will never know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who could ask for more, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
The best of two worlds. An experience of a classic character and a history of drawing technique. Hard back too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The TinTin Outline, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
This is very much an insiders glimpse into the world of Herge which is both fascinating & insightful.It as if you are taken to the creators drawing - board,indeed evan into his mind to see how his creative genius is sketched out before being polished & packaged for the consumer.A must have for all serious collectors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 11 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
My son bought this and as an avid Tintin fan he found it fascinating to see how Herge worked. It isn't really a story and is very much a work in progress. This is one for real fans only or tose interested in how a detailed comic book adventure was constructed by one of the masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality: 3/5. Speed of delivery: 5/5, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
Quite a big dent on the front hard back cover. Other than that, no other problems. 3/5
Delivery speed was incredibly fast. 5/5
Not recommended to collectors as they require mint condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collectors item, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
This was bought for my grandson who is a keen Tin Tin fan..I know he is very pleased with it as with all things relating to Tin Tin. The book displays how Herge planned the Alph - Art book and has many diagrams illustrating the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tin-tin magic, 17 April 2012
By 
Ms. D. B. Grant (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
This book lived up to my expectations, it was
extremely good. Good delivery time and the book was well packed. It was a gift for a friend who greatly
appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin)
Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin) by Georges Remi Hergé (Hardcover - 21 Jun 2004)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews