Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple lovely
I have just brought Milne's exquisite book for my daughter's sixth birthday as my father did for me and his father for him and she has already fallen in love with King John, the Good and Bad Bears and Shepherd's ever delightful illustrations and enjoys reading the classic poems to her array of bedtime toys as much as hearing them herself. These are not just cutes rhymes...
Published on 7 Jan. 2006 by DocMartin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very slightly soiled/faded cover
Published 7 months ago by celiajune


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars PURE JOY, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
At age 60 I recently quoted one of these amazing poems to a chap of about 45 whom I only know through business, writing in an email

If people go down to the end of the town, well, what can anyone do?

He came back to in less than a minute with a further quotation from the same poem, substituting the name of the person I was talking about and otherwise adapting it to the circumstances. Pure magic.

Every child should have the chance to enjoy Milne - it's a joy for a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so glad I bought this book for my six year old daughter. We already had When we Were Very Young, which she loves, so naturally I bought the 'follow up'. This is a very nice edition having the benefit of the lovely illustrations picked out in watercolours, which adds to the enjoyment for the child. I love reading the poems, they are so evocative of a more innocent time and in my opinion an essential part of any child's heritage. Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely edition, 8 Sept. 2008
Bought these editions of "When We Were Very Young" and "Now We Are Six" for my mother as it was a favourite book of hers when she was young. They are beautifully produced with the original Shepherd drawings very tastefully painted in in watercolours. Printed on pale yellow pages with a quality book binding. Overall these have a lovely feel and lovers of these rhymes will not be disappointed. I am very pleased I chose these editions and so is Mum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: NOW WE ARE SIX (Hardcover)
"Now we are six" is simply unbeatable! I'm 52 now and when I read it after all these years, I still remember the many times I read it as a small boy. I'm glad it's still around, evidence of it's durability, but I would recommend buying the hardback version, as I am sure the recipient will wear it down just like I did. Mine is falling to bits and has "additional" drawings in it either scribbled in by my sister or myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful bed time reading, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A timeless book beautifully presented. The pages are a good quality paper with a ribbon page marker. My Grandson and I have loved this as bedtime reading since he was very little and now he is six what better way to celebrate his birthday than his very own copy to keep; for his own children hopefully one day. Delivery was prompt and the book was well protected. couldn't be more pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i would like to apologise from here on, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isn't it just such a lovely book to read...my daughter came to me and asked if i had this book when i was six or rather if this book was given to me when i was six...i would like to apologise from here on, but i did lied and say YES!! proudly, i have read it to them since i received at bed time and they do so enjoy every words and i do so enjoy reading it also.xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for every child to have, 23 July 2010
By 
A. Grimstead (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All children should grow up having been read the poems and rhymes of A.A.Milne. Along with Winnie the Pooh they are some of the best stories and poems that do not go out of date. Even as an adult I still enjoy reading them and am looking forward to being able to read them to my grandchildren when my children finally get round to providing me with some!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood remembered, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now We Are Six (Winnie-the-Pooh - Classic Editions) (Paperback)
This was one of the books that my father read to me at bedtime and reading the poems again brings back all those happy times. I plan to read some of it to our reading group for a meeting entitled 'Childhood', and i am sure that many of the others will agree that these are the best poems for reading out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Methuen, Egmont, 21 Aug. 2011
This 1989 hardback edition was not published by Methuen, nor are the illustrations E.H. Shepherd's original line drawings. No, this edition is the from first series of Egmont's hardback editions of the four classic A.A. Milne books for which the illustrations for "Now We Are Six" and "When We Were Very Young" were coloured for the first time by Mark Burgess, consistent with Shepherd's 1970 colorization of "Winnie the Pooh" and "House at Pooh Corner". For Winnie the Pooh's 80th anniversery in 2006 Egmont republished the series in slightly smaller "Deluxe" editions, culminating in a new "Return to the Hundred Acre Wood", written by David Benedictus and illustrated by Mark Burgess. This Deluxe series was also published by Dutton Childrens Books in the US (printed in Singapore) with different covers, the first time the US editions used Egmont's coloured illustrations of the two later books (Dutton's "Original" series printed in the US were last redesigned in 1988).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book to Treasure !, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this Book for my 6 yr old grandaughter, she loves reading, and I know that she will 'treasure' this. It is beautifully illustrated, I bought the 'hard back', I will 'sign it' for her keeps & who knows, maybe she will be reading it to her grand children !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now We Are Six (Winnie-the-Pooh - Classic Editions)
Now We Are Six (Winnie-the-Pooh - Classic Editions) by A. A. Milne (Paperback - 6 May 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews