Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for Cakesniffers!
If you are addicted to Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, then the tenth addition to this thirteen part series is a must have! If you enjoyed the early books but found the last few somewhat formulaic, then I still recommend Book the Tenth!
After countless tantalizing hints and suggestions, we finally get some real clues. Without giving anything important...
Published on 3 May 2004 by Chrestomanci

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great!
The longest of the series so far, this book still manages to be gripping, funny, heartbreaking and fresh. I can't wait to read the final 3 books!
Published 23 months ago by Martensgirl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for Cakesniffers!, 3 May 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
If you are addicted to Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events, then the tenth addition to this thirteen part series is a must have! If you enjoyed the early books but found the last few somewhat formulaic, then I still recommend Book the Tenth!
After countless tantalizing hints and suggestions, we finally get some real clues. Without giving anything important away, I can reveal that information is uncovered concerning whether or not both Baudelaire Parents really died in book one's fatal fire (hinted at in the last book); we draw much closer to finding out what the initials V.F.D. mean; we are reacquainted with at least two characters from the early books; and a hitherto missing person makes an astonishing appearance subsequently shedding considerable light on the tragic events blighting the Baudelaire sibling's lives. Furthermore, although you won't be able to read about it (for reasons of privacy), Violet has an unexpected romantic entanglement in a very cold place!
The last book left readers with a cliff-hanger: Sunny had been abducted by Count Olaf and his entourage and was being driven uphill, whilst Violet and Klaus were rolling downhill in an out-of-control carnival caravan. If that sounds bad ... then be warned ... things get much worse! If you enjoy cheerful books about mischievous elves, talking mice, magical spells and soft, fluffy teddy bears, then don't order this book - however, if you like alphabetical pledges, snow gnats, trained eagles, mysterious hidden letters, and find vicarious pleasure in the misfortunes of others (an expression which here means you like laughing at luckless orphans), then this is the book for you.
Finally, the obligatory dedication to Beatrice is the funniest yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read this book now !!!!!!!, 11 Oct 2003
well what can i say this book will leave you of the edge of your seat. This book reveals a few things including who survives the terrible fire and what V.F.D stands for and believe me it's quite shocking(well so I think) but terrible Count Oalf is still up to his very nasty tricks and klaus,violet and sunny are in danger . This is a must see book and when it comes out near you READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Amazing Alliterative Adventure!, 3 May 2004
By 
This review is from: The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
Daniel Handler's done it again - this is the tenth book in the wonderful Lemony Snicket series and they just keep getting better (and bigger). As always, the reader is given just enough clues and pieces of the puzzle to think everything's coming together, and then is left at the end with even more questions than they started off with. This one is my favourite so far, and the plot has really started to thicken. If you have the Lemony Snicket Unauthorized Autobiography now's the time to give it a second read, as many of the threads started there are pulled together in The Slippery Slope. The characters really come into their own here, too - Sunny is growing up and gets whole chapters to herself. Her advances in speech are often hilarious - there's a hidden meaning in everything she says. There's also some romance for Violet with someone presumed dead, and the appearance of two new villains who even Olaf and Esme are afraid of. If you haven't yet delved into the wonders of the Snicket world, now's the time to begin, because this series could possibly be one of the most entertaining ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemony Snicket gets better and better, 2 Oct 2003
By 
Mr Adrian Warner (Baildon, Bradford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The tenth book in The Series of Unfortunate Events shows no sign of the titles slowing downor becoming boring. Snicket, as usual, has his audience captured from the first page. As a school librarian, it is heartily encouraging to see so many students of all ages reading these books, reserving them to read in order, and generally promoting reading and childrens' literature. Snicket has done for family, humour and mystery stories what Rowling has done for the fantasy genre. All the usual characters appear here - the three Baudelaire siblings are back along with the two orphaned triplets. Count Olaf is as cruel as always, but don't you just find yourself sympathising with him at times? OK, maybe not. Can I also encourage everyone to read the biography title (which at our school library, I have classed as Number 7A, as it doesn't make sense if you read it before book 7) as there are many clues as to the real identity of Count Olaf, and the somewhat mysterious Lemony Snicket. Why has he and his brother started appearing in the stories? Just read it! Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reading material, 28 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
This book is possibly (in my opinion) one of the best Series of Unfortunate Events books I've read. My heart was racing at the start of the book, I didn't think Violet and Klaus would make it out alive. But they proved me wrong and this installment turned out to be a very compelling adventure. I was quite disappointed though that Count Olaf didn't put on a disguise like he normally does. But apart from that eveything else was brilliant. It even gave a few hints as to what book 12 is about. And as always Lemony Snicket gave us a few depressing anecdotes. I also liked the Cliffhanger ending and I can't wait to read the Grim Grotto. All in all, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1, 1 Feb 2004
This book is one of the best in the series and will not dissapoint you at all! You find out who survives the great fire, more about count oalf (who is still up to his old tricks) what v.f.d stands for, which is ever so suprising! Buy and read now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Can't Believe It!, 29 Sep 2003
By A Customer
There is a survivor of a fire! (Amazon this isn't a spoiler as it says this on the back cover of the book)I won't tell you who it is or what fire they survived but let me tell you it gives hope to the three unlucky Baudelaire children.
I am lucky enough to have read the ASOUE books right from the start and I ordered The Slippery Slope from amazon.com, so that is how I am writing this review. I urge all Lemony Snicket readers to not think 'I'll get The Slippery Slope later' because you need to read this now! It also reveals what VFD stands for.
A great book. Once you have read it, try the quiz on lemonysnicket.com (click on books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Series of Unfortunate Events #10: The Slippery Slope, 2 Dec 2003
By 
Harrit123 (RETFORD, NOTTS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Writing this as a 10 year old fan of Lemony Snicket books, I was excited to get this book 10 after finishing book 9.
Anyone who likes an adventure, and extreemly exciting storyline and a tense atmosphere, they will enjoy this book tremdously.
The book tells the story of 3 orphans named the Bauldelaire's, who lost their parents in a terible fire that occured in their mansion. They go on an adventure on trying to find their parents (who they discover are still alive). At the end of the book 9 their sister is kidnapped and they set about a quest to discover where she is.
In book 10 they find her, and continue on their adventures.
Once I had read book 1, I was addicted and I have read all the books up to book 11, which I am waiting desperately for in pain and agony!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Slippery Slope, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Michael Cawdrey "Codger" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
This is the 10th book of unfortunate events, and is one of the most entertaining books of the series. After being dicconected from the car, the older Bauldilares are screeching down the mountain, in a caravan that is going at a high speed, will they survive, will they save their younger sibling, who survived the fire and what does VFD stand for? Read it and all your questions will be answered. Read the other 9 before you read it though!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best ASOUE book, 14 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
A series of Unfortunate Events continues with Klaus and Violet going down a mountain in a caravan, separated from their baby sister Sunny. But thanks to Violet's ingenious they survive and trek up the mountain to find Sunny. Along the way they meet vicious snow gnats, the snow scouts and someone believed to be dead.
This is the best book from the eleven, but at least three Harry Potter books are better. But this is a better series as all the books join on together and it stopped becoming repetitive. This is written in Lemony Snicket's unique and funny style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa78d4a80)

This product

The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events)
The Slippery Slope #10 (Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket (Hardcover - 6 May 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews