Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars58
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2005
The Wide Window is one of Lemony Snicket's best yet. In this book the Baudelaire orphans encounter Count Olaf for the thirs time, this time disguised as Captain Sham. Their new guardian, Aunt Josephine, is frightened of everything, and believes every word Captain Sham says. Violet is an inventor, Klaus is an eager reader, and Sunny loves to bite things. This book is excellent and is full of surprises around each corner. i never wanted it to end. Sarah aged 9
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2003
These audio CDs are great when you have a journey to make in the car with orphans, er, children. Lemony Snicket is a great author, however, it is Tim Curry who brings the characters to life, and I was really looking forward to his rendition of Aunt Josphine. Imagine our collective disappointment when it became clear that LS was going to read the whole book himself.
Still the children were riveted to their seats! (figuratively)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the 3rd book of unfortuante events written by Lemony Snicket. This book throws the Bauldilaire orphans into more suffering at the hands of the evil count Olaf. There are new characters including Aunt Josophine, a women obsessed with grammer corrections. Prepare for more humor and tradgic events brought to you by Lemony Snicket. I recomend that you read the 1st 2 books before you read this one, so you have a full understanding of the story. It is not as good as the 1st books, but it is still good.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2005
My 8 yr old daughter has enjoyed the first 3 of this series tremendously, this the best yet. They 'feel' like a good quality book, the storys have her hooked, & they have educational value, particularly with the use & explanation of some unusual words & phrases. I would recommend for any kids of her age & above. I believe they are future 'classics.' I don't feel younger readers would necessarily appreciate then sometimes dark nature of the books.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2001
This is the best book I have read in a long time. It is exciting and gripping with a twist to every turn, Will the Baudelaire orphans be happy ever again? This book is a tantalizing concotion of depression,sarcasm,and irony all in a suttle mix with just the right amount of everything, I cannot wait to see what Lemony Snicket will bring out to amaze us next!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
This book and The Erzats Elevator are my favourite books written by Lemony Snicket. The plot to this one is more intriguing than most of the others as it involves more exciting chapters. The chapters I am refering to are the ones where they are sailing in a hurricane and the leeches are attacking.

Lemony Snickets writing style is quite funny at times but it can also be quite tiresome after a while. I can't help but wish tha a more talented author had come up with the idea for this series and written it better.

I reccomend this series of books and especially this book but if you read the whole series I must warn you that the end of the series is terrible.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
You'd think that by now the Bauderlaire orphans might finally get rid of evil Count Olaf. But as this is a 'series of unfortunate events' so you'd be totally wrong. Count Olaf returns with a even more convincing disguise this time, making it even harder for Violet, Klaus and Sunny to expose his true identity. And with their new guardian suddenly missing, the Bauderlaires find themselves in a tighter fix than ever.

This next installment in the series is nothing short of unfortunate, and as usual just as things look up for the Bauderlaires, everything comes crashing down.

Not as good as the previous book (The Reptile Room)in my opinion but still a good addition to the series and I'm still as anxious as ever to find out what happens next.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events is one of the best series for kids I have read, and I know that several adults like me enjoy it immensely. Snicket shows a great ability for amusing the reader through funny situations, but most of all through his narrative style. Of course, most of the time, the reader is not laughing, since the Baudelaire orphans are constantly facing miserable situations and in danger of falling under the claws of Count Olaf.
Violet is the oldest orphan and has a great ability for inventing new gadgets that have helped the orphans more than once when they were in trouble. Klaus is the middle one in age and the only male; he loves to read and his knowledge is far superior to most boys his age. Sunny is an infant and enjoys going around biting things with her four sharp teeth. The poor siblings lost their father and are now being chased around by Count Olaf, who wants to get their fortune. The Baudelaire's last tutor succumbed at the hands of the evil Count and now the kids are being taken to their new house by Mr. Poe, the executioner of the estate.
The sibling's new tutor, Aunt Josephine, lives in a house that is leaning over a cliff above Lake Lachrymose. The scary thing is that the lake is infested with hungry leeches, and since these predators killed Josephine's husband, she is terrified of the lake. She is also afraid of stoves, doorknobs, and a whole myriad of harmless things. Due to some of the aunt's fears, the orphans have to eat cold food and refrain from answering the phone. On top of that, they have to endure the grammar "lessons" Josephine is constantly delivering because she loves the subject.
Even though things are not perfect, the Baudelaire siblings are content with their new situation. That is until Count Olaf shows his ugly face in a new disguise, repeating in his approach to getting the desired fortune a pattern already seen in the past. This is the only criticism I have for this book and the reason why I am not giving it five stars. I hope that in the next installment, the author changes the basic structure of the story flow. I am still very much eager though to read the next book and to watch the movie coming out in December 2004, which is based on the first three books of the series: "The Bad Beginning", "The Reptile Room" and "The Wide Window".
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2006
Those poor Baudelaire orphans. After the death of their beloved Uncle Monty, the third installment of Lemony Snicket's tale has Violet, Klaus, and Sunny heading toward the home of yet another new guardian. Left by Mr. Poe at Damocles Dock at the edge of Lake Lachrymose for the taxi that will take them to the home of Josephine Anwhistle, the orphans must once again wonder about what fate holds in store for them. Will the gramatically correct dowager be kind like Uncle Morty, or retched like Count Olaf?

It turns out that Aunt Josephine is a mixture of the two. Although she welcomes them into her home, the woman is so terrified by everything--the stove, glass doorknobs, radiators, and even realtors--that the children are hard pressed to enjoy their dinners of cold cucumber soup and their presents of a baby doll, train set, and rattle. Living high above the Lake that is full of the leeches that devoured Josephine's husband, Ike, the three Baudelaire children have a hard time convincing their Aunt to even leave the house.

On a trip to the market, however, who should appear once again with yet another despicable plan to steal the Baudelaire fortune but Count Olaf--this time in the disguise of Captain Sham, a man with an eye patch and peg leg who has opened a boating company of his own. Josephine, of course, is at once enamored of the dashing Captain, and Mr. Poe, as always, is not convinced by the children's claim that Captain Sham and Count Olaf are one and the same. What follows is another does of typical Baudelaire fair--diabolical plans, a terrible hurricane named Herman, a bizarre restaurant named the Anxious Clown, a boat ride across a leech-filled lake, a rescue at Curdled Cave, and another meet-up with Count Olaf's nasty associates.

THE WIDE WINDOW is another winning story in the tales of the Baudelaire orphans. The story took me about an hour and a half to read, and is suitable for children around ages 9 and up. Again, however, you'll need to base your decision of its suitability based on the maturity of your children, as this book is just as dark as the first two.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After a sad encounter in the last book, the orphans are taken to Aunt Josephine who is afraid of just about everything yet absolutely loves grammar. In her house is a big window looking over Lake Lachrymose. Then of course Count Olaf arrives in his disguise as an old sailor and Aunt Josephine starts to like him. She is deceived by Olaf, but escapes to Curdle Cave, leaving a message in code for the children who are, of course, geniuses and discover the code. They go out to find her and they do but on the way back they are attacked by leeches! Will they get back to the shore in time to catch the Count, or will their boat brake to bits and sink…?

The Count’s main features described are his one long eyebrow and his eye on his ankle. In the first few books a part of Olaf’s disguises are something over his ankle. In this book he uses a wooden leg but Aunt Josephine is too much in love to listen to what the children say.

I’m thinking of becoming an author when I’m older but I’ll also have another job. Don’t know what that’s going to be… Anyway, Lemony Snicket and some of my other favourite authors have inspired me and I hope I’m encouraging you to read these books so you might be inspired too! But if you are not the writing type then you can always illustrate some books like Brett Helquist, who illustrates this series magnificently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse