Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one where Calculus is kidnapped
The Calculus Affair comes in the wake of Hergé's greatest achievements in the Tintin series which peaked with the double-length works, The Secret of the Unicorn/Red Rackham's Treasure, The Seven Crystal Balls/Prisoners of the Sun and Destination Moon/Explorers on the Moon. The qualities that are evident in those books are all here in The Calculus Affair, the story...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Keris Nine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Illustrations, Adventure and Humour
I think this book is best enjoyed when the reader has read earlier Tintin books and is familiar with the characters. There is humour to be found in the illustrations and in the words (I enjoyed the jokes in "foreign" place names). This book was bought as a child's present, but can be enjoyed by all ages. There are a lot of Tintin books in the series.
Published on 12 Oct 2012 by Pip


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The one where Calculus is kidnapped, 12 April 2010
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
The Calculus Affair comes in the wake of Hergé's greatest achievements in the Tintin series which peaked with the double-length works, The Secret of the Unicorn/Red Rackham's Treasure, The Seven Crystal Balls/Prisoners of the Sun and Destination Moon/Explorers on the Moon. The qualities that are evident in those books are all here in The Calculus Affair, the story packed with amusing incidents and adventure, strong characterisation, entertaining secondary characters and superlative clear-line artwork that is not only well designed and laid-out, but expressive and dynamic. There's only one area in which The Calculus Affair is lacking from the double-features, and it might well have something to do with length - there's just not much room left for a decent plot.

Essentially, although there is a little bit of a mystery at the start of the book with glass, crystal and ceramic objects shattering in Haddock's Marlinspike mansion, the plot involves an experiment that Calculus has been developing, creating a device that can destroy objects through the use of high-frequency sound. Two rival neighbouring Balkan nations, Syldavia and Borduria (fictional nations first encountered in King Ottokar's Sceptre), both recognise the potential for the invention to be used as a weapon with the power to destroy entire cities, and between them vie for kidnapping the Professor and obtaining his secrets.

If the plot has little that is inventive, complicated or nuanced in any way (when it comes to where Tintin's sympathies should lie during an encounter with agents from both countries, Captain Haddock amusingly recommends just hitting the ugliest ones) The Calculus Affair is at least a masterpiece in visual storytelling terms, every single page filled with seemingly insignificant little incidents that are meticulously storyboarded and realised. Some of the more memorable are the crossed telephone lines during the storm at the start that involves Mr Cutts the butcher and introduces insurance salesman Jolyon Wagg, there's the incident with the sticking plaster on the plane and there's the chase sequence with an eager Italian driver that culminates with a magnificent large frame of the car weaving through a small town on market day - but even seemingly minor throwaway jokes (Haddock's attitude towards hitchhikers) are brilliantly encapsulated in a couple of frames.

More than just amusement, these little situations (the crossed lines, the persistent sticking plaster of doubt that keeps on nagging at your conscience, the switching of ideals to suit self-interest) also reflect the conflict of ideals where morality isn't so clear - not least of which is in the use of science to develop weapons of mass destruction - so that it's consequently hard to determine which side to support. As far as comics go, this is highly sophisticated material under the guise of simple entertainment, Hergé dealing to some degree with the same concepts as Watchmen, questioning the use of nuclear weapons and the motivations of those with the power to use them for their own ends. Lacking a strong plot to hang these ideas upon, The Calculus Affair may not be as complex in narrative and structural terms as Alan Moore's 80's dark meditation on imminent nuclear Armageddon, but it's no less brilliant and innovative in terms of its visual language, still looking fresh and relevant while Watchmen is already looking dated, and it's certainly less self-important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blistering barnacles!, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
Professor Calculus invents a sonic machine that shatters china and glass but, if developed and fall into the wrong hands, could topple cities and devastate Earth! When Calculus visits Geneva he is kidnapped by Bordurians (a made up country that is Soviet-like) and its up to Tintin and Captain Haddock to save the day!

I read this when I was a kid and recently came across this at the library and decided to have a look at it again, nostalgia being what it is. What surprised me the most from this book was that despite it being an espionage, James Bond style storyline, theres an awful lot of slapstick humour in it. For example there's an extended sequence featuring a piece of sticky tape and a larger than life caricature of an insurance salesman. I didn't realise how much Haddock was a silent-era comedian (minus the silence) either. He's constantly falling over, hitting his head on things, tripping on things, and bearing the brunt of any physical violence. And then there's overkill on the comedy with Thompson & Thomson who show up every now and then.

What I essentially loved and remembered were still here though: the superb drawings and Herge's clear line style were a joy to see again. The story meanders all over Europe and it's wonderful to see 50s era Europe depicted on the page, really really excellent drawing. And of course Captain Haddock's bizarre dialogue, his best being "Billions of bilious blue blistering barnacles!" but also including "Bashi-bazouk!", "Ectoplasm" and a "Certified Diplodocus!".

It's a wonderful comic book which, while not being TIntin's best outing, is nonetheless effortlessly charming and entrancing. A great read for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Illustrations, Adventure and Humour, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
I think this book is best enjoyed when the reader has read earlier Tintin books and is familiar with the characters. There is humour to be found in the illustrations and in the words (I enjoyed the jokes in "foreign" place names). This book was bought as a child's present, but can be enjoyed by all ages. There are a lot of Tintin books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand daughter loved it., 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
I read all the Tintin books as a young boy in the 50's, in Dutch (Kuifje,) and used to enjoy them immensely. I thought I'd introduce them to my grand daughter, Red, who is eight. I started her off with The Calculus Affair as some of the action takes place in Nyon on Lake Geneva where we lived for a while and where her mother was born. In fact, we lived in the Cafe Maitre Jacques which is featured in one of the scenes (the statue of Maitre Jacques, anyway). She loved this one and asked me to buy her another!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super !!!, 7 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
This is one cartoon character which doesn't need any review. Every single story is a favourite of mine and I wish they would turn each of that into a motion picture. An excellent addition to my Tintin collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professor Calculus is kidnapped, 7 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This book features Tintin, Captain Haddock, Jolyon Wagg, Nestor, Professor Calculus, Thomson and Thompson and of cousre my favourite character Snowy. Calculus has invented an invention that breaks glass. He then is kidnapped, and Tintin and the Captain rescue him after many adventures in which they always semm to be bumping into that awful singer Signora Castafiore. This is one of my favourite Tintin books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18th birthday present, 15 Feb 2010
By 
O. lawrence jones "OFC" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) (Hardcover)
I bought the complete works of Tintin in hardback for by son's 18th - he thought that was pretty cool! The books all arrived neatly boxed and we all like dipping in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin)
The Calculus Affair (The Adventures of Tintin) by Hergé (Hardcover - 18 July 2003)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews