Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Book in the Series of Unfortunate Events.
I have been reading this series since the first one was published, and rather than a weakening plotline as the series continues the plot has grown, and the books are getting better. The first 5 books pretty much followed the same route with Count Olaf in disguise chasing the Baudelaire orphans and trying to steal their fortune. After book 5 the books had a continuation...
Published on 17 Dec 2002 by jonf14

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review the Seventh
After finding out that Jerome didn't want then anymore (how else can you interpret the verbal exchange at the end of the sixth book?) and Esme had joined forces with their arch nemesis - a phrase which means Count Olaf - the Baudelaire siblings while sitting in Mr Poe's office discover the village of V.F.D. and rather to there misfortune manage to convince Mr Poe that...
Published on 15 April 2005 by Indian Sunblaze


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Book in the Series of Unfortunate Events., 17 Dec 2002
I have been reading this series since the first one was published, and rather than a weakening plotline as the series continues the plot has grown, and the books are getting better. The first 5 books pretty much followed the same route with Count Olaf in disguise chasing the Baudelaire orphans and trying to steal their fortune. After book 5 the books had a continuation theme with the books plot continuing into the next book. The Vile Village follows on from book 6 and it is more interesting and darker in tone.
It features the Baudelaire orphans going to a Village Adoption Scheme programme in a village which happens to be called V.F.D ( If you have read the previous books this word will be recognised instantly!) Once again the Baudelaire orphans are chased by Count Olaf, but instead of the usual ending this book features a slight twist at the end which I was very annoyed to find as the story continued after the book had finished. This left me wanting to read the next book (A Hostlie Hospital) instantly! The Series of Unfortunate Events has grown on me and in my opinion each story has got better and better and I can't wait for book 8 to be released. This book is a must read for children and adults, I am 17 and I have enjoyed reading all the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It takes a village to raise a child", 22 May 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vile Village #7 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
The cycle keeps repeating itself, the Baudelaires are again out of a guardian and we get to read another great story by Lemony Snicket. Mr. Poe, the executor of the kids' estate, is running out of options, and his choices in the past have all proven to be dreadful. In this case, the solution he finds is unconventional, when Violet, Klaus and Sunny take "advantage" of a new program by which entire towns take care of children.
The options are plenty, but when the orphans are looking at the list they find a village with a curious name that piques their interest. This name is no other than VFD, acronym that is connected to the Quagmire triplets and to Count Olaf's secret. If you have read the previous books you know by now that the two triplets (yes you read right!) are the only friends the Baudelaires have, and that the two unfortunate souls have been kidnapped by the evil count.
In terms of the story, Snicket follows the usual winning formula, with the Baudelaires searching for a new beginning, and finding some hope before the devilish count shows up and spoils everything. The author also continues to use his hilarious structure, presenting definitions of words in a creative way, letting Klaus and Violet translate what her little sister wants to say, and distributing a few surprises here and there.
The siblings stay in VFD is interesting to say the least, where they meet a group of ancient citizens with a large set of rules, a kind person who does not have the guts to stand up to injustice and a baffling mystery in the form of a set of poems. The series have been increasing in intensity and the characters are gaining more and more depth. Thus, fans of this series will not be disappointed with this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The plot thickens...., 3 Dec 2002
Snicket's investigation into the lives of the Baudelaires continues with this seventh book, and for fans of the series it won't disappoint. All of the now familiar plot devices are here, such as Mr Poe's ill-advised placement of the orphans with unsuitable people, Count Olaf appearing in yet another ludicrous disguise and more mysterious allusions to V.F.D. We all know these things are going to happen but somehow it still manages to be fun. In this episode of the sorry story an interesting turn of events hints at Lemony Snicket's personal involvement with the Baudelaires: I won't say any more but just read it! All in all an entertaining read, just what we've come to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vile Village a Review by Jacob M., 27 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Vile Village #7 (Series of Unfortunate Events) (Hardcover)
I enjoy "A Series of Unfortunate Events" books. The stories are about the adventures of the three Baudelaire orphans who are constantly moving from guardian to guardian. In book #7 "The Vile Village" the children are now living with Hector and are trying to elude the evil Count Olaf. Olaf is trying to get the Baudelaire fortune. I enjoyed this book because it is full of action and adventure. The ending is great - it is a cliffhanger and I can't wait to start the next book to see what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 28 July 2014
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Vile Village is the seventh book in A Series of Unfortunate Events by American author, Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler). As we once again join the unlucky Baudelaire orphans, they are sent by their banker, the ever-tussive Mr Poe, to the village of V.F.D under a government scheme based on the aphorism that it takes a whole village to raise a child. Having already suffered the loss of their parents, the threat of marriage, slave labour, hypnosis, a terrible boarding school, being thrown down a lift shaft and the murder of their Uncle Monty and Aunt Josephine at the hands of the evil Count Olaf and his nefarious assistants, the siblings are ever-vigilant of his reappearance. Luckily these well-mannered and uncomplaining children are also very resourceful: Violet invents, Klaus researches and Sunny bites. Snicket’s tone throughout is apologetic, sincere and matter-of-fact as he relates the unfortunate events in the children’s lives; his imaginative and even surreptitiously educational style will hold much appeal for younger readers. Snicket’s word and phrase definitions are often hilarious. This instalment sees the Baudelaires lodged with Hector the Handyman and forced to do chores for the village. But their time with Hector is actually quite good, as Violet works on improving Hector’s self-sustaining hot air mobile home, while Klaus scours the library for loopholes in V.F.D. rules and Sunny bites fallen branches whilst waiting on clues of their friends, the Quagmire Triplets. But they soon fall foul of the many village rules : Detective Dupin throws them into jail and threatens them with burning at the stake. And just who is Jaques Snicket and what was the message about the Baudelaire parents he was prevented from giving them before his murder? Of course Count Olaf and his girlfriend, Esme Squalor are up to their usual tricks. As always, the alliterative titles are delightful and Brett Helquist provides some wonderfully evocative illustrations. What is in store for the orphans now? Doubtless the eighth installment, The Hostile Hospital will reveal all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark!, 1 May 2012
I borrowed this book off a friend who described this series as 'funny'. Like me, she is an adult who enjoys children's books. I am glad I followed her recommendation; I loved this book! It is witty, yet very dark. I look forward to getting stuck into the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Snicket Success, 15 Dec 2002
By A Customer
Impressive again from Mr Lemony Snicket. His books are unfortunate in that they haven't got as much publicity or success as that of Harry Potter. Snicket teaches us new words and really relates with the reader. Although the books get frustrating, especially trying to figure out V.F.D, we still read on and the Vile Village is once again brilliant. Probably one of the best so far, and no Snicket fan will be disappointed with this one. Violet, Klaus and Baudelaire are once again in trouble, but at least they save someone....... I won't divulge the information, but bring on Book the Eighth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the most amazing book I have ever read I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery and crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Vile Village Book Review, 17 April 2014
The vile village is a brilliant novel for 8 and up.
It is perfect for people who like tragic stories.
There is a massive amount of detail put into the book like the whole series.
This is one of the books where you just want to on keep reading.
The whole series is a fantastic series but personally I think this is the best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Book Was Absolutely Marvellous!
Or Should I Say .. Superlative!
I Would Recommend This Book To Anyone!
It Is Suitable For All Ages And Very Thrilling!
My Favourite Book Of The Series So Far :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vile Village #7 (Series of Unfortunate Events)
The Vile Village #7 (Series of Unfortunate Events) by Lemony Snicket (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews