Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TinTin Books are classic for 'Early Readers'
I love how TinTin has lasted over the years - I have fond memories of reading them in the school library on a rainy day. Of course the movie was a great 're-launch' in their popularity and when my 7yo son showed an interest after seeing the movie I bought a few books as part of his Christmas sack. He was hooked! I have since bought a couple more for...
Published 16 months ago by Matty M

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This is the first book in the two part story of Tintin's trip to the Moon. It's certainly well drawn and provides an interesting chance to see how many of Herge's ideas about space travel actually came true 16 years later.

On the other hand, the story is arguably a bit po-faced and the espionage sub plot isn't really that exciting either. Another criticism is...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by birchden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TinTin Books are classic for 'Early Readers', 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
I love how TinTin has lasted over the years - I have fond memories of reading them in the school library on a rainy day. Of course the movie was a great 're-launch' in their popularity and when my 7yo son showed an interest after seeing the movie I bought a few books as part of his Christmas sack. He was hooked! I have since bought a couple more for birthday/easter/Christmas as a bit of a traditional 'treat' and he almost has the set. He has read many of them 3-4 times each and still loves them - as he has gotten older and his reading more advanced he has understood the story and the characters that much more each read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pt. I of Hergé's classic lunar double-bill., 15 April 2012
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Part one of Hergé's double-bill lunar oddysey - both parts written quite some time before mankind actually made it to the moon - this is classic stuff. I actually came to this second lunar episode some time after Explorers On The Moon, through a quirk of chronological fate. But I was able, then and now, to enjoy each part as either a stand-alone adventure or, once I had them both, in combined effect.

As a scientist of international renown Professor Calculus gets involved in plans to put man on the moon. To be launched neither from Russia nor America, but Hergé's own east-central European creation, Syldavia (as previously featured in King Ottokar's Sceptre), this makes for an interesting contrast with the Cold War realities of the Space Race. Of course, this being Tintin, intrigues are as usual afoot, and Tintin's pals are there to bring welcome comic relief to his earnest adventuring.

Hemmed in by mountains like a Bond villain's lair, the Sprodj atomic research centre is a fabulous creation. With armed checkpoints and underground tunnels, it was a real spur to my childish imagination. Once the characters are established in their new location a wonderfully fraught rapport develops between the practically deaf Calculus and the always irascible Haddock, culminating in some fantastically funny scenes. Hergé rather cleverly uses the resulting humour to get across some scientific exposition from Calculus that might otherwise have seemed tedious for young readers.

As with Explorers On The Moon there's been interest, naturally, in what Hergé got right and wrong scientifically. Personally I think he got the balance between credibility and fantasy just right. Certainly as a kid I was just enchanted by it. Even now, knowing what we do, these stories work well as a work of child's entertainment that can also enchant and satisfy adult minds and imaginations. It is also, of course, beautifully and meticulously drawn. For me this remains, all these years after having first read it, a satisfying masterpiece of children's storytelling, 'bande dessinée', and the Hergé studios 'clear line' style at its best, and sets one up for eager anticipation of Explorers On The Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin and his friends plan the first trip to the Moon, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Destination Moon" ("Objectif Lune," 1953) gives a detailed account on the preparation and the launching of the expedition to the Moon from the Sprodj Atomic Research Center in Syldavaia using the rocket designed by Professor Calculus. However, be forewarned that this is the first half of the tale, which is continued in "Explorers on the Moon." So do not let the cliffhanger ending to this volume throw you for a loop. Just make a point of picking up both halves of the story and you can avoid any sleepless nights worrying about Tintin and his friends.
"Destination Moon" is really the set up, for which "Explorers on the Moon" is the payoff. What is most impressive is the attention to detail that Herge shows in these books, in terms of both the technical preparation for a trip to the moon and the actual trip. There is some intrigue, with agents from Klow trying to thwart the mission, but the main thing here is the preparation for the epic journey. These two volumes stack up well against any 1950s science fiction movie about traveling to the moon and anticipate a lot of what we would read about and see when Neil Armstrong first walked on the moon in 1969. Together these volumes constitute Tintin's greatest adventure (how can you top being the first man on the moon?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic., 9 April 2001
By A Customer
I first read this in the late 'fifties, and I still like it a lot. Good, solid atmosphere, and when the Professor gets furious I hold my breath. The testing of the dog helmet is also a classic bit. The book ends in a suitable cliffhanger (space-hanger?) and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Futuristic Fantasy, 1 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
First written in 1953, 15 years before the first real moon landing in 1969!
I like these books because of their nostalgia value, good old-fashioned values of heroism, adventure good vs. evil. . I first got hold of copies of 'Destination Moon ' and 'Explorers on the Moon' when I was ten, and I was fascinated by the world which they opened up.
Tintin and Captain Haddock fly to the uranium-rich Balkan State of Syldavia, to work with Professor Calculus on his project to send a rocket to the moon, using the mountains of Syldavia as a base. You learn a lot about the fantasyland of Syldavia, and about the unusual perception of the world of his time, by the author, Herge.
This work is amazing in its futuristic scope. The super-modern (for when it was written in1953) Sprodj Atomic Research Center, and the details of the rocket where quite an amazing concept when the book was first published, 16 years before the first real moon landing by Neil Armstrong in 1969.
It is full of adventure, such as when Tintin is wounded while surprising villains at the ventilator grid in the picturesque Syldavian Mountains; and much humour such as escapades with Captain
Haddock's pipe and Professor Calculus' hearing aid , and the famous scene of an enraged Professor Calculus `acting the goat'.
It is a great adventure for all ages, a wonderful album to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Acting the goat, 23 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Ah, landing on the moon. For decades before Neil Armstrong took one small step for a man, people dreamed about it.

And that is all that "Destination Moon" -- the first half of Tintin's moon saga -- is concerned with: sending out intrepid (and sometimes very reluctant) heroes to the moon itself. Tintin takes a backseat in this particular volume, as it focuses more on Calculus and Haddock, but otherwise it's a fun, comedic romp.

An urgent telegram summons Tintin and Captain Haddock to Syldavia, where Calculus is involves in a mega-secretive project. The project turns out to be a planned rocket launch to the moon, using nuclear technology that Calculus himself has perfected. And much to Captain Haddock's trepidation, the near-deaf Calculus enlists him, Tintin and Snowy onto the expedition.

But the project is rife with problems. Some are small (Captain Haddock's spacesuit full of mice), but some are much more imposing, especially when two spies parachute into the nearby mountains. And during a test flight, someone hijacks the unmanned rocket. Will our heroes ever get to the launch, let alone the moon?

The whole moon-expedition is one of those most entertaining Tintin stories that Hergé ever produced -- it's a mass of scientific geekery, slapstick (usually from Haddock or Calculus), and technical malfunctions galore (how many wires can get disconnected in one base?). It's unrealistic, but has an eager charm that shows that Hergé really loved the idea.

The biggest problem with the story is that Tintin himself is almost a background character for long stretches of the story, since his investigative skills aren't really needed for most of the plot.

But at least we have the hijinks that Haddock, Calculus, Thomson and Thompson get up to, including the arrest of a skeleton and Haddock's attempts to cure Calculus of amnesia. It's a fun little story with lots of running gags, but it becomes much more serious in the final pages, when our heroes are actually faced with GOING INTO SPACE.

"Destination Moon" is marred by a lack of Tintin doing anything, but is otherwise a delightfully comedic adventure tale -- but the story isn't over yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TIntin, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
This book is a must for children who can red by themselves. It is beautifully illustrated and is sturdily made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous comic, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
All the stories of Tintin are marvellous but I especially enjoy the 2 stories in the moon... and it arrived perfect and with a really good prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
If you are a Tintin fan, you will love this, as my 9 year old son did. Great gift idea too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Had this book when I was a kid and always wanted it again - put off by the price until now - brought back happy memories and still beautifully illustrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin)
Destination Moon (The Adventures of Tintin) by Georges Remi Hergé (Paperback - 26 Sep 2012)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews