Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong pre-capt Haddock adventure
A trip through England and Scotland on the trail of a nefarious gang, for TT and his dog. Uncomplicated for a change, with the emphasis on adventure here, this is a simple, pacy thriller, no doubt somewhat inspired by The 39 Steps, at least in the location and the pace of it all. And it has a twist or two in the story, to keep the thrill factor going. A very strong book...
Published on 19 April 2009 by Lou Knee

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely satisfactory
This is an interesting Tintin adventure, originally written in 1938, and then 're-skinned' in 1966, with some minor changes to the story and new drawings.

So in effect, what we have is one of the weaker Tintin stories from Herge's early days, but with the far superior graphics that we associate with such tales as The Red Sea Sharks and Flight 714...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by birchden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong pre-capt Haddock adventure, 19 April 2009
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
A trip through England and Scotland on the trail of a nefarious gang, for TT and his dog. Uncomplicated for a change, with the emphasis on adventure here, this is a simple, pacy thriller, no doubt somewhat inspired by The 39 Steps, at least in the location and the pace of it all. And it has a twist or two in the story, to keep the thrill factor going. A very strong book in the series, even without Capt.Haddock.
4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin solves the mystery of the Black Island, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
The Black Island is a terrific Tintin adventure set mainly in England and Scotland. Tintin is wrongly accused of a theft and is arrested by the thoroughly useless and entertaining Thompson twins. The action then picks up from here as Tintin investigates a gang of forgers with his ever trusty companion Snowy.
This is a charming adventure, I adore the artwork by Herge and a story where Captain Haddock does not feature. The plot is very much like a John Buchan thriller, but I think the Black Island is a satisfying and charming read.
Tintin is suitable for children and adults alike.
You can't keep a good reporter and his little dog down.
Lovely stuff.
5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely satisfactory, 13 Jan 2010
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
This is an interesting Tintin adventure, originally written in 1938, and then 're-skinned' in 1966, with some minor changes to the story and new drawings.

So in effect, what we have is one of the weaker Tintin stories from Herge's early days, but with the far superior graphics that we associate with such tales as The Red Sea Sharks and Flight 714.

While a major advance on tales like Tintin in America, the plot is somewhat thin and seems to get unduly held up with chasing around the counterfeiters' island hideout. In addition, some elements like the gorilla that the villains use to deal with intruders and the detectives flying adventures do seem just a little bit silly.

On the other hand, there are some good characters, like Dr Muller, and the drawings, representing as they do a Belgian's eye view of 1960s Britain, would make the book worth buying no matter what the plot is like!

For example, classic car fans will be delighted to spot a variety of well known 1960s cars, faithfully recreated in cartoon form, such as Dr Muller's Mk X Jaguar or the caravanist's cheerful little Triumph Herald... And rail buffs will be amused to look at a somewhat less accurate (and rather continental) portrayal of British Rail!

So, not the best of the Tintin books, but well worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it!, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
My 9 yo son has always liked Tin Tin books but after our trip to Belgium just cant stop reading them)
This one is one of his favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tin tin, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
as keep saying many of items I buy are as presents for others and not for me . Recipient loves these books. Prompt despatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin!, 16 Oct 2013
By 
R. Wooller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Who doesn't love Tintin? Great little book, really glad I ordered it. Large in size and beautifully illustrated. Will buy more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birthday gift, 11 Oct 2013
By 
D. M. Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Purchased as part of a gift for my nephew who was very pleased with it. I believe he now has the full set of TinTin books. Book arrived quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
The Black Island is a nice Tintin adventure. My son and I had lots of fun reading it and he is looking forward to reading other Tintin stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin brings his skills to Great Britain, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
This story always struck a chord with me when I was a child; not due to any pre-teen involvement with international forgers, but because it was set in an environment I could immediately relate to (Tintin first travels to England, and then on to Scotland). It`s a crackerjack story, a classic early Tintin (pre-Haddock) with plenty of good work from Snowy, schoolboy-errors from Thompson and Thomson, and the introduction of the nefarious Dr Muller. Some delightful sequences (Snowy and the goat, the bungling fireman, and of course Snowy vs. Ranko, the beast of the titular Black Island), and as always, some exquisite art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past!, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Bought as a 1st father's day present for my husband from our daugther. He had the book as a child so it has great sentimental value. He loves the book, it's like a glossy comic so probably good for boys who don't like to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadec0798)

This product

The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin)
The Black Island (The Adventures of Tintin) by Georges Remi Hergé (Paperback - 26 Sep 2012)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews