Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one where Tintin faces a firing squad drunk
There's an understandable tendency to look dismissively at the earliest solo Tintin adventures - justifiably in some cases. The artwork is somewhat naïve, as are the depictions of the countries that Tintin visits and the racial stereotyping, and the stories themselves suffer from the episodic format that they were originally published in, and there's often no clear...
Published on 14 Jun. 2010 by Keris Nine

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced Tintin adventure
Fast paced, with much of the usual stuff in it, it is another of the straightforward crime/adventure thriller for children type stories which make up the majority of Herge's works. I'm one who prefers the slightly offbeat or creative stories that I think he should have made more of, TT in Tibet, The Shooting Star, Flight 714 for example. This is a well detailed, fast...
Published on 1 Sept. 2009 by Lou Knee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one where Tintin faces a firing squad drunk, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's an understandable tendency to look dismissively at the earliest solo Tintin adventures - justifiably in some cases. The artwork is somewhat naïve, as are the depictions of the countries that Tintin visits and the racial stereotyping, and the stories themselves suffer from the episodic format that they were originally published in, and there's often no clear overarching story, just a series of adventures based around a theme. On the other hand, the attraction of Tintin's character and the foundations of his investigative nature are established in his exploration of exotic lands, delighting in the diversity of a world rather that is more complicated than it would seem.

In this respect, The Broken Ear is certainly one of the best earliest Tintin exploits and, packed with incident and adventure, it's also one of the most memorable. More than just a series of adventures in a foreign land, there's some real-life relevance to the nature of South American republics in constant revolution, one dictatorial regime replacing another and not appearing to be any different or less cruel, while American investors, oil companies and weapons dealers manipulate the situation for their own ends.

The story starts off innocently enough with Tintin becoming interested in the disappearance of a South American fetish from a museum only for it to be replaced the next day, with its formerly broken ear now suspiciously intact. It's clearly been switched, but why would anyone go to such trouble for an object of little more than ethnographic interest? Tintin follows up the trail of a murdered sculptor and a talking parrot, before finding that the trail leads him right back to San Theodoros and the Arumbaya tribe living in its jungle. Before Tintin can investigate further however, he finds himself caught up in a revolution and appointed aide-de-camp of General Alcazar who has just deposed the evil dictator General Tapioca.

Certainly much of the storyline is built on cliché and standard plot devices - masked revolutionaries in sombreros running around carrying fizzing bombs, last minute escapes from firing squads, Amazonian tribes with poison darts - and the artwork is rather simplistic, showing little of the meticulous detail and research that Hergé and his studio would put into later works, but even so, this is the stuff of grand adventure. The storyline may freewheel from one incident to the next, but Hergé remains focussed on the story, returning repeatedly to the missing fetish and its mystery, allowing it to be the motif that threads through the narrative. And while the clear-line artwork might lack the finesse of mid-period Hergé, there's still a wonderful dynamism to the visual storytelling elements and the layouts, fully capturing the exoticism of the locations and the danger within them. Tremendous fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin, ethnographic in South America, 23 Mar. 2012
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
As a grown man I've just finished collecting all the Tintin titles I owned as a kid, plus a few I never had 'back in the day', and I have to say, that while I've changed lot, and that dreamlike state of childhood innocence is hard to recapture, the Tintin books, on the whole, help me get close. They remain enchanting.

I love the hapless ill-fated villains in Tintin And The Broken Ear, Alonso and Ramon. There's a talking parrot, an amnesiac, and general Alcazar makes what I believe is his first appearance. As usual there's some beautiful 'bandes dessinées' artwork from Hergé, the lushly rendered jungle being very evocative, and he pays his usual attention to detail, basing the 'Arumbaya fetish' on a real statuette from an ethnographic museum that, I believe, he discovered in his locality.

As others have noted, this is one of the better Tintin adventures from Hergés earlier period. I loved them all back in the day, and I still love them now. Whether you're a child reading the Tintin adventures for the first time, or an adult returning to them, they remain enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Londoners in the Jungle, 6 Dec. 2010
I read this when I was 11, in the early 1970's, and thought it was wonderful. It was only years later that I appreciated the humour of the translation (into English). The conversation between the old scientist(missing presumed dead) and the Arumbaya tribe members looks like some foreign language but when read carefully is actually English written phonetically, with a heavy cockney accent. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 16 Jan. 2010
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
This is one of the best of the early Tintin stories, with a decent plot and some nicely observed details. Unlike some of the early Tintin adventures, this one has also aged pretty well.

Taking us from Europe to the world of feuding South American dictatorships, this adventure is always entertaining, and also has some jokes that will amuse the grown ups too - like the tongue in cheek references to the Chaco war and arms trader Sir Basil Zaharoff.

There are also some good characters along the way, like General Alcazar who makes his first appearance in this story. Watch out for the nicely drawn jungle landscapes too.

I remember getting this title as a kid in 1976 when it was only just available in the UK - and only then in hardback format. Years later I still kick myself for giving it away to a charity shop when I was a teenager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tintin adventure, 6 Nov. 2014
By 
O. M. Aszkenasy (Washington, Tyne & Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
There are lots of good Tintin adventures out there (The Black Island, the trip to the Moon, Flight 714 and so on), but I would say that this is my favourite. It has everything you need for a really exciting story - loads of action, daring escapes, mysteries, heroes, villains and very varied settings. It's also one of the most diverse adventures - you get to see Tintin in Europe solving the murder mystery, then in South America, firstly as a colonel then investigating the Arumbaya tribe, and then back to Europe again to finish, with the fast-paced rescue of the Arumbaya fetish - all in one adventure, which doesn't happen very often in the Tintin series. Also a very varied range of characters, such as General Alcazar, the Indians, the villains Alonso and Ramon, and others too. This is the type of adventure where you just want to keep reading on to find out what happens to Tintin next. This could serve as either an excellent introduction to the Tintin series or a fantastic read for those well used to the series too. A really good book all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced Tintin adventure, 1 Sept. 2009
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Fast paced, with much of the usual stuff in it, it is another of the straightforward crime/adventure thriller for children type stories which make up the majority of Herge's works. I'm one who prefers the slightly offbeat or creative stories that I think he should have made more of, TT in Tibet, The Shooting Star, Flight 714 for example. This is a well detailed, fast paced adventure taking Tintin to another exotic location so it's still a good read, better than most pre-Haddock books but not as good as The Black Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tintin and the broken ear, 30 April 2006
The storyline of theis book is both very action packed and exciting but still manages to find room for a few jokes, it starts with A fetish being stolen from a museum and then mysteriously being replaced with a fake, and as with most Tintin stories he travels long distances (spain this time) to recover it, and places great personal risk upon himself and along the way meeting a new friend (general Alcazar) and being arrested and nearly shot sevaral times eventually he discovers the wild Arumbaya tribe and meeting and old scientist missing and presumed dead years ago, all the while being chased and chasing two spanish criminals but in the end (as always) he reaps his reward and the original fetish is returned in less than perfect condition... to the museum- this story is a must have for any Tintin collector and definately one of Herges better books in regard to the artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed feel, frequently too unbelievable., 23 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
This book varies between unbelievable adventure - getting knocked out daily, surviving car crashes, gunshots and lightening - and then long text explanations of plot. Tintin travels half way round the world to find out why a statue in a local museum was swapped and the story goes off on various tangents without the sympathetic culture studies in later books. Overall, it seems rushed, with scenes shoe horned in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tintin and the broken ear, 28 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) (Paperback)
Tintin and the broken ear is a great bok for ages 5-12. It is all about Tintin trying to find a model of an aryumba fetish who are a tribe in south america. Tintin is also being chased by rivals. Definitly a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He is very happy with them, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have managed to buy the entire collection of hardbacks for my husband. He is very happy with them. Great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin)
The Broken Ear (The Adventures of Tintin) by Hergé (Paperback - 26 Sept. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews