Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hostile Hospital #8 (Series of Unfortunate Events)
The exitement starts straight in the beginning of the book, where Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire go to a general store to send a telegram to Mr.Poe. However, no answer is coming and soon they must escape with a VFD car to the Heimlich Hospital. They get a job in the Heimlich Hospital archival library where they find a page from the mysterious Snicket file.
Klaus...
Published on 9 April 2006 by Paul Biri

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a little below par
As usual, I found this latest installment of A Series of Unfortunate Events very difficult to put down and rattled though it in a couple of days. However, I was a little less enthusiastic about this book than some of the other reviewers. Basically, I thought that the plot lacked the clever twists and turns typical of the other books in the series. You always know the...
Published on 8 April 2009 by T. J. Andrews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hostile Hospital #8 (Series of Unfortunate Events), 9 April 2006
By 
Paul Biri (Ekenäs, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events No. 8) (Hardcover)
The exitement starts straight in the beginning of the book, where Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire go to a general store to send a telegram to Mr.Poe. However, no answer is coming and soon they must escape with a VFD car to the Heimlich Hospital. They get a job in the Heimlich Hospital archival library where they find a page from the mysterious Snicket file.
Klaus and Sunny try to save somebody named Laura V. Bleediotie from a suspicious person called Mattathias. It turns out that the Baudelaires have encountered him before! I found this book very enjoyable and amazing, so if you like to read a book with an (very)unhappy end this is what you are looking for.
Even my father who hasn't read any other books of "A Series of Unfortunate Events" liked this! "The Hostile Hospital" is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most enjoyable book, 29 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events No. 8) (Hardcover)
After you've been framed for a crime you didn't do and are running away from the authorities and a man who wants to steal your fortune, what can you do ?Are the siblings doomed or can they find a way out?
I strongly advise you to read the others in the series for in you don't you will hardly understand a word he is saying. A very cleverly written book and I really enjoyed reading this book.
If you are a Lemony Snicket fan you will throughly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 11 Oct 2003
This is very good and like all the other books in the series it has lots of unfortunate things happen so you won't be dissapointed by the title. The good thing is that in this book they are on the run from the police so no one will save them and they are on their own I would reccomend this to children of all ages but I'm not so sure that adults will like it.
A very good read
P.s don't forget to read the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest story yet, 30 July 2013
Great gripping story for young children with a hunger for legendary story telling .finding books I enjoy and take pleasure reading is hard for me however as soon as I found this series I immediately feel in love with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, 2 July 2013
By 
Sarah Cooper (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 8 year old daughter loved the film so we bought a couple of the books following on from where the film ended. She has now read the entire series and this story was a particular favourite, no doubt due to the more gruesome dipictions in the hospital setting!
Wonderful books that will draw in their younger reader. thoroughly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book and it was very good.it was a bit more scary than usual as a main character was almost killed with their head being chopped off! Again violet has some brilliant inventions which saved their lives. However AGAIN you don't find out what V.F.D stands for but there is some key information in this book about the baldilaire fire. Overall i really liked this and you should definitely read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a series of unfortunate events #8; The Hostile Hospital, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book i dont think they are deppressing at all. i think it is good that you have to think about what happens next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet !!!!!!!, 21 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events No. 8) (Hardcover)
In the eight part of Lemony Snicket`s A series of unfortunate events Klaus, Sunny and Violet Bauldilare are on the run from the evil Count Olaf. This is with out a doubt the best volume yet, unlike the seventh book (The vile village). Worth every penny of your money. The Lemony Snicket books are second only to Harry Potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, 13 Jun 2014
By 
sara (london uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with the book, was brought for my daughter who is reading the series.it came really quickly.shes reading it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The hostile hospital, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The hostile hospital is number 8 in the seires in my opinion it is not one of the best because the books are so good however a very good plot and extremely enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events No. 8)
The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events No. 8) by Lemony Snicket (Hardcover - 1 May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews