Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MY JOB
VERY INFORMATIVE BOOK. HELPED ME WITH A HAEMATOLOGY ASSIGNMENT. EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND ALWAYS GOOD TO HAVE ON MY BOOKSHELF FOR EASY REFERENCE. RECOMMENDED TO A FRIEND WHO HAS ALSO PURCHASED IT.
Published 21 months ago by jacqueline brock

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, now I'm a bit nervous...
I work as a trainer in the pharma industry and have done so for 20 years, and my main areas of work have been in oncology, haematology (& related supportive &/or palliative therapies). I bought this book as a replacement for the 3rd edition, which due to its superannuation had been gathering dust on my bookshelf for too long - I needed a current reference text for some...
Published on 30 May 2012 by framekirkland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, now I'm a bit nervous..., 30 May 2012
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
I work as a trainer in the pharma industry and have done so for 20 years, and my main areas of work have been in oncology, haematology (& related supportive &/or palliative therapies). I bought this book as a replacement for the 3rd edition, which due to its superannuation had been gathering dust on my bookshelf for too long - I needed a current reference text for some training materials that I was developing and thought: I know - I'll just by the latest "Hoffbrand & ".... Well first of all it's full of typos - one annoying e.g: Rx bortezomid anyone? Hint - you wont find it in the BNF, try bortezomib instead. (the only place where it's spelled correctly is, thankful for small mercies, in the chapter on myeloma). Then there are some bizarre answers to the MCQs on line - try the q on the infectious agent most commonly associated with Burkitts Lymphoma and if you thought EBV, well you'd be right (but not according to the website, which I suspect of pushing "malaria"). Then it gets worse - a generation of budding haematologists thinking that you can use fluconazole as a prophylaxis against Aspergillus spp. infection. You'd do better with prayer/strong drink/crossed fingers & could reduce your drugs budget to boot. Oddly enough, the authors credit the world renowned mycologist Dr Liz Johnson for some of the images etc in the section on fungi - if they'd only asked her to proof the copy as well they'd have saved some embarrassment. The problem that I have is - in the areas that I know a little bit about, I know that there are some glaring errors, so how can I have faith in the rest?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Price, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
Great price for brand new book, arrived in good time. Very useful for undergraduate biomedical science degree work. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY JOB, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
VERY INFORMATIVE BOOK. HELPED ME WITH A HAEMATOLOGY ASSIGNMENT. EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND ALWAYS GOOD TO HAVE ON MY BOOKSHELF FOR EASY REFERENCE. RECOMMENDED TO A FRIEND WHO HAS ALSO PURCHASED IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Haematology Book, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
This book is concise, yet teaches a detailed level of haematology. I found this book to be invaluable when learning haematology. It is definitely the book of choice for students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haematology textbook, 6 Dec 2011
By 
P. W. Kyte (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
If you are in the field of Haematology, whether of a clinical or scientific background, then this is a excellent overall update in the field and I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars stunning beautiful presentation, succint text, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
Although its 10 years since i used a previous edition of this book at medical school in Nottingham i couldn't resist buying this new edition again. It looked so pretty on the shelf and when i flicked through i was impressed by the number of quality images. At medical school i remember it felt slightly stuffy and had excessive detail whereas now it seems slightly superficial. But actually overall i think the text itself is very good because its really honed down to the "essentials" yet in some areas it would definitely give you more depth than says the chapter in Davidson's. The organization and length of the chapters is excellent, modular but consistent. Its the kind of book you can easily read cover to cover, unlike the Davidsons's chapter which always strikes me as rather boring every time i try to read it. Having said all that if i was at medical school and short of money i'd question whether i really needed it beyond the chapter in Davidson's. I think if money is tight then you're better of just buying Davidson's and using lecture materials. Possibly this book has slightly more on the basic science of haemopoeisis which might be required for undergrads from what i remember of medical school.
For me this book remains a firm favourite and knowing the essentials of haematology is widely useful as a medical SHO/SpR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Haematology, 31 May 2011
By 
David Newman (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
A beautifully produced and illustrated text book. The fact that you can also download it in digital form makes it even more attractive and the availability of the diagrams and tables online for presentation purposes makes this an excellent buy. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above and beyond..., 4 May 2011
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
Hoffbrand has been the flagship haematology textbook for many years and the new edition is no exception. Chapters cover all the key topics in haematology in a straightforward style perfect for undergraduate study. However, it also goes above and beyond any undergraduate curriculum, with numerous `extension' areas now included. The level of detail these bring to every topic may seem intimidating, but even the most complex topics are clear and concise, making Hoffbrand accessible to undergraduates and postgraduates alike.
The slides and photograph complement the text well, and sections on haematological malignancies have been divided and extended, making the new edition noticeably fatter than the 5th edition. The online content has also been expanded to include multiple choice questions for undergraduates.
The 6th edition of this incredibly comprehensive text ensures Essential Haematology will keep its place as the ultimate haematology reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book more than my favourite fiction novels, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
I love this book more than my favourite fiction novels. Its so useful to have it to refer to! Perfect for the university student or post graduate studying haematology, even at a higher level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless!, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Hamad Khan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials) (Paperback)
This book is perhaps the worst book I have ever come across. It has plenty of errors. The book for some reasons is not user friendly and makes reader a chore. It has information but the information is badly communicated to the reader. I could go on forever about the downfalls of this book but that would be wasting my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Haematology: Includes Desktop Edition (Essentials)
£41.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews