Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended.
I became interested in this book when I was an undergraduate because all the PhD students were using it for their work. I soon found out why. More and more science departments across the land are requiring their undergraduates to learn statistics and as a result more and more books on the subject are appearing. This book raises itself from the pack by explain the basic...
Published on 27 Nov 2003 by Purple_Saxifrage

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic stats for biologists
This is a reasonably good introduction into statistics with examples from ecology and biology. Whats nice is that the book gives clear advice on choosing the correct statistical test, how to carry out the test and how to interpret the results with the four most common programmes (Excel, SPSS, Minitab and R). It seems much like hundreds of other similar stats books and...
Published on 17 May 2011 by South Londoner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 27 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I became interested in this book when I was an undergraduate because all the PhD students were using it for their work. I soon found out why. More and more science departments across the land are requiring their undergraduates to learn statistics and as a result more and more books on the subject are appearing. This book raises itself from the pack by explain the basic concepts of statistics very well and relating them with useful examples. Consequently it is extremely handy for Biologists like myself who lack a background in mathematics but have to use it all the time to help justify results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The statistics mystery resolved in one little book., 15 May 2001
By A Customer
The check list at the start helps you to decide which test is right to use, something that has always been a problem for non-statisticians. The book then easily takes you through the steps necessary for completing the test, but also, the best bit, it tells you how to do it on a number of stats computer programmes, which if you have access to, saves you gallons of time- fantastic- statistics was a mystery until finding this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival tool, 25 Aug 2006
Couldn't have survived the stats in either my degree or my MSc without this book, it gets down to what biologists care about in stats, what test to use, how to use it and what it shows, and avoids all the confusing 'mathsy' stuff in the middle (leaving you to read it in other books if necessary). If you want a stats book that is designed for biologists who have to cope with stats rather than statisticians trying to make something relevant to biology this is probably the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'Biologist-proof' guide!, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Absolutely agree with the review above - This was recomended by Plymouth Uni as the top 'Must Have' book for all things stats.
More detail (if that's your thing!) can be found elswhere, but this book tied all those lectures and other reference books together as to why something is used when it is.
Thank you Mr Dytham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good update to an established work, 12 May 2011
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the third edition of Calvin Dytham's book for biology students which was first published by Blackwell Science in 1999, with the second edition appearing in 2003. Blackwell was acquired by John Wiley in 2007 and the work is now published by Wiley-Blackwell. This edition was published in 2011 and any review dated earlier will refer to an earlier edition.

There are a few features new to this edition including information on using the free program "R" - it still includes information on using SPSS, Minitab and Excel. Although the book is clearly aimed biology students there is enough about using statistics generally to be of use to a slightly wider readership.

This new edition also includes a comprehensive glossary and key symbols to help to explain any statistical jargon. There are key and flow charts to help choose the right statistical test and Calvin Dytham has assumed no previous knowledge of statistics. Amazon has provided their "Look Inside" feature for this book and a quick click will show some of what is in the book. However, I guess most students considering this book will have a fair idea of what to expect!

A useful book which is well designed for its target readership and nicely bound so should last well with use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any biologist's bookshelf!, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Another Weasley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having done both an undergraduate and postgraduate degree in biology I was interested in this book as statistics is often a tricky subject. I really like this book - it is simple and easy to use, yet at the same time it does not ignore the information actually needed when using statistics in biology.

The book is split into 9 sections (really 8 with an introductory page):

1) Eight steps to successful data analysis
2) The basics
3) Choosing a test: a key
4) Hypothesis testing, sampling and experimental design
5) Statistics, variables and distributions
6) Descriptive and presentational techniques
7) The tests 1 : tests to look at differences
8) The tests 2 : tests to look at relationships
9) The tests 3: tests for data exploration

I was impressed with how the book splits the statistical tests up into sections by describing what they are used for (e.g. looking at relationships or differences). Often statistical books just lump everything together so unless you know the exact test you are looking for it can be confusing and time consuming trying to find the appropriate test whereas here you can pick what test to use by looking at the relevant section. Furthermore, you can also use the key in section 3 to help guide you to a suitable test.

Rather than just the theory behind statistics this book also explains how to perform each test (where applicable) in SPSS, Excel, Minitab and (new for this version) R statistical software packages. Giving information on how to input the data, run the tests and interpret the output. There is also a handy section listing the assumptions that each test makes on the data it is being applied to.

Overall, it is a really good book and I think it is useful for anyone studying biology and needing a textbook for statistics. I only wish I had known of this book (well, the previous versions that were available) when I was studying as it would have made my life a lot easier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you HATE stats, but have to do them for your degree..., 12 Jan 2005
By 
JR (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
...buy this book! It covers everything you need to know for a Biological honours degree in the UK, and for most of a masters as well. If you have got no idea about what it all means - and frankly don't care about what n represents - you just want to type in the data, and get a significant result... buy this book, it cuts out all the crap and is easy to understand. You will learn something! You need MINITAB or SPSS though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you want to do biostats without bothering with all the maths, 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide (Paperback)
A great book if all you need is to put your data into a statistics program, choose the right method and understand the output, without going into all the maths behind it.

This book will help you
- Understand which statistical method is appropriat for the type of data
- How to choose the right method and the implications of the choise
- How to preform the test in different statistical programs (Excel, SPSS and R)
- How to interpret the output from the statistical program

Although it is writen for biologists, students in medical/health sciences will also find it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars although it is much better if you are familiar with more than just excel, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim as I am a complete statistical novice and wanted advice on which test to use and how to do it. This book does just that, although it is much better if you are familiar with more than just excel, it complements a beginner or statistical improver regardless of the background for which the test it required. It is a must in every laboratory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful text, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide (Paperback)
suggested reading for my course. came promptly and good price, tend to dip in and out of for helpful advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide
Choosing and Using Statistics: A Biologist's Guide by Calvin Dytham (Paperback - 10 Dec 2010)
£24.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews