Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to American politics
This book is an excellent introduction to American politics, particularly for A-level and university students.
The chapters are well researched and written in an enetertaining and iinformative style which is all to rare among poltical texts.
Even if you're not a student this book provides an interesting insight into American politics: how it works, who works in...
Published on 30 Nov 2001

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry
Although impressive in its scope, the book can be both dry and inaccessible at times even to the most enthusiastic of students. Nevertheless, marvellously researched and relevant though not necessarily the best introduction to American government.
Published on 1 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to American politics, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This book is an excellent introduction to American politics, particularly for A-level and university students.
The chapters are well researched and written in an enetertaining and iinformative style which is all to rare among poltical texts.
Even if you're not a student this book provides an interesting insight into American politics: how it works, who works in it and basically, what it all means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry, 1 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Although impressive in its scope, the book can be both dry and inaccessible at times even to the most enthusiastic of students. Nevertheless, marvellously researched and relevant though not necessarily the best introduction to American government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American Politics and Society, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'American politics and Society' is a good first port of call for those who wish to learn about how the various agencies/branches of American politics are formed and run. It is written as a standard text book, but this doesn't detract from the readability of the text. This is a great introduction to American Politics. I bought my copy when doing my A-levels and I still refer back to it now to clarify points, or just to dip into out of general interest. His style is easy to read and his explanations are clear. It covers all the major topics you would wish to look at in your studies, has extensive charts, tables and graphs and is a great references book for anyone interested in politics. Well worth a look. Also check out 'Development is American Politics' edited by Gillian Peele, which also has some excellent information in a selection of essays form.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: American Politics and Society (CourseSmart) (Paperback)
I used this book to make sure I covered all the bases for my Politics of the USA essay and found it to be brilliant. Whilst of course many sources are needed to write a good final year degree paper (and i got a first wohoo!) its fantastic for getting a good understanding of American politics. Its simple enough to read for anyone interested in an overview of American politics, but covers enough ground to be an interesting read even for the pro as it offers the alternative arguments to many controversial topics. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Studies, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Politics and Society (CourseSmart) (Paperback)
This is a very readable and interesting book, which will be very useful for this semester's studies on Contemporary Politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 9 Nov 2011
it is not bad.
a good structure and clear enough for one want to have a glance of American politics and society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Politics and Society (CourseSmart)
American Politics and Society (CourseSmart) by David McKay (Paperback - 27 Feb 2009)
Used & New from: 10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews