Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent revision text
An excellent book aimed mainly at Medical Students and allied professionals studying medicine and case presentations,
It covers important facts , medical presentations of diseases and illness and does this logically in a no nonsense way with concise 2 page spreads of bullet pointed, and clearly ilustrated text.
It appears to be intending to act as an aide...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by BusyReader

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality images
I have always liked this series of book and used them extensively. I decided to download paeds and medicine at a glance and really wish I hadn't. So much of this series depends on good quality diagrams and pictures, however, the images in the kindle edition are completely illegible and I'm unable to zoom in and improve the quality. Images remain illegible.
Published 9 months ago by Robert Ghent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent revision text, 12 Oct 2010
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An excellent book aimed mainly at Medical Students and allied professionals studying medicine and case presentations,
It covers important facts , medical presentations of diseases and illness and does this logically in a no nonsense way with concise 2 page spreads of bullet pointed, and clearly ilustrated text.
It appears to be intending to act as an aide memoire and also encourage further deeper reading as some of the information was a little superficial, but if it helps with Finals , OSCES and MCQs it is a real gem.

It is a decent sized book and I fear the cover will become dog eared after much use.
There is also a link to web based core case studies for each section and more information on-line. I would say it is good value for its price and is essential support material for budding doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not too simple, not too technical, 3 Sep 2010
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ever wondered, as a lay person, what the doctors are talking about when they are stood at the end of your hospital bed (talking about you as if you are not there) or what those abbreviations are on the test forms they hand to you? Well, this book will go some way to helping you understand.

It has been a while since I studied human anatomy and physiology and medical health but I still find medical books extremely interesting (my childhood ambition was to be an epidemiologist) and I am finding it incredibly useful, especially in recent years when I've been very ill and wanted to know what's going on (but was being told I didn't need to know).

The book is laid out in 3 sections:

- Introduction
- Clinical Presentations at a Glance
- Diseases and Treatments at a Glance

The INTRODUCTION is just a fascinating as the chapters on medical conditions. It has both the Hippocratic Oath and the World Medical Association Oath, along with the vitally important areas of confidentiality and consent. Everyone should be aware of their rights regarding confidentiality and consent, you should always read any form that a doctor puts in front you; it's amazing what you are giving you're the surgeon/doctor the right to do to you when you sign a consent form.

There is also a subsection on how to get (and give) a chronological history of both the current medical problems and past medical history.

The CLINICAL PRESENTATIONS AT A GLANCE layout is well thought out. Each illness is set in a logical manner from how the illness forms through the clinical features to how to manage the illness and the possible prognosis.

Then you follow the book through to DISEASES AND TREATMENTS AT A GLANCE. The layout is done in the same manner. These are mostly different illnesses to the previous section. It covers areas from cardio-thoracic problems to diabetes, as well as HIV/AIDS and leprosy, to name but a few.

There are some good diagrams used to break up the text some are serious and others are comic but every one of them is appropriate to the text being covered.

Though it contains medical terminology it is clear and concise, and does not (unlike many textbooks go out of its way to throw in technical terms where they aren't necessary. A lay person or someone looking to study medicine may need a good medical dictionary (I have the Concise Colour Medical Dictionary (Oxford Paperback Reference) from when I was studying)

Whether it is for someone who is starting medicine, needs a good revision text or has an interest in the subject this book is an excellent option. The book is not meant to be a complete learning text but an addition to the study material; as such it is a great book - not overly technical nor too simple - it has produced a good balance that makes the book easy to read and understand. I wish all textbooks were produced in such a well thought out manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book for all in the healthcare field, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Nicolette Laurence "Lunarwillow" (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a community nurse, I often come across diseases and conditions which I am unfamiliar with. This book contains a surprising amount of information on pretty much any medical condition you can think of, and although there is a certain amount of jargon, it is still readable and informative. It is a very good quick reference for anyone who wants to learn the basics about different diseases, and I carry it with me in my car now so it is at hand at all times. I can recommend this without hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
This book covers the 'main' topics in medicine. It has a very good layout/format. Good headings and subheadings. Good diagram for each topic. I would highly HIGHLY recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute lifesaver!, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
My colleagues recommended this book for finals revision. I'm so glad I followed their advice. This book is fantastically designed, with clear step by step explanations, relevant symptoms and signs and plenty of pictures/diagrams. It felt to me pitched at a brilliant level. Obviously it doesn't go into great depth into every disease but it gives you enough to refresh your memory (aka revise) and helpful questions will guide for extra reading.

It took me a fortnight to thoroughly go through this book front-back, though with the chapters divided into systems you can easily highlight a few topics to cover a day.

The first half focusses on 'key symptoms' such as breathlessness, dysphagia and you can use it to reason out differentials etc. The second half goes into specific diseases with info on aetiology, symptoms, signs investigations and management. Lots of piccies. An 'easy' read (compared to other textbooks).

All in all definitely recommended. This book would also be suitable for 3rd and 4th years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good framework for revision, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Dr T E Mallinson (UK, Coventry/London/Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
Well, I revised from it's and passed finals. It's clearly limited in depth and scope because it's one book for all of medicine. If you annotate throughout the book and use it to guide your learning it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality images, 18 Mar 2014
I have always liked this series of book and used them extensively. I decided to download paeds and medicine at a glance and really wish I hadn't. So much of this series depends on good quality diagrams and pictures, however, the images in the kindle edition are completely illegible and I'm unable to zoom in and improve the quality. Images remain illegible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision text both stand alone & in the bundle purchase to prepare you for your medical school exams!, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
From the outset it should be made clear that by the very nature of the title of this text being 'At a Glance', this title does not intend to give you all the information that you need to know on each of the conditions that is covered. The aim of this title as is the aim of the rest of the series, is that you should be able to get a good grounding in the knowledge that you will need to get you through and to excel in your medical student exams, most especially in the case of this title your finals.

I note that in the previous review on this title there is a slating of it for not having enough detail or for not having enough images within the text along with a list of differentials. To address these points as stated above, this is more intended to be a revision title, not a replacement for core texts such as Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 21e (Principles & Practice of Medicine (Davidson's)), Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine: With STUDENTCONSULT online access, 8e or whatever other title your university may commend to you.

I would tend to agree that the whole of the 'at a Glance' series does use a disappointingly small amount of images in the texts, even when it would be highly appropriate to and would greatly enhance the quality of the text for it's certainly true in some cases that a 'picture can say a thousand words' in medicine. Yes there could be more differential diagnoses by some of the conditions in this title but you do have to draw a line somewhere and this title seems to do it well, if you've used another title such as above to gain your core knowledge then this should not pose a challenge.

In conclusion I would say that if you are preparing for your exams and want a book that will allow you to consolidate your knowledge then this title should certainly be considered. The main competitor to this; Crash Course General Medicine, 4e includes cases/questions to work through so may be better but if you are looking for these then why not get the bundle Medicine at a Glance Text and Cases Bundle & if you are a visual learner then the at a Glance title certainly has far more diagrams available.

Competing Interests: Student Reviewer - Received a Gratis copy of this Text
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and price excellent, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
This is one of the standard required textbooks. It is full of useful snippets and prompts you in the right direction. A must for all medical students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Medicine at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book sits between the likes of Davidson / PJ Kumar & Clark and the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine. This is a very readable book, and though directed at medical students, it is a useful pick & browse book for other professionals as well. It is divided into three sections:
1. INTRODUCTION: This starts with the Hippocratic Oath and the World Medical Association Oath, and covers practical topics such as confidentiality and consent. Everyone should be aware of their rights regarding confidentiality and consent, history taking etc.
2. CLINICAL PRESENTATIONS AT A GLANCE: Each illness is set in a logical manner covering the clinical features to how to manage the illness and the possible prognosis.
3. DISEASES AND TREATMENTS AT A GLANCE: Covers the different conditions and illnesses.

Easy to read, good use of information boxes and diagrams to emphasise important learning points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medicine at a Glance
Medicine at a Glance by Patrick Davey (Paperback - 12 Jan 2010)
£32.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews