Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic resource that you will refer to time after time.
Im currently in my third year of a degree in sociology and this book is the one that I couldnt do without. It is infinitely helpful and i would recommend it to anyone either studying or considering studying sociology or psychology.
Published on 3 Dec 2000

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit hard going buit a handy aid.
This book is a handy aid in helping students to improve the way they work. It pinpoints the correct ways in which to carry out research which is both deep-reaching but also clear and helpful in solving problems. It can be a bit difficult to understand the style of writing at times but is a lot easier to understand than most other books on the sam subject.
Published on 30 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic resource that you will refer to time after time., 3 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Im currently in my third year of a degree in sociology and this book is the one that I couldnt do without. It is infinitely helpful and i would recommend it to anyone either studying or considering studying sociology or psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully easy tor read (What a relief), 29 Sep 2006
By 
Max McKeown "Author: The Strategy Book, The I... (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Briefly... the book examines challenges and methods for studying in the real world (as opposed to an experimental setting) taking in such topics as qualitative approaches, mixed-methods, and action research.

What was so welcome about the book is that it reads like a conversation with someone who is in a place to advise you without lecturing - and is as surprisingly pleasant read. Very useful and very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Academically robust and highly readable, 4 April 2008
Many titles which aim to teach students and practitioners the art of research fall into one of two camps. At one extreme their approach is that of the 'how to... cookbook' where the reader develops the practical skills but their understanding of the underpinning principles isn't developed. At the other extreme is the highly technical (and often inpenatrable) text which provides the depth and theoretical rigour but which many students and practitioners find hard going and inaccessable, particularly for those relativly new to research.

The real value of Colin Robson's book is that it bridges that divide.
Its written in a style which is accessable and it provides a very readable account of the practice and of the principles that underpin academic research. At the same time its contents are academically robust and it takes the reader far beyond simple pragmatics and into the development of a deeper understanding of the research process in social science settings.

Its a book that both novice and experienced researchers will find usefull and will retun to time and time again for the valuable insight that it provides.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best social science research texts, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This is an outstanding book and the new editition is simply excellent. The style is practical and accessible and is likely to be attractive to a wide range of researchers. This is a book that should be at the side of any student tackling serious research projects. A must for anyone studying researhc methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MSc Distinction thanks to this book!!, 3 Aug 2008
By 
bluedivemonkey (Wokingham, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
I went to Madagascar to conduct my MSc dissertation research with a tent, this book and no existing knowledge of social science methodologies. I read it from cover to cover (a fairly easy read), made notes on the relevant sections, drew up my questionnaire using a mind map then conducted my interviews. I returned with loads of useful data which I managed to analyse with a few more resources available. I highly recommend this book for postgrads who need a coherent, logical bible to guide them through their research. I started out knowing nothing about methodology and ended up with a reasonable understanding... enough to get me a distinction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive book, 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to assist me with research methodology modules I am taking for postgraduate studies. Robson has done a great job of explaining complex terms and concepts relating to research paradigms in simple terms. He also dedicated whole chapters to the different data collection tools, and data analysis.

The least I could say about this book is that it is a gem. Believe me, you won't regret buying the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best practical research book, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Sebastian F. (London, England) - See all my reviews
Real World Research is a great manual for those who have some experience with planning or implementing social science research; the style of the book is clearly laid out so that it may be used as a reference manual. For those with no experience in this field it does have a good section on the background of social science research which will be helpful, however, it should be noted that the theories behind different research methods are not gone into with much depth. This is meant to be a manual for practical - 'real world' - research, and the book's strength lies in it's discussion of possible reactions and consequences of different methods of research. Similarly helpful are the recommends courses of action a researcher might take within specific methodological choices (e.g surveys or in-depth interviews).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful purchase, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Real World Research 3e (Paperback)
This was purchased when commencing a MSc in Research. The book is written in plain English to be understood by a novice but contains enough detail to be useful throughout the course and for future use as a reference. Very happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit hard going buit a handy aid., 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This book is a handy aid in helping students to improve the way they work. It pinpoints the correct ways in which to carry out research which is both deep-reaching but also clear and helpful in solving problems. It can be a bit difficult to understand the style of writing at times but is a lot easier to understand than most other books on the sam subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought used book: super deal!, 20 May 2009
By 
D., Kirkhus (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book prior to my exam in methods, and it was of great help to me. Seller was very professional, good communication and i reseaved the book just few days after buying it. Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Real World Research 3e
Real World Research 3e by Colin Robson (Paperback - 4 Mar 2011)
£28.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews