Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Interesting and very easy to read.
There are loads of books on this subject, however this is the only one I have seen you can actually read from start to finish. It takes you step by step through the entire system, first with an overview then in more depth in further chapters. Chapters are structured as lectures with each one refering to others, in a sensible progression. Absolutely brilliant book, you...
Published on 2 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very basic
this book is very basic, it is made out in lecture form and is informally written. it is easy to understand and explains topics very well. it is ideal for people studying basic immunology and immunological mechanisms. it is not detailed enough for anyone looking for extra material on more advanced topics. the index is also poorly made out. some subjects weren't listed so...
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by nanch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Interesting and very easy to read., 2 July 2001
By A Customer
There are loads of books on this subject, however this is the only one I have seen you can actually read from start to finish. It takes you step by step through the entire system, first with an overview then in more depth in further chapters. Chapters are structured as lectures with each one refering to others, in a sensible progression. Absolutely brilliant book, you must get it (2nd year medic student)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, concise and illuminating, 30 Oct 2007
By 
The Piglit (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
Gives a sound and scholarly overview of the immune system in a way that any reasonably intelligent person should be able to understand, yet without cutting corners or dumbing down. The enagaging and often humourous style is never an obstruction and always a help. The structure of the book means you will be able to grasp this tricky but fascinating subject progressively.
Necessarily sees the immune system in isolation, but will enable you to go on to study it in context.
A very good textbook indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How textbooks should be, 14 Jun 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a truly readable overview of this complicated subject then this is the book to buy. It's written in an engaging, unpretentious style that is actually READABLE! Unlike many scientists who make their subject sound overcomplicated and turn the reader off, this author really knows how to put over complex ideas simply. I'm sure most textbooks sit on shelves largely unread; this one could buck the trend. If every medical textbook was like this and all lecturers had a similar approach science would seem as interesting as it actually is. (Doctor)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after reading this it will be clear how it works, 7 May 2007
By 
A. Rogiers (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
When I first started studying immunology I always got lost in the multitude of cells and proteins. This book is different: immunology becomes a comprehensible and fascinating science.

"How the immune system works" is a concise overview of the immune system in about one hundred pages. Dr. Sompayrac clearly describes in an entertaining manner the different facets of the immune response without getting into too much detail. He really manages to keep it well-organized and straightforward.

This overview really helped me to understand basic concepts such as the difference between innate and adaptive immune system, the difference between B and T cells, and the succession of events of a bacterium that gets underneath your skin, from the very initial stages - when a macrophage recognizes a lipopolysaccharide - to the end when specific antibodies are produced by B cells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect!, 20 Aug 2009
This is THE absolute book to help you get an overview of immunology before embarking to learning all the details. It is a book that can be read almost casually: The chapters are written in the form of lectures, and in a very informal, humorous way, which makes reading pleasant. They are also quite small, 10-15 pages each (including their summaries and lots of simple images - and in quite large font). The writing is spacious and there are clear sub-headings, which means you know exactly what the subject is every time.
Make no mistake, immunology's outline IS there, so you will have to focus at times and sort the information out, but Sompayrac gives you the big picture and describes the forest rather than each tree separately, like many of the larger books do (sadly neglecting the forest in many cases, despite their 400 pages or so)...
So, if you want to learn the basics of immunology... get this. If you want to spent months studying immunology and learn all the details... again get this! Starting with it will make learning more details immensely easier, and save you time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whew! What goes on inside us all, 8 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
I have a science background, but not a biology background. I bought this book out of a desire to learn more about how I work.

This book is a very quick overview of the immune system, told an a straightforward way, however this does mean a reasonable amount of jargon (there is no getting away from it in this subject). But the jargon does not overwhelm! There are clear summaries throughout the book making things as easy (for a layman like me) as possible.

So, for me this was the perfect book, pitched at just the right level for me. I can't say that I understood everything, but I got a superb in-depth overview (if that is not a contradiction!) of this subject. I was also left in awe as to how much must be known in the field overall if this is just undergraduate level!

I shall be buying other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immune System, 3 May 2010
By 
Finbarr J. Smyth (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant!!!!!
Even if you have no interest in the immune system, that photo on the front cover of a white cell (Macrophage)
is creepy enough to buy it...

Seriously though, I used this book in my studies of anatomy and Physiology and then Pathology and disease, and
it is excellent, I have so far acheived 5 A grades using this book as a starting point, and I find I am refering back to
it over and over

It is just written so well, and easy to understand it is broken down into 12 lectures, I find I have retained most of the information
quite easily.

If you are studying Biology, Anatomy & Physiolgy or even Pathology and disease,
If you purchase this book and another one by the same author "How Pathogenic Viruses work" you will be well on your way
to understanding very complex topics.

(the other book is also written in the same manner and is also excellent)

Pity I didnt have Lauren Sompayrac as my lecturer...

I bought both books from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very basic, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
this book is very basic, it is made out in lecture form and is informally written. it is easy to understand and explains topics very well. it is ideal for people studying basic immunology and immunological mechanisms. it is not detailed enough for anyone looking for extra material on more advanced topics. the index is also poorly made out. some subjects weren't listed so i had to trawl through the book to find the material. a great buy for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately a favourite..., 1 Aug 2010
By 
L. E. Ackerman (London, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
There is no better overview and introduction to this topic. I would recommend this book to anyone. (Biomedical Scientist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book that's made immunology make sense!, 28 April 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Francis "Nick Francis" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) (Paperback)
I haven't met that many med students that love immunology, and being no exception I was tearing my hair out in preparation for our summer exams...and then I found this book. It really goes back to the beginning and works through a really good overview of the topic and key terms, which will be enough to see any medical student or junior doctor through. As several others have said, this is a 'forest' rather than 'trees' text. If you're like me and can't seen to get firm handle on immunology, this really is the first place to go. It's a fantastic book, wittily written and short enough to get through in a few days. It's set out as short individual lectures, so doesn't give you too much to chew on at once. It's just terrific and I couldn't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works)
How the Immune System Works (Blackwell's How It Works) by Lauren M. Sompayrac (Paperback - 14 Mar 2008)
Used & New from: £7.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews