Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2006
Haematology is an under-taught area of the undergraduate medical curriculum not clearly sitting in any of the general fields which as medical students we are exposed to.

This book is really well illustrated with some very insightful microscopy slides with good text to back it up and explain the material. This is in some contrast to the competition out there.

On the negative side however, there is more detail than the undergraduate needs, but this is admitted in the preface and blue lines indicate the 'extension material' which is necessary for 'honours students'!

I've always had problems with understanding haematological malignancies and this book has proven very helpful in this regard. It's a useful reference which can go a long way to addressing the gap between what is taught and what is expected! Whether you're a medical student or junior doctor this is a great book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
If you actually work in a hospital haematology lab I'm sure you'll be able to get this from work but I am obsessed with textbooks and therefore had to purchase my own copy! So in depth about numerous haematological conditions including haemoglobinopathies, coagolpathies, anaemias and leukaemias as well as other conditions where blood test results would be anomalous, packed with pictures, blood film scans and tables - very easy to understand but also incredibly detailed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2009
As a haematologist, I find this book an excellent basic text or a primer for the subject. Haematology is often explained in a very complicated way, so students don't like it very much, and what is worse, don't understand those parts that are essential for their everyday work in any field: anemias, coagulation, haematological consequences of systemic diseases... this book contains a very thorough, but simple explanation for haematological problems and diseases, and is a good basis if you want to understand the subject. As a matter of fact, I use it to prepare lectures for undergraduates and they usually find the explanation suffciently clear and interesting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2006
Essential Haematology is an excellent core text. Filled with coloured diagrams, radiographs, and clinical pictures the text is beautifully illustrated through out. The book is laid out in an easy to understand way and is comprehensively and concisely written covering the basic medical sciences of haematological disorders, Clinical featres, Diagnostic Tests and Management of various conditions. This book is useful to not only medical students and nurses but also Junior doctors as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
An extraordinarily comprehensive textbook covering all aspects of Haematology, brought to life by fantastic use of full colour illustrations, diagrams and photographs. Since a thorough knowledge of Haematology is the backbone of medical diagnosis, this book is definitely to be recommended to all medical students...and beyond!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2011
i ordered this book to help with a heamatology module. the book itself is in very good condition and useful now and in furture studies concerning haematology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
Great for med students/Core medical trainees alike. Easy to understand so you don't need the med dictionary on hand too.
Definitely worth the investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
The product was as described in the article, it arrived quickly and was in a good condition. Many thanks and would recommend to future buyers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Great book. It was used for the study but now I use it at work. The rare diseases are not very well explained though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
We'll written with good illustrations. I still use this regularly as a fully qualified BMS in haematology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)