Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for serious students
If you're serious about studying Russian and progressing to an advanced level, this is an essential and invaluable grammar. Designed primarily for degree-level Russian, 'A Comprehensive Russian Grammar', like the other books in the series, covers almost every grammar rule, intricacy and exception, using numerous examples (many taken from contemporary and literary sources)...
Published on 5 Oct 2005 by Che Guevara

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No good as a Kindle, stick to paper
Where Cyrylic letters are accented the type face is reduced to miniscule and / or split between lines. It is totally unusable.
Published 16 months ago by Essex Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for serious students, 5 Oct 2005
If you're serious about studying Russian and progressing to an advanced level, this is an essential and invaluable grammar. Designed primarily for degree-level Russian, 'A Comprehensive Russian Grammar', like the other books in the series, covers almost every grammar rule, intricacy and exception, using numerous examples (many taken from contemporary and literary sources) and clear outlines. As a reference, it is a powerful tool for achieving an accuracy that other grammars lack.
Whilst not for the faint-hearted or beginner, Wade deals with a number of minor grammar points that other grammars overlook. If you're serious about Russian, and eager to get the grammar absolutely right, this is for you. The benchmark for modern language reference grammars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone using Russian, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
At the time of publication, this had been the first in-depth study of the Russian language for English speakers to appear in decades. Despite Offord having since written two excellent works (Using Russian, and An Advanced Grammar Course - also essential), I still rate this the most important grammar for anyone serious in learning the language.
The layout is extremely user-friendly, and whilst not aimed at beginners, the explanations are very clear. A major distinction from previous Russian grammars is a more widespread use of examples from modern sources (newspapers, TV etc) rather than solely classic literature.
Particularly impressive is the treatment of prepositions, which are categorised by basic meaning (eg spatial, temporal etc), rather than case government. In addition, few other grammars have given sufficient space to the treatment of particles, which, for English speakers is probably the most difficult aspect of Russian to master.
Overall, for what has seemingly become the template for most Slavonic Grammars that have since been published, this book is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No stone left unturned - thoroughly comprehensive, 11 July 2008
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This must be the most accessible and comprehensive of any Russian grammar on the market, still the standard work amongst a clutch of more recently published simplified, 'easy learner' grammars. No stone is left unturned in the language, and the helpfully numbered sections of clear, straightforward explanations and solid examples (many taken from Russian literature) are supported by reams of footnotes and the grammatical exceptions and oddities any serious student will relish. The language of each explanation is practical and not cluttered, and each point is easy to understand in its own right, as well as placed nicely into the context of the wider unit it sits in.

It is a grammar that serves equally well as a course companion or a 'dip-in' reference book. For teachers, the numbering will no doubt prove useful for setting independent study / homework lists. The indexed companion workbook which is available is excellent for giving you a structured roadmap to make your way through the grammar. The companion workbook can be found here: A Russian Grammar Workbook (Blackwell Reference Grammars)

Wholeheartedly recommended for any serious student of Russian or comparative grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expect nothing less from this author than great., 30 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is, of course, the best around for those learning Russian. It has clear explanations of ALL of the grammer bits and pieces, and uses very good examples; it gives abnormalities also.

I have been learning Russian now for 6 years, and I hope to study it at University in 2008, and I know that this book will be a bible to me in the coming years.

My only problem is that this book is aimed at university students, and so it can sometimes take a while to understand exactly what is being said, however that is the problem with buying books aimed at people above your ability. Although, this book has already been a lifesaver for me in many situations in my IB Russian.

Along with the Russian Grammar Workbook (by the same author), one can find it easy (or should I say less difficult) to pick up the different grammar rules.

My teachers also use this, as a reference book for their use, but mainly as a teaching aid; they seem to swear by this book, recomending that my fellow higher students purchace this book on starting the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Russian Grammar, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
I've been learning Russian slowly for about 7 years and this book is exactly what I need. It is not just an extremely useful reference book, but it is also very readable in its own right. The examples from modern Russian usage are really helpful. The glossary explains terms such as 'gerund' so that the non-specialist learner can understand. Everything is explained clearly and though much of the content is for advanced students of the language, I wish I had bought it at the beginning of my studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book which I need to refer to for more complex, technical and academic statements in contemporary russian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars russian grammar, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
this was a xmas gift and they were pleased with it....what more can I say they were pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant grammar and a most useful reference work, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
Terry Wade was a first class linguist and was on the same Joint Services Russian course that I attended. It is a work of great scholarship with examples of the usage of words and sourced from the most eminent native Russian grammarians.It is a 'must buy' for any serious Russian language student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best Russian grammar book, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
There are not many Russian grammar books with explanations in English. This book is as good as it gets. Unfortunately Terrance does not seem to be much of a fan of tables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive is right, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) (Paperback)
This is an excellent and truly comprehensive guide. It's well laid out and abounding in well chosen examples of phrases which quickly convey the nuance of the various meanings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars)
A Comprehensive Russian Grammar (Blackwell Reference Grammars) by David Gillespie (Paperback - 10 Sep 2010)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews