Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best biography of Anne Boleyn
Anne Boleyn is sometimes referred to as "that woman" by Tudor historians. She has "provoked trench warfare" amongst experts in the field and it is almost impossible to remain impartial to her story.
Professor E.W. Ives, the author, is an acknowledged expert in Tudor history - specialising on the Boleyns. His 1986 biography, "Anne Boleyn," became the standard work on...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by sfweston

versus
11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a page turner
I just wanted to warn people who may buy this book off the back of all the five stars ratings to be a litte guarded. Sure, the research is incredible, the detail overwhelming but as an entertaining read: forget it. I wanted to like this book believe me, and therefore I struggled on to over a third of the way through. Some of the episodes were indeed enthralling, but we...
Published on 2 Dec 2009 by Nigel Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best biography of Anne Boleyn, 2 Aug 2004
Anne Boleyn is sometimes referred to as "that woman" by Tudor historians. She has "provoked trench warfare" amongst experts in the field and it is almost impossible to remain impartial to her story.
Professor E.W. Ives, the author, is an acknowledged expert in Tudor history - specialising on the Boleyns. His 1986 biography, "Anne Boleyn," became the standard work on Anne's life - and deservedly so. It provoked two historical responses - George Bernard's "The Fall of Anne Boleyn" (which was quickly discounted) and Professor Warnicke's controversial "The Rise and Fall of Anne Boleyn" - which challenged much of what Ives had said.
The new book is an updated version of the 1986 copy, with extra chapters elaborating on Anne's role at Court and incorporating all the new research on Anne Boleyn's life and times. Ives writes well and the book (although long) is witty, insightful and extremely well-researched.
While I don't agree with everything Ives says in this book - I tend to believe she was born around 1507, not 1501 as Ives suggests and I think his famous version of her fall from the throne is a little too "neat" - it's clear that this book is the best currently in print about Anne Boleyn's life and death.
Ives convincingly shows that Anne was one of the most important women ever to sit on the throne of England and that she was far from the wicked-witch of legend. His greatest achievement is his complex exploration of her religious views.
In the end this book got 5* because of Ives' research, writing style and well-argued case. No-one who is interested in any of the Boleyn children or the era of Henry VIII should miss this book. Carlsberg-style, it is, probably, the best biography of Anne Boleyn in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The power behind the throne..., 21 Oct 2004
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Eric Ives' book `The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn' is a must read for people interested in British history, the British Royal Family history, the history of the Tudor period, and particularly for those interested in one of the key figures around that most colourful of English kings, Henry VIII. Anne Boleyn's influence in court, which dominated state and church affairs at a critical moment in European affairs, is shown here, in addition to the personal strife that Anne Boleyn both caused for others (her rival for Henry's affections, Katherine, is but the least of these) as well as the strife she herself endured.
Ives contrasts Anne Boleyn with Katherine of Aragon in terms of overall worldviews that they represented - Anne being far more a child of the Renaissance, intellectually curious and passionate, independent and full of ideas; Katherine of Aragon was representative more of the `old order', which included a staunch piety and adherence to Roman Catholicism in principle and political loyalty. This contrast is in part why Ives can state with reasonable certainty that Anne Boleyn was the most controversial woman ever to have been a queen of England (which, given that she's up against the likes of Eleanor of Aquitaine, among others, is saying something). Part of this controversy stems from the sources historians have for details about her life; being a pivotal person in the Catholic/Protestant split during the Tudor and post-Tudor world, she was constantly reinterpreted, and rarely for the better. Even the glorious reign of her daughter, Elizabeth, did little resurrect her image in popular or short-term historical opinion.
Ives' writing is lively and full of passion, as befits his subject. Ives also introduces new interpretations and contexts to the events of the time. For example, he describes the fall of Anne Boleyn as a coup, normally a term reserved for the removal of a reigning monarch or primary executive; it is a testament to the power of Anne Boleyn's influence over King Henry VIII that his advisors, such as Thomas Cromwell, saw need to remove her, for their own safety, as well as (possibly) the safety of the king. Ives concludes with Wyatt's elegy and a brief epilogue of the Tudor aftermath, not drawing too many conclusions, but rather, as a responsible historian, asking a few questions and leaving the reader to ponder the outcomes.
There is a good middle section of photographic plates, 64 in all, which includes many paintings, engravings and pictures of artifacts of Anne Boleyn. He also includes handy lists of titles and offices, genealogy charts of the European royal families, the Tudor court, and the Boleyn/Howard families (Henry VIII's last wife, Katherine Howard, was a cousin of Anne Boleyn). Scholars will appreciate the extensive endnotes, bibliographic/historical references, and index, together which comprise nearly 100 pages. However, this is a book for general readers as well as scholars, accessible and well-paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best biographies ever written about Anne Boleyn, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
This highly informative account of Anne Boleyn brings to life a Tudor woman once seen as elusive and obscure.
Due to the high volume of biased primary accounts of Anne Boleyn written by the likes of Chapuys (the Spanish ambassador to England at the time) and others, it has been notoriously difficult to make an objective and impartial assessment of Anne Boleyn however Ives succeeds in bringing the true character of Anne Boleyn to life using a variety of sources, challenges biased accounts of Anne's life (such as Chapuys' accounts of the ailing marriage) and also presents compelling evidence to support his assertions, such as the controversy surrounding Anne's birth date.

Whilst at times, Ives presents the not so endearing qualities of Anne Boleyn, on the whole Ives' account of Anne is largely sympathetic, particularly in the last two chapters of the book where politics and religion appear to play a pivotal role in Anne's downfall and destruction.

It is also refreshing to see Anne portrayed as human and not demonized as she has so often been portrayed.
Ultimately, this is a balanced, magnificently researched and a tribute to Anne, whose efforts helped shape the reformation in England, a sentiment even echoed by Thomas Cromwell, one of her bitterest enemies who helped bring down the "most controversial queen consort" of England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well researched, 4 Oct 2008
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
An exhaustively researched but generally very readable biography. In a few places (esp. the chapters on image, art and costume) the level of detail does get a little too much, but this is a testament to the author's endeavours. It is difficult to see how this can be bettered as a biography of this subject, absent the discovery of some significant new primary source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive Anne Boleyn-, 10 Sep 2010
By 
A. Knight "Boleyn_girl_xoxo" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
This is the definitive Anne Boleyn biography. The vastness of the historians research is mind blowing and provides the reader with as accurate portrayal of Anne Boleyn as possible.

This book gives a warts and all account of Anne Boleyn however it is not coloured with bias. There have been many books describing Anne boleyn "the witch" and "the great whore" and "the evil seductress" and the remaining tiny percentage of Anne Boleyn books depict her as a loyal and obedient angel. Eric Ives provides the true Anne she was not wholly satanic or angelic but a most fascinating mixture of the 2. Anne Boleyn is my favorite woman in history and her story never fails to enchant me. I love her character, her strength, her determination. She was a fabulous and intriguing woman whos rise and fall is an unforgettable read, and there is no author that tells her story better than Eric Ives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and enlightening about Anne Boleyn!, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
If one is looking for mere entertainment, this is not the book to buy. I thoroughly enjoyed "The Six Wives of Henry VIII" written by Antonia Fraser, which contained only the most necessary historical facts in order to present the six Queens properly.

When I have given Eric Ives' book five stars, it's because this book is probably the most detailed and enlightening book ever written about Anne Boleyn. But the book is not an easy read, not if one is searching for pure entertainment. For me it is more a book of facts about Anne which I can go back to whenever I'm searching for more information about her. That does not mean the book lacks for numerous enjoyable anecdotes from Anne's life and vivid descriptions of her as a person.

The book tells about Anne's family and background, which was far more important than one is often led to believe. Originally, the family made its fortune in trade, but later on its relations with the Tudors became significant and Anne was by no means an unsuitable match for King Henry.

What I found most interesting was the picture of Anne as a very cultured and highly educated young woman. The time she spent at the Continent and how this influenced her in her role as Queen of England. It thoroughly explains why she became as powerful and politically important as she did. And not the least, the circumstances leading to her death.

For a complete picture of Anne Boleyn, look no further. This book gives all the answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full account of Anne Boleyn's Life and eventually, death., 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
The reviews here are enough to invite you to read this book, and I reinforce the good reviews, for in all what I have read about Anne Boleyn, this book has proven to be the most insightful. Based on facts, though supporting some, 'What if', narrative, Ives has brought to life the Tudor court and a love that both made Anne Boleyn and destroyed her. Most of us grow up thinking perhaps Anne was a sinful, wicked woman, but she proved to be ambitious, talanted, sympethetic to the poor, and many other things. She's a woman who you may not like, but who you can certainly admire. I found myself not entirely liking Anne, but not disliking her, which adds to the charm of the book - it's not biased. No one is good or bad, there is no black or white. Ives outlines Anne's charitable, kind nature, but also introduces the ambitious, sharp-tongued woman who would be queen, and would fight for her crown when a rival -Jane Seymour- appeared and when her life was at stake. This is indeed the mother of Queen Elizabeth I.

He also goes into the life of Henry and Cromwell, even Wosely. Again, he does not make Henry bad, nor good. Ives leaves it for us to judge, which I like. Now, I have read plenty of books about Henry VIII, and always they take to forcing the opinion that Henry was a bad man, a bad king. I agree of course, but I rather figure that out myself than being told. This is what Ives does; he shows me Henry as a person, as a king, and lets me judge.

It also introduces breifly Jane Seymour. Not a lot is known about her actually, and I always assumed since I was a young girl that she was a good, sincere woman. Though Ives by no means ruin that image for me, he opened up my eyes and revealed that even women like Jane were ambitious. He brings that out well in such a short time.

I found this book so compelling. The passion between Anne Boleyn and Henry was beautifully written, backed up with facts and 'what if's'. Their married life was insightful, because usually we skip their married life right to her beheading. Instead, Ives slowly takes us through Queen Anne's life at court and with Henry, and the pressures she faced. Then, finally, he takes us to the events that would lead to her tragic end.

It is indeed a book about the life of Anne, not just the death.

Utterly amazing book; Ives's version of Anne's life is the best I've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable history, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Minnie Mouse (Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
Rightly deserves all the positive reviews. It is thorough, balanced, sympathetic and very readable. He knows his subject and you really get a feel for the complex, intelligent woman Anne was and for the paranoia of the court of Henry VIII. Anne Boleyn's treatment of Princess Mary was undeniably cruel and good men such as Thomas More and John Fisher lost their lives because of her - this is how she tends to be remembered but there was another side to her. She was a real religious reformer at a time when there was much corruption in the Church. Probably the real reason she was executed was that she interfered in politics - for example her clash with Cromwell over the dissolution of the monasteries - not because Henry tired of her or she could not give him a son. It is true that if you only read one book about Anne Boleyn this is the one but come on!!! Tudor history and Anne Boleyn in particular are a bit of an addiction. You are not going read just one book. After reading this I am halfway through Alison Weir's "The Lady in The Tower" - very,very good, she truly makes history read like a novel and is clearly an Eric Ives fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy, 18 Nov 2008
By 
A. Neill "anne26951" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy (Paperback)
I have been looking for a truly historical analysis that neither confinces this complex character to one chapter in a book on the reign of Henry VIII, portrays her as a saucy temptress nor eulogises her in sickeningly romantic tones in the manner of the unprofessional outpourings of Joanna Denney, who should be ashamed to call herself a historian with a one-sided diatribe such as England's Tragic Queen.

This book is it. A well researched and analysed construction, that really builds up the layers of historical evidence to present a picture of Anne Boleyn's life, character, and influence, and shows an interest in considering whether there was any merit in the charges that led to her death. I this is quite simply a must for anyone interested in getting as close to historial accuracy as is possible given the limited sources available, yet is done in an entirely readable way. Hats off to Mr Ives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about Anne Boleyn ever written!, 4 Feb 2005
By 
Anne Boleyn is a very misunderstood character in English History. She is seen as an "evil" woman who tore Henry VIII from his wife and Catholic Church- Anne is a highly significant historical figure in her own right- not only for being the mother of the great Queen Elizabeth I.
Eric Ives captures Anne's personality and gives explanations for the events in Anne's life. It is a highly enjoyable read - especially if you enjoy Tudor History. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy
The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn: The Most Happy by Eric Ives (Paperback - 10 July 2005)
£13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews