Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50 Myths of Psychology Debunked, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
"Opposites attract", "you only use 10% of your brain", and "people are more depressed on Mondays" are just some of the myths that people accept as fact, when they are in fact totally false. This book debunks some of the popular misconceptions about human behavior that are in circulation, and shows that fact is far more interesting than fiction. This book is aimed at psychology students and anyone interested in psychology and behavior. It offers fascinating examples of how science works, supports critical thinking, and counters some of the pseudo-science circulating in popular culture.
This book presents scientific evidence disproving a variety of myths that seem like they ought to be true, and explains why people fall prey to such falsehoods. The book tackles psychological myths about brain power, learning, perception, feelings, memory, mood, mental illness and more.

The book has a postscript of psychological findings that are strange but true, such as the behavioral study with pigeons, where they were successfully taught to distinguish between the paintings of Monet and Picasso! Or the study that shows that dogs do resemble their owners! Fact not fiction!

The book is fully referenced and has recommendations for further reading.
The authors are all well respected professors of psychology at leading universities in the US and Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read it from cover to cover, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Matthew Leitch (Epsom, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before reading this book I was aware of quite a number of myths of popular psychology, so I was wondering if the authors would cover many I didn't already know about. They did. This was fascinating. The research presented not only explains what research actually says (or does not say) but also shows roughly how many people believe the myths.

This book is easy and pleasant to read.

Obviously, I don't expect their conclusions to be perfect in every respect and some of them will be found to be myths in future. What I can say is that if you read this book you will jettison more myths than you acquire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good discussion material, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
Contains thoroughly researched mini-topics that dispel many current misunderstandings. Provides good material for starting discussions, both in the classroom or at a dinner party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what the title says!, 28 July 2010
By 
Antony Bartlett (the Unitied Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
An informative and enjoyable read - somehow those pages just kept on turning. Well argued and well referenced (unobtrusively). Now I'm noticing these myths as they crop up in everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not just a book of lists, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an enjoyable light read, great for the train or the bus. I was not always convinced by the myth-busting, since too definitive a "bust" comes across as just as shallow as too definitive a "myth". Good entertaining stuff though and a great tool for sceptics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a bit of a knowledge geek a good read., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
If you like facts this is a book for you. It's a de-bunkers book and you can infuriate your friends by 'shooting down in flames' many of those wrongly held psychology myths!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked it. I think it does the debunking that it promises and several were ones I am glad to know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good counterweight against a lot of the baseless psychological claims, 4 July 2013
By 
PETER (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
The authors in this book discuss and debunk 50 commonly held misconceptions about the human mind and psychology and have done an excellent job at setting these at explaining these. As a general reader, I found the topics interesting and insightful without being to heavy on theory.

It is a good counterweight against many of the baseless psychological claims that are out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter. She says it is useful in her studies offering differnt ideas to extend her understanding of this topic,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Rafal Gruszczynski (Warsaw Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior (Paperback)
Eyes opening. It is amazing how many things we believe in (that the media and movies are telling us) that have no proof or are simply wrong. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology: Shattering Widespread Misconceptions About Human Behavior
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews