Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undergraduate Must Have!
A thoughtfully written, well researched must have guide for any undergraduate looking for sound guidance in writing their final year dissertation.
Great tips on generating ideas for research, choosing the right research method/design, and on writing-up your dissertation.
Invaluable insights given by current undergrads and lecturers about their own experiences of...
Published on 20 Sep 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
its not as useful a book as i thought, the book came really quickly and economically packaged. the book was in a good condition.
Published 24 days ago by jem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undergraduate Must Have!, 20 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
A thoughtfully written, well researched must have guide for any undergraduate looking for sound guidance in writing their final year dissertation.
Great tips on generating ideas for research, choosing the right research method/design, and on writing-up your dissertation.
Invaluable insights given by current undergrads and lecturers about their own experiences of the dissertation process which help students avoid many uneccessary pitfalls during the research/write-up process.
A highly recommended and informative companion to lessen the anxiety associated with dissertation projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent- must have for psychology undergraduates, 20 April 2009
By 
This is an excellent book that guides you through your disseration. It tells you how to word things properly and what is expected. I used this book and it helped me get a first for my project.

I reccomend buying it earlier on your course so you have time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide!, 2 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
This truly is the best guide if you are a psychology student. I have another guide as well but this one really taps into the bps and psychology needs that you have to pay soo much attention to. It is especially helpful with ethics applications and the literature review. It is easy to read and understand with it virtually spelling out everything you need to do and to what kind of standard. It is quite small and very easy to carry around and take to the library or university. This will save you a lot of time and will make sure you create some quality work. There is no need to stress about your dissertation, this book will see you through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 20 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
I'm currently doing my final year project and brought this book a few months ago before I started my project. I'm currently collecting my data and have started to write up my report and am finding this guide very helpful. It's short (which is great since there is enough to read for the project itself) and each section is clearly labelled making it easy to find what you're looking for, there are lots of tips about other aspects of the project apart from the write up and data collection, it starts from the very beginning from generating a research question and guides you right up to the end. When something is explained examples are usually given which make it easier to understand (how to generate a hypothesis for example), what I find very helpful is that in the results section it shows how the results should be reported and gives examples of how you would report different tests like ANOVA etc saving me from having to pull out the heavy statistics books.

I would definitely recommend it if you could do with a bit of extra help for your project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide for psychology dissertation, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst in my second year due to the big panic of the third year dissertation, so I thought I'd get prepared and read up on what I'd be expected to do. I'm so glad I did buy this, as it literally went from the start, so it gave you suggestions on how to actually come up with a research project idea (probably the daunting bit as you have no idea where to start!). It then goes through every stage of the project, giving helpful tips along the way of what to do and what to avoid etc. It then also went through the write up process, again giving helpful tips on things such as how to present your data etc, and what you need to include in your intro and discussion.
I definitely found it a really helpful guide when doing my dissertation, and was easy to dip into, so you can read the bits you need when you need them. Definitely reduces the anxiety around the dissertation too, as well as helping you to avoid common mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
its not as useful a book as i thought, the book came really quickly and economically packaged. the book was in a good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A god send., 24 Mar 2014
By 
Daniel Autumn (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
This book is an amazing companion to have when doing an undergraduate dissertation/thesis. It has helped me on every stage of my write-up.

The book is divided into two general sections, the first discussing how to go about constructing a study and how to collect the data and design it well. Don't do what I did and get this book after your data collection! It's so helpful for every part of a dissertation. The second part of the book focuses solely on the write-up afterwards, going into a lot of detail on each section, as well as common faults found in written work. It even tells you some grammar do's and don't's.

The best part has to be the comical tone and drawings. They make it a much lighter read for a person who is undoubtedly having to do a lot of heavy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
Excellent book, it has given me a lot more confidence in my dissertation. Very interesting, easy to read and wish i had bought it earlier!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
A book I had to buy for university, useful for any psychology undergraduate student to help with your Final Year Project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great help!, 17 Mar 2013
By 
E. House "[Ellie]." (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide (Paperback)
Practical advice, written how real people speak and operate and not dry academics. Thank you very much, couldn't have gotten through my dissertation without you :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide
Your Undergraduate Psychology Project: A BPS Guide by Mark Forshaw (Paperback - 27 Aug 2004)
18.31
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews