Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy food to inspire
On the advice of the low carb diet plan I am following I bought this book, and I'm so glad I have. The recipes are delicious and the pictures will make your mouth water. I have yet to cook a recipe that doesn't work! This book has helped me keep on course so that I haven't cheated.

One of the hardest things in a low carb diet is satisfying your sweet tooth. I...
Published on 17 Jan 2007 by N. Hall

versus
34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it - BUT . . .
The recipes here are lovely - smashing food for the adventurous cook.

However I did have a few problems finding some of the ingredients in the local shop - "ground flaxseed" is simply not available to me and yet seems to be a basic constituent of many recipes as a flour replacement. Also, as a long-term dieter, I found it hard coming to terms with all that...
Published on 29 May 2010 by Angela


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

176 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy food to inspire, 17 Jan 2007
By 
N. Hall "joker13na" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
On the advice of the low carb diet plan I am following I bought this book, and I'm so glad I have. The recipes are delicious and the pictures will make your mouth water. I have yet to cook a recipe that doesn't work! This book has helped me keep on course so that I haven't cheated.

One of the hardest things in a low carb diet is satisfying your sweet tooth. I know some diets recommend you cut out sweet foods altogether, or limit them to special occasions. This is fine if you are able to do it, but what some people find is that this craving for sweet things may lead you to cheat, so why not find 'legal' sweets. This book has some lovely ones, including brownies, silken chocolate pudding, coconut macaroons, ice cream and pancakes. MMMMmmmmm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!!, 24 May 2007
By 
C. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
This is by far the best low-carb book I have ever used. It has DELICIOUS recipes and suggests realistic alternatives to rice, potatoes and so on. Well done to Kate Barnaby for creating such fantastic low-carb food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gourmet but straightforward!, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
I bought this book after I found myself searching for this lady's recipes on the web. I wanted the recipes in my own kitchen! Delightful recipes, straightforwardly presented. I hope she writes a follow-up book soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
If this book doesn't keep you on the low-carb straight and narrow then nothing will.
Interesting preamble as to how the author got involved with low-carbing and some really great recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 15 Jun 2010
By 
M. Godwin (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
This is a great book if you are following a low-carb diet. Chocolate brownies, strawberry shortcakes, lasagne, pizza...all are delicious. Who knew you could make an alternative to pasta sheets and pizza bases using eggs, cream, cheese and herbs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New recipes for the low carb eater, 13 May 2010
By 
Andrew Brown (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
I have been eating a low carb diet for some time and was beginning to find my menu options a bit repetitive. I purchased the Low Carb Gourmet cookbook and was surprised to find a significant number of new ideas which have really enlivened my options.

Some of the best are Nut Butter frosted brownies, they taste pretty realistic and are under 3g of carbs per portion ! There is also a recipe for Cauliflower mash which is good with sausages or can also be used to make Shepherds Pie. Interestingly there is Cauliflower Rice which is very good with Chinese type food.

Overall I believe this is a very good and useful book to bring some variation and new twists to a low carb diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I brought two!, 12 May 2010
By 
R. Monger "Rea" (West sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any low carber. The recipes are easy to follow and realistic, I managed to find most the ingredients from my local Tesco. Makes the low Carb diet easier to follow, never thought I would be having pancakes for breakfast again! The brownies, pancakes, waffles and sheperd pies are all superb, also great for cooking in bulk and the freezing in portions. I was so impressed I brought a copy for my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 23 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
I really can't rate this book high enough. So far I have tried 5 recipes and they all turned out fantastic....including cake! Yes, cake on a low carb diet! Woohooo! The recipes are easy to follow and most don't involve really expensive ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolls Royce of Low Carb Recipe Books!, 23 Feb 2008
By 
Dee (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
A fabulous book, and one that should be part of everyone's recipe book collection, whether following a low carb diet or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dieting success!, 22 July 2009
By 
J. Egan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low-Carb Gourmet (Paperback)
If it wasn't for the fantastic & delicious recipes in this book we would have given up the lo carbing after 1 week. The forward gives you hope so do read it, & the recipes make you realise how to use some foods for unexpected & tasty results. The puddings are saviours! Really would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Low-Carb Gourmet
The Low-Carb Gourmet by Karen Barnaby (Paperback - 4 Nov 2005)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews