Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource
This booked is packed with excellent activities. They are separated into four sections - 'conversation', 'functions', 'grammar' and 'vocabulary' - making it really easy to use. The activities are great to use in a planned lesson, or if you get caught out and need to fill a final 15 minutes, or if you have to do a last minute cover lesson. They are also easily adapted to...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Hasunohana

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for busy teachers
This book is a very handy resource to pack in the backpack or suitcase if you are new to EFL. Some old favourites and new ideas clearly presented. All activities are graded by level which is handy. Hardly any extra materials are required, most ideas simply require a whiteboard and pen and sometimes not even that! Useful book for EFL teenagers/younger adults or for summer...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by D. Sedgwick


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 30 May 2009
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
This booked is packed with excellent activities. They are separated into four sections - 'conversation', 'functions', 'grammar' and 'vocabulary' - making it really easy to use. The activities are great to use in a planned lesson, or if you get caught out and need to fill a final 15 minutes, or if you have to do a last minute cover lesson. They are also easily adapted to different learner levels and needs. An excellent resource book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing resource for busy EFL/ESL teachers, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
I just received the book. Wow. It's not too often I actually get excited to try out a book. I own several hundred EFL textbooks, reference books, grammar books, etc. - this is definitely going to be one of the most used. Whether you need a last minute filler, an intro activity or an activity to reinforce a current topic, this book has it. All the activities are geared to promote classroom discussion and interaction. The content is divided into four sections: Conversation, Functions, Grammar, Vocabulary - covering hundreds of topics.

So far, I have told every colleague I know about the book. I still don't know why there had not been more buzz about this book. It should be on every teacher's book shelf. Cudos to the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 Mar 2009
By 
S. Takkenberg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
I was introduced to this book by one of my co-workers. I've been using it (well, my boss' copy of it. I've just ordered my own copy as my contract runs out soon) this year with both my regular classes and my private classes. The activities are well thought out, easy to follow, and generally work well in a classroom setting.

It's easy enough to use. Simply look up, for example, the grammar point that you are teaching and there will be at least 4 activities for you to choose from. The difficulty level varies, but you can usually tweak the activities to work within your classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 700 Classroom Activites - super-useful for ESL teachers, 5 April 2010
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
Very handy book for ESL teachers - there are loads of activities in here, sorted by grammar point, conversation, functions and vocab. The good thing is that loads of the activities are actually useful and can be adapted for different class sizes. Every activity has a little box next to it to tell you what levels it's suitable for (though they can often be adapted to suit any level you need), and nothing involves a lot of resources or preparation that I've found so far. It's prefect for filling in 10 minutes of a lesson with activities that are still lesson-focused and help students or introducing a topic at the start of a lesson. If you're after a book with long activities and projects, or full-on lesson plans, this book won't be enough. But for new ideas to slot into a lesson, this book gets full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the student book is lacking!, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. S. A. Dix - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
700 Classroom Activities is an endless source of ideas when you just need some further inspiration. Most of the ideas I have used to date are simple to set up and fairly effective although you do have to pay attention to the level the idea is aimed at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy for emergencies, 8 Jan 2012
By 
C. Bowden (Prague) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
This book contains loads of easy-to-use little activities to supplement lessons. None of them need any physical materials or preparation so it's really handy if you're going to be teaching somewhere where you can't copy extra materials.

I often find that books of supplementary materials are like cookbooks - everything looks great but in the event you only ever use one or two of the materials. This has not been true of this books, I've used lots of the ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Door knob' planning for EFL teachers - a real lifesaver!, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
If you're a teacher, you'll know the feeling well. You're in the teachers' room at break time desperately scouring all the materials you can find looking for something for your class, which is just about to begin. If you recognise that sinking feeling within, then this really is the perfect book for you. This book has really helped me out countless times - either when you need something to get a class motivated or have that 'oh-so-tricky' 15 minutes at the end to fill.

The index at the back of the book helpfully lists activites according to themes students may wish to discuss eg family, hobbies etc but also by grammar point. Sometimes it can be difficult to find a game or activity which will be useful for testing the grammar point you have just taught eg conditional sentences but just one look at the back of the book and you are ready to go.

A couple of things which I think are particularly good about this book are:
- it's light enough to carry around with you so you can have a sneaky peek whenever you need to
- the activities are graded so that you know which level of EFL (English as a Foreign Language) students to use them with
- there are no lengthy introductions to the activities and no chopping up of paper so it really is one to read with seconds to spare

The reason I have given the book 4 rather than 5 stars is that most of the activities are for beginners - (upper) intermediate learners of English. I would have liked to have seen additional ones for advanced learners as this group pose just as many problems to teach as complete beginners in my opinion.

Please note this book is primarily aimed at EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teachers but perhaps Primary School teachers teaching grammar would also find it useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 700 classroom activities, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
Very good book, gives you plenty of ideas esp. when you are stuck for what to do for the next 15 mins. Happy with the purchase. I use it mainly for my ESOL class and do most of the speaking activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A invaluable book, 27 Oct 2005
By 
The alternative title for this book in our staff room is "The Magic Book", and it is treated with the awe that it accordingly deserves. Those found hoarding it on their shelves are swiftly and cruelly punished. If you only buy one EFL book, get this one. It has very quick ideas relating to lexical sets, grammar structures and verb tenses that all require little or no preparation, and, even better, no photocopying. Especially good for intermediate and higher, though easy to adapt to lower levels. I especially like that fact that much of the language used revolves around what people ACTUALLY say- certainly, though not exclusively, in modern British English anyway- rather than a text book approximation. I don't even own a copy of this book personally, but I'm amazed that no one has yet written a review. Though perhaps a lot of people haven't looked at it because it's not the same size/shape/format that other extremely useful EFL books are. Nevertheless, the EFL world must know of its greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 700 Classroom Activities, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 700 Classroom Activities (Paperback)
Buy this book, you will not regret it. This is a Swiss Army Knife for teachers. I never go near a language class with out it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

700 Classroom Activities
700 Classroom Activities by D. Seymour (Paperback - 7 April 2005)
20.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews