Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Transforming Information
I've been a student of health and nutrition for the past 25 years. Frankly I though I knew most of it. How wrong could I be.
Here, for the first time that I have found, is a unique collection of factual information based on the very best cutting edge understanding about our body and about life.
For the first time I really "got" what it would take to stay...
Published on 17 Mar 2006 by Rod Thomas

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is interesting and i own several books by dr. Kurzweil
The book is interesting and i own several books by Dr. Kurzweil but i'm not buying anyone of his further books no more. I suffer from a brain disease and when i wrote an e-mail to him trougth the adress that was in his website for him just to tell me if i should have hope to a cure in my lifetime cause i was only 24 he just ignored me. Now i'm a bit older and dont buy his...
Published 15 months ago by Elliptical Element


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Transforming Information, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
I've been a student of health and nutrition for the past 25 years. Frankly I though I knew most of it. How wrong could I be.
Here, for the first time that I have found, is a unique collection of factual information based on the very best cutting edge understanding about our body and about life.
For the first time I really "got" what it would take to stay healthy for as long as possible, throughout my life.
It made difficult reading - tough decisions are necessary. But frankly this book is so "in your face" that it is impossible to hide.
Either you take notice of what you need to do and transform your life, or you ignore it and are responsible, to a huge degree, for your own illnesses.
Do I recommend this book? Yes, but ONLY if you are prepared to take action in a major way to change how you eat, exercise, take nutritional supplements and deal with stress. If you are - this book will live out the title and take you on a fanatastic voyage. If you aren't prepared to change - don't spend your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live long enough to live forever, 10 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
It must be hard for a serious scientist working towards the goal of human immortality to be taken seriously, in the same way as I'm sure it is for those astronomers who spend inordinate amounts of time looking for signs of intelligence from the heavens. Immortality, like aliens, have been so done-to-death in fiction that it's hard for rational thinkers to treat it as being anything other than a fantasy or a myth. In a way, it's worse for immortality -- living forever has been a central part of so many legends (and has been portrayed in such a way) to cause most of us to consider it almost as though it's an impossible dream -- or worse, that it's somehow fundamentally forbidden by the universe.
And yet... why should it be forbidden? Is there really some fundamental magic or spirituality that causes people to age because it's the 'right' thing for humans to do? An increasing number of sane and serious scientists are beginning to think that perhaps effective immortality is not impossible after all.
To help swallow the idea that immortality is possible, it may be useful to realise that immortality doesn't have to be achieved all at once, and as long as there's enough time to figure it out, we will get there. Fortunately, the in-roads made as part of working towards immortality do exactly that -- give us more time!
It has been reported recently that human life expectancy has increased by about 3.5 years in the last 6 years. Some thinkers believe that it will be possible to increase human life expectancy by 1 year PER YEAR within perhaps a decade or two. If this becomes a reality, immortality has effectively happened and gives those working on it plenty of extra time to REALLY make it happen.
Look at longevity another way. If someone could guarantee you an extra year of healthy life to be tagged onto the end of your current 'allotted lifetime', how much would it be worth to you? Thousands? Tens of thousands?
In which case, how much extra time would reading this book have to add onto your life for it to be worth the few pounds it costs?
This book really could change your life... and as your life might turn out to last longer than you expected, that might be a more important thing than you can currently imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a Bible but a must read, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
I've been interested in the modern thinking on longevity for a long time. Occasionally I came across a sketchy magazine article mentioning supplements and calorie reduction, but never anything more comprehensive. Which is why I was very happy when I came across this book.

Given that the book was published in 2004 and this is an area which changes very quickly, it is amazing how complete the book is. Being a futurologist, Kurzweil did a great job of looking at cutting edge developments, to an extent that the book doesn't read dated at all.

Do not expect the authors to get every detail right and don't be discouraged if you spot a mistake. The value of this book is in opening up a whole new world, not in serving as a complete reference material.

A word of warning - the book is quite heavy on biology. I am a biologist by education and this book stretched my rusty knowledge to the limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, but a bit unrealistic with some pseudo science, 20 July 2012
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
Got this as I've always been interested in the technological impact on life spans, and the feeling that we are just around the corner from, if not immortality, seriously extended lifetimes.

The authors discuss various ways that you can improve your health to last long enough to take advantage of this.

The book is well organised, discussing various options around the causes of disease, and then devoting a chapter to each mode of improving your health, i.e., vitamins and minerals, sugars, etc.

Lots of the material is really eye opening. The info on the dangers of sugar has made me want to cut down my intake hugely (even though it's not too high at the moment anyway). There is a lot of detailed explanation about how various factors can make you more at risk of heart disease, discusses the role of genetics (but is very positive in stating that it just makes you predisposed to certain problems - if you know what they are, you can aggressively prevent them).

All very interesting, but it falls down on a couple of points for me.

Firstly, a lot of the plans are unrealistic. Some of the targets for eating, such as saturated fat are virtually impossible to hit, unless you are eating a really bland diet.
To illustrate my point completely, Ray Kurzweil has a chapter explaining his regime, and what he does each day - which includes taking around 250 vitamin/mineral pills! Lucky he doesn't have a full time job. After reading this chapter, I did think that if that's what living forever would be like, I'll maybe just give it a miss.

Secondly, while most of the material seems to have a sound scientific basis, some is clearly very weak on medical evidence. For example, there is a section about alkaline water - there is lots of info online to suggest this is pseudo scientific nonsense, and a complete waste of time.

In summary though, it's very interesting and informative. It states itself that you have to find the path that is right for you, and you just can't follow everything in this book. However, it gives such a good range of in depth advice, it's very worthwhile reading it, and trying to incorporate as much as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Past and Future, 16 Jun 2006
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
The author presents an interesting, futuristic vision of the medicine, its influence at our health, and ultimately, at our longevity. It is an interesting, easily understandable read with a lot of information from the fields of genomics, biotechnology and other sciences. The authors present optimistic views on fighting and conquering such modern plagues as cancer, heart diseases, etc. An interesting comparison to the 'Fantastic Voyage...' is the book 'Can We Live 150' by Tombak, with its similar focus on longevity. This one, however, relies on age old remedies adapted to modern times, rather than on the achievement of the sciences. As it usually is the case, the truth is probably buried somewhere in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live long enough to live forever, 10 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It must be hard for a serious scientist working towards the goal of human immortality to be taken seriously, in the same way as I'm sure it is for those astronomers who spend inordinate amounts of time looking for signs of intelligence from the heavens. Immortality, like aliens, have been so done-to-death in fiction that it's hard for rational thinkers to treat it as being anything other than a fantasy or a myth. In a way, it's worse for immortality -- living forever has been a central part of so many legends (and has been portrayed in such a way) to cause most of us to consider it almost as though it's an impossible dream -- or worse, that it's somehow fundamentally forbidden by the universe.
And yet... why should it be forbidden? Is there really some fundamental magic or spirituality that causes people to age because it's the 'right' thing for humans to do? An increasing number of sane and serious scientists are beginning to think that perhaps effective immortality is not impossible after all.
To help swallow the idea that immortality is possible, it may be useful to realise that immortality doesn't have to be achieved all at once, and as long as there's enough time to figure it out, we will get there. Fortunately, the in-roads made as part of working towards immortality do exactly that -- give us more time!
It has been reported recently that human life expectancy has increased by about 3.5 years in the last 6 years. Some thinkers believe that it will be possible to increase human life expectancy by 1 year PER YEAR within perhaps a decade or two. If this becomes a reality, immortality has effectively happened and gives those working on it plenty of extra time to REALLY make it happen.
Look at longevity another way. If someone could guarantee you an extra year of healthy life to be tagged onto the end of your current 'allotted lifetime', how much would it be worth to you? Thousands? Tens of thousands?
In which case, how much extra time would reading this book have to add onto your life for it to be worth the few pounds it costs?
This book really could change your life... and as your life might turn out to last longer than you expected, that might be a more important thing than you can currently imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book is interesting and i own several books by dr. Kurzweil, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever (Hardcover)
The book is interesting and i own several books by Dr. Kurzweil but i'm not buying anyone of his further books no more. I suffer from a brain disease and when i wrote an e-mail to him trougth the adress that was in his website for him just to tell me if i should have hope to a cure in my lifetime cause i was only 24 he just ignored me. Now i'm a bit older and dont buy his books anymore. My disease is schizophrenia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever
Fantastic Voyage: Live Long Enough to Live Forever by Terry Grossman (Hardcover - 20 May 2005)
Used & New from: 0.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews