Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2008
This book is jam packed with easy to ready information explaining essential ELT terminology. It is presented in a very clear and readable A-Z format and is divided into sections such as grammar, vocabulary and discourse.

Whilst some of the terminology is pretty simple and obvious to experienced teachers, it does still include essential information for DELTA trainee teachers or indeed any other teacher who is generally interested in teaching English as a foreign language.

Scott Thornbury is definetly one of the better ELT authors out there! This is highly recommended!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
This book is like a dictionary for any trainee on an EFL programme. Some definitions are very 'Thornbury-esque' and other EFL 'gods' have slightly different terms but it's easy to locate all the jargon with clear explanations. It assisted me in every assignment I did during my Delta and I recommend it as a must-have for any EFL teacher/trainee.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
I am currently studying for my DELTA exam and this is essential reading. I find Thornbury`s definitions easy to read and, crucially, easy to understand. If you`re studying for the exam then buy this book as well as Thornbury`s About Language.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
It is an absolutelyvaluable book for teachers of English. The definitions are short, clear-cut. Having read through the items I am most interested in, I am more conscious of the work I do, that is teaching the English language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
I suggest this book especially for the ones who prepare for the DELTA module 1 exam. You can find all the terms related to English Language Teaching with clear explanations and definitions. It's like an abriged version of "dictionary of EFL / ESL". Scott Thornbury makes difference in our lives as usual...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Set out as a dictionary, it gives fuller detail on the most relevant terminology in the field currently.
It covers basic terms that new TEFL teachers will know as well as covering more academic issues relating to Second Language Learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
the book is very good and useful and words are clear. The price is not too expensive. I think I will introduce to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
If you're an EFL teacher who is serious about their craft, or is doing the Diploma, then this is seriously useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Very good text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)