Customer Reviews


417 Reviews
5 star:
 (261)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
I picked up this book because I enjoyed the Clint Eastwood film based on it. If you know the film, be prepared for many changes - for the better. The film is excellent, but the book is soooo much better. I agree with many other reviewers - it's hard to put the darn thing down. Highly recommended.
Published on 3 Aug. 2004

versus
47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power corrupts absolutely
Here we have a book where the President of the United States is the bad guy.....and the criminal is the man of honor. This book is a thriller with political intrigue and takes place mostly around the Metro D.C. area.

The book starts with an aging burglar, Luther, breaking into a billionaire's well protected mansion. He is suprised, but not caught by none other...
Published on 7 Oct. 2007 by M. A. Ramos


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Absolute power corrupts absolutely, 7 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Hardcover)
Here we have a book where the President of the United States is the bad guy.....and the criminal is the man of honor. This book is a thriller with political intrigue and takes place mostly around the Metro D.C. area.

The book starts with an aging burglar, Luther, breaking into a billionaire's well protected mansion. He is suprised, but not caught by none other than the President of the good ol'USA. Who happens to be with the billionaire's young wife. Luther who is hidden in a safe with a two-way mirror, watches as the President starts to beat on the young woman. The woman in an act of self preservation, grabs a letter opener and stabs the President. The ensuing struggle and yell from the President, brings the very effective Secret Service Agents into the room. Where they shoot and kill her.

The scheming Chief of Staff hatches a quick course of action to start a cover up. But no one is aware of Luther who has watched the whole horrid affair. The story begins to pick up speed when Luther decides he has do what is right and set things straight.

You can tell this is Mr. Baldacci's first book. But worth the read. I read Total Control first, and find that book of a much higher quality. I think he will only improve with each book he writes. There were parts in this book where I just had to read one more section before I put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 3 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
I picked up this book because I enjoyed the Clint Eastwood film based on it. If you know the film, be prepared for many changes - for the better. The film is excellent, but the book is soooo much better. I agree with many other reviewers - it's hard to put the darn thing down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Power, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
S. Williams (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
Bought this book from a charity shop (sorry Amazon) last week and I couldn't put it down. I hadn't realised it was his first book. If this is the quality of his first, I can't wait to get started on his others. Some people have said that it stretched credibility a bit, which is probably true, but then that's partly why we read fiction. We're often happy to accept something a little OTT if it's done well and is exciting, and this book certainly is. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci Surprise me, 8 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
Having read The Last Man Standing and finding it to be a reasonably enjoyable read I stared this book with lowish expectations. Soon into the book I realised that I had seen the film of the book and my expeectations fell even further. However I wasdelightfully surprised at how good this book was. I thouroughly enjoyed it , found it accomplised , well paced and far better than the film. Absolute Power - Absolutely worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 16 Oct. 2002
By 
Azune (Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
I was initially drawn into reading this book because I recently read the superb Last Man Standing by the same author, having read this one I can see it was not simply a one off. This book was unusual in the respect that there was not one main character but several who were all crucial, as you enter the last third you wonder how it can all be resolved and that it what makes it so exciting, I read it in only a few days and found it stunning. His style is compulsive and his characters eminently believable, just in case someone is reading this who liked the movie...it is totally different after about two hundred pages so its all new!
I look forward to reading the rest of Mr Baldacci's books as there are few authors aside from Ludlum that I am hooked by as easily as him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Christine Taylor "Chris Taylor" (Werrington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
Having only read one Baldacci book before (FIRST FAMILY)I had to read another and wasn't disappointed. The book was gripping throughout with a great cast of characters.It contained plenty of twists and turns leaving you wondering where it was going next,building into a riveting climax.This is a must read for anyone who likes Thrillers and Suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Suspense and Suspension of Disbelief, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
David Baldacci's first novel is a strong opener, enough like John Grisham's work to satisfy Grisham fans but more unique than a simple knock-off. Luther Whitney is a crime story cliché: the career burglar who steals things "only from those who can afford to lose them." He avoids violence toward himself and others. As Luther burgles a Virginia mansion, he demonstrates an expected facility with electronic surveillance systems, locks and assorted tools and techniques of his trade. But it all goes wrong.

Fleeing from unexpected visitors, Luther hides in a room-sized vault with a one-way mirror view of the master bedroom. There he watches Christie Sullivan begin an adulterous affair with the philandering President of the United States, Alan Richmond. Their night goes badly, too. Rough sex turns to anger, then violence. He hits her; she slaps him, he beats and tries to strangle her. When Christie defends herself with a letter opener, Richmond screams. His Secret Service detail rushes in and shoot her dead. Now everyone's evening is ruined.

The rest of the story plays out as the President, his Chief of Staff Gloria Russell, and his two trusted Secret Service agents, Bill Burton and Tim Collin, try to cover up their involvement. Luther escapes immediate detection, but his burglary provides a convenient trail for the investigation. Along the way we meet a well-developed cast of characters. Luther's daughter Kate has been estranged from him for years, but returns to his life in the middle of its current crisis. Jack Graham, who Kate once intended to marry, turns from his lucrative law practices and ludicrous, high maintenance fiancé to help his lost love and her father. Seth Frank is a hard-driven Virginia homicide detective who drill's for the truth through layers of loyalty and deception. And Walter Sullivan, Christie's aging, billionaire husband, brings his resources into play in the hunt for his wife's murderer.

The story is worth your time. There are a few surprises along the way and a few telegraphed events that the reader can see coming. And there are a few details that require some suspension of disbelief. Chief among them is how much mischief the four White House characters can cause without anyone around them noticing. Don't be distracted from your enjoyment by this--just watch the play without pointing out that some of the props don't look real. They are real enough for the characters, and it's the interplay between the characters that make the story good.

The book is highly recommended. If you have enjoyed the movie version of Absolute Power starring Clint Eastwood, you will still enjoy the book. There are enough differences to keep you surprised and entertained. Luther Whitney comes across a bit...flat in the book, but the other characters make up for it. I have a renewed appreciation of how much additional depth Eastwood brought to the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and Interesting, 2 Sept. 2001
By 
celaurie (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
This type of fiction is not normally my forte, however, when I was adviced I should read this book, I was enthralled by the end of the first chapter. The characters are richly detailed, individual motivations and plots intertwining to create a complex tapestry suitable for a story about the murder of a wealthy socialite by a decadent President, and the methods used to both reveal and conceal this crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Thriller, 22 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ABSOLUTE POWER. (Paperback)
David Baldacci attended law school at the University of Virginia, and went on to work as a trial lawyer, and later as a corporate lawyer, in Washington, D.C. He is now a full-time writer whose best selling novels include Absolute Power, Total Control, The Winner, The Simple Truth and Saving Faith. He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

This is one of David Baldacci's earlier books, written in 1996. Probably one of the books that has made him such a popular author of thriller reader's everywhere. His writing style has changed very little since then and the plots of his early novels are just as interesting as his later work.

A professional burglar unwittingly witnesses a a vicious murder, involving none other than the President of the United States. Luther Whitney's experience leads to him being pursued by Secret Service agents. A young woman has been sexually assaulted and then shot dead. Luther would give anything not to have been there, but he was and now he is going to be hunted like an animal . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner from the Author, 29 Sept. 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolute Power (Paperback)
David Baldacci attended law school at the University of Virginia, and went on to work as a trial lawyer, and later as a corporate lawyer, in Washington, D.C. He is now a full-time writer whose best selling novels include Absolute Power, Total Control, The Winner, The Simple Truth and Saving Faith. He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

This is one of David Baldacci's earlier books, written in 1996. Probably one of the books that has made him such a popular author of thriller reader's everywhere. His writing style has changed very little since then and the plots of his early novels are just as interesting as his later work.

A professional burglar unwittingly witnesses a a vicious murder, involving none other than the President of the United States. Luther Whitney's experience leads to him being pursued by Secret Service agents. A young woman has been sexually assaulted and then shot dead. Luther would give anything not to have been there, but he was and now he is going to be hunted like an animal . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Power
Absolute Power by David Baldacci (Audio CD - 15 July 2005)
Used & New from: £10.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews