Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magically illustrated gem, 19 Oct 2007
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
My eight year old son read this book from start to finish in a couple of days. He was utterly gripped by it, and took it to school during book week as his favourite book. It's a beautifully produced book with wonderful, detailed illustrations that can be poured over. I am now reading it to my 6 year old daughter who is similarly captivated and is enjoying studying the pictures at great length. The story itself surrounds an unusual and resourceful young girl called Ottoline, who, together with her odd little hairy companion (Mr Munroe), becomes involved in a mystery concerning some characterful lap-dogs and the titular yellow cat. I can't wait for the next book. In short, a gem for adults and children alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful (as are the other two in the series) - ..., 5 July 2014
By 
T. Reid (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
Absolutely wonderful (as are the other two in the series) - very engaging stories with a lot of detail in the drawings to talk through, really enjoying reading these with my 6 year old.

But we don't know if it's Ottoline (rhyming with "line") or Ottoline (rhyming with "clean") - I've gone with the latter so far...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, 5 May 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Leavesley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
The Ottoline series by Chris Riddell is wonderful. Just the right mixture of text and illustration for an emerging reader to be able to lose themselves in. My oldest two children love these books. Ottoline herself is a fantastic character. She is brave, intelligent, kind, resourceful and charming. Mr Monroe is also very funny. I love that Ottoline can take care of herself and solve her own problems. The illustrations are beautiful and incredibly detailed - there is so much to look at. The hardback edition of the book is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
This was one of two of these books that was bought at my 9 year old daughters request, again she loved the book and read it more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kaya Burton, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
I love this book the pictures are great and its easy to read no hard words. I would definitely get the other Ottoline books or other books by Chris Riddell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
Ottoline and Mr Munroe are great characters brought to life by Chris Riddell's beautiful illustrations. The plot is fun and quirky with lots of little extras to spot throughout the story. Perfect as a read-together or for a confident reader aged 7 onwards - though I also greatly enjoyed it. I've bought the other two Ottoline books and can't wait to get started on these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly amazing, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
The Ottoline books are extraordinary. This purchase was a present, but my daughter has all three Ottoline books, we bought her first one when she was 5, two years later she is still in love with then. They are quirky, endearing and beautifully illustrated. The fact that they are hard back, and have interesting objects in each of them make them feel very special. No childhood should be without Ottoline. My daughter believes our dog is Mr Monroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
The Ottoline series of books is excellent. Very imaginative stuff and loved both busy us and our little girl.can't record them enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
Pitched somewhere between a graphic novel and a kids' picture book, this clever, funny and engaging book also has great illustrations by the ever-impressive Mr Riddell. In short, if you have kids, buy them this book... simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book for 1st free reader, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Hardcover)
This book is outstanding for both boys and girls. Whilst this book is brilliant for 7-8 yr olds to encourage them to read themselves, it will be enjoyed by parents and children of all ages. It's funny and incredibly stimulating, with a great mix of prose and annotated illustrations. My daughter is in YR3 and this is her first free reader. She is loving the book and so am I. This book is also my nephew's favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ottoline and the Yellow Cat
Ottoline and the Yellow Cat by Chris Riddell (Hardcover - 3 Dec 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews