Customer Reviews


495 Reviews
5 star:
 (432)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous tale of a snail and a whale
Although my daughter is only 11 months old she just loves having this gorgeous story read to her and can spend ages turning the pages of her board book version.

For me, it is an absolute delight to read and look at, and difficult to decide which is more enchanting - the words or the illustrations.

Her other favourite is the Gruffalo and she has...
Published on 7 April 2007 by Gael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow
Not my favourite book,its quite long and a little bit boring.
It is not as involving as other Julia Donaldson books.
Published 3 months ago by lolapops


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhyme and pictures, 22 May 2006
The rhyme is excellent - a blend of humour and colour.

The pictures are just how you'd imagine the story if you didn't have pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super and ageless, 18 Jan. 2005
My children (4 and 7) absolutely love this book. They both relate to the ideas of wanting to explore the world further and being too small. Smashing to read on a day when a little one has been helpful, so they can relate to the story. Lovely lovely book and a lasting reference for them from when they were very tiny to a grown up seven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another "gospel" from the parents saviour, 6 Oct. 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
What an entertaining & enjoyable childrens book this is. The snail hitches a lift around the world on the tail of the whale & then returns the favour in spades...
Julia Donaldson hits the jackpot (yet) again in a superb rhyming story , which highlights the beauty of the world we live in, with smashing illustrations that are both humorous & captivating, in support of her wonderful writing.
Another bed time classic (& surely it must be a classic for younger kiddies ?) & one of her most beautiful stories.
Clever, humorous & informative - just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful words, illustrations and story, 17 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite Donaldson/Scheffler book as it is just such a beautiful story. My 3 year old and I are big fans of their wonderful rhyming tales that are so beautifully illustrated.

The tale of the tiny snail with a sense of adventure and his giant friend will introduce your child to the wonders of the world and the contradictions of man's ability to cause disasters but his willingness to help his fellow creatures. The unlikely friendship of the animals and the snail's role as his friend's saviour shows how we shouldn't judge by appearances

Although the messages are quite deep they are told so beautifully and simply that your young one will absorb them without even realising it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aesop eat your heart out, 6 Oct. 2006
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Donaldson has taken the theme of the fable of the lion with the thorn in his paw, saved by the feeble mouse and has reworked it with the tale of the snail and the whale. As with the original Aesop story it gives small people a sense of hope about the potential to influence their environment in significant ways. Unlike Aesop it does this through magical poetry that neither I nor my 3 year-old tire of, alongside beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for over 5s, 19 May 2006
Julia Donaldson is one of the most popular and successful childrens authors at the moment and pretty much most parents have copies I think of The Smarties gold award winning The Gruffalo. Axel Scheffler is a competently trained artist and the two have had numerous pairings with her other books.

Her other books, Gruffalo's Child, Squash & a Squeeze, Charlie Cook, Giant, Room on a Broom, Monkey, Paintbrush & Sharing a Shell also get a lot of attention.

I'm not personally keen on things which seem to be over hyped, and don't particularly like the Gruffalo (awarded Pre-School award by The Book Trust) have to say, but I do like this book (Blue Peter Book Award: Best Illustrated Book to Read Aloud 2005)

It's unfortunately too old for my three year old - perhaps some parents could read it to this age group but really it's most suitable for the 5-8 age range having smallish writing etc. The pictures are very nice and the story/themes good, supporting "understanding of the world" etc. My child prefers "Sharing a Shell" and the funny "Room on a Broom" at her stage.

It is most likely a modern classic along with Donaldson's other titles.

Other good picture books for this age range are by Giles Andreae, Dahl, Lynley Dodd, Judith Kerr, Martin Waddell, Max Velthuijs, Debi Gliori & Emma Chichester-Clark etc and you can also search by age through the Book Trust recommendations list online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely lovely book..., 22 Jun. 2006
By 
Scary Sue (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a truly lovely book that my son and I now know off by heart. There are very few books that I enjoy reading for the 437th time, but this is one of them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any childs collection., 20 Sept. 2008
By 
I. Price (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My 8 year old daughter has had this book for many years along with Room on the Broom, Monkey Puzzle, Gruffalo etc. and I have to say that all of the books are brilliant (even a cynical 41 year old like me enjoys reading them repeatedly....to her of course). They are all cleverly written (in a rhyming style) and beautifully illustrated (with some repeat themes / characters popping up in various books - look out for them). I would strongly recommend buying this or Room on the Broom as an introduction to the world of Donaldson / Scheffler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written, 18 Dec. 2006
By 
C. Tighe (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Out all Julia Donaldsons book this is my "just turned" 6 year old joint favourite (along with the gruffalo). He loves this book and know it off by heart.

Again very well written with fantastic illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 16 July 2006
By 
C. A. Yemm - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A truely wonderful book the the whole family enjoys and loves. One of our favorites!!

superb!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snail and the Whale
The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson (Audio CD - 3 Sept. 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews