Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing story-telling, 23 May 2003
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Hardcover)
This is the final book in the trilogy begun by Kushiel's Dart and Kushiel's chosen, set in a Europe which is recognisably that of the middle ages but which is based on divergent history, religion and politics. It reintroduces familiar characters and brings in new ones, developes religious themes more than the largely political ones of the previous books, and revolves around further perilous travels (to the Middle East and Africa) for the central couple of Phedre and Joscelin.
Kushiel's Avatar is well written and absorbing story telling: a fitting end to a sweeping saga. It doesn't quite transcend the boundaries of its genre, but I'm certainly going to be on the look out for future works by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect finale, 16 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Paperback)
Very, very few authors manage to finish a jaw-dropping trilogy well - but Carey is one of the few who can. Every single possible question posed by the previous books is answered in Carey's charateristic exquisite prose, that take everyone's favourite heroine Phedre on a historic new journey from her world's brightest light to the shadowed dark.

Ten years ago, Melisande's attempt on the Queen's life failed, imrisoning her in the temple of Asherat-on-the-sea and hiding her son, Imriel, from the world. In that time, Phedre has been searching for the Name of God to free her friend, Hyacinthe, who yet stands as the Master of the Straits - without finding it.

Now, though, Melisande sends for Phedre; her son is missing from where he has lived this past decade. And she offers Phedre a choice - her son for the Name of God she so desires.

We all know what happens next, of course - in this trilogy we've all learned our favourite character. She accepts - throwing her into her darkest journey yet, where she will have to face both her own gods and herself.

There is no way this could have been better, in any respect. I loved the first two, Kushiel's Dart and Chosen, and I love Avatar as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 May 2012
By 
R. M. Wilson (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author was new to me, and I was gripped from the very beginning. The content was more sexual than I expected, but I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kushiel's Chosen and her Cassiline triumph again, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Paperback)
Jacqueline Carey brings the story of Phedre, Joscelin and Hyacinthe to a stunning and exciting close in this wonderful tale of adventure spanning the area reaching from Alba (you might say, the UK, looking at the map) to Saba, where the Lost Tribe of Dan dwell.

Along the way, they seek Melisande Shahrizai's lost son, Imriel, the subject of the next trilogy, Treason's Heir.

It's hard not to give too much away and spoil your enjoyment, but in truth there are so many twists and turns to this tale, in true Carey style, that even though it's obvious that everything will end well, knowing that they will takes nothing from the "can't put it down" quality of this book.

Recommended - but read the first 2 books first (Kushiel's Dart and Kushiel's Chosen) for the best experience.

Like all good writers, it leaves you wanting more. Which is fine, because it's out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great end to a fantastic trilogy, 24 July 2003
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Hardcover)
This was such an origional trilogy. and before I rant on about the end of it, let me tell you about these books from the start.
Kushiels Dart, is the first. and although we have a sum what slow and confusing first chapter. It soon picks up. It explores a courtasan/medieval like World where Political thinking and intrique are at the heart. The sexual references are integral to the book. Where most Authors put it in because they want to make it 'Adult' I feel this book writes about Love in a way most teenagers above sixteen could understand.
What drew me to these books was the political and very often fantatsicly intricate plot lines. You never know whats coming and the fantasy asspect of this novel will appeal to many readers. Yet non fanatsy readesr will also enjoy this trilogy, as it is a coming of age story as well. It describes the life of Phedre (the mian charcter) intimatly. The first person narrative is beautifully written.
The end is just that. An end. Most trilogys end badly or on cliff hangers. I was pelased with this. As it eneded without kiling off all the loose plot lines,left scope for more and yet could still be called a definative ending to this very well written trology.
But I must admit, my favourite of the three was the middle Kushiels Chosen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairwell my lovely, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Anthony Quinn (Strafford, VT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tis sad that it had to end but alas all good things have to. A fine end to a wonderful trillogy. I would be lucky to find another tail so luscious yet classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Outstanding and Perfection!!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am just shocked and in awe of Carey's writing, she takes you on unending adventures with riveting characters that make you fall in love and in 'hate' with them from the instant they are on the page. Emotion and plot twists abound in the last book of this trilogy. The final journey and adventure for Phedre' and Joscelin will have you reading late into the night. A perfect wrap up of the Kushiel's Legacy series, looking forward to reading Carey's Kushiels's Scion trilogy next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got great delivery on this book.. I enjoy this series, have some on kindle and some in paper depending on when I read them - prefer the paper copy, but kindle good for holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply epic!, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Paperback)
I adore Jacqueline Carey's writing. I personally think she is more suited for me than George R. Martin. She is definitely more personal while her world-building is still just as vast as Martin's.

Kushiel's Avatar starts 10 years after the end of Kushiel's Chosen. Melisande Shahrizai is vanquished and hiding away at Asherat's sanctuary while Phedre and Joscelin enjoy their quiet living in their country estate. But all good things come to an end when they receive a letter from Melisande asking for their help in finding her missing son in exchange for information Phedre has been desperately seeking all this time.

Phedre is obsessed with releasing Hyacinthe from his servitude to an ancient fallen angel as Master of Straits. In book #1 Hyacinthe took her place and sacrificed himself so Phedre would save Terre D'Ange, and since then she hasn't stopped looking in the ancient texts for a solution to breaking the curse.

Now, when Melisande dangles a carrot like this in front of her, Phedre will have to do everything in her power to find missing Imriel. She goes searching for him, and her journey takes her to forgotten dark places. Through her hardships Phedre comes to realise that she is led by higher forces not only to find Imriel but to vanquish dark forces rising in the East from the ruins of an ancient civilisation.

The part when Phedre is immersing herself and Joscelin, poor Joscelin, in that dark kingdom is truly horrifying. It's literally a kingdom of death, rot and decay, it's ruler is a mad evil sadist, there is so much desperation, depression and pain it's emotionally hard to read. You feel hot and cold, your stomach is in knots.... In comparison, Phedre's further quest for The Name of God feels almost anticlimactic.

However, this doesn't take anything away from the EPIC awesomeness of this series. Phedre's journey has been amazing, and I can't wait to start the next trilogy which is about Imriel. Jacqueline Carey provided unique outlook on BDSM, making Phedre an ultimate submissive before such topic even became widely spread and popular, but most of all there is an incredible amount of love and wisdom here even if the journey itself is not for the fainthearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great end to the trilogy!, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Kushiel's Avatar (Paperback)
I have throughly enjoyed reading the three books in this series. Kushiel's Avatar finishes this part of the story perfectly and is full of twists and turns along the way... definately worth a read :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kushiel's Avatar
Kushiel's Avatar by Jacqueline Carey (Paperback - 17 Sep 2004)
Used & New from: £0.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews