Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars83
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2015
The third instalment keeps the reader as rapt as the first 2, brilliantly written triumvirate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
This book is the first in the Alexander series of novels by Valerio Massimo Manfredi. It is a terrifically detailed and inspiring account of the early life of Alexander the Great and is a hugely enjoyable read. It describes Alexander's boyhood years and the events and tutoring that turned him into probably the greatest leader thet ever lived.

Despite this, the early part of this book does feel a bit rushed with the author rapidly jumping through periods in Alexander's life and in the closing chapters, the book tails of slightly as the writer tries to set up the following book. Nevertheless the majority of the book is absolutely fascinating and tremendously well researched by the author.

A thoroughly good book on the whole and I have already ordered the sequel, which i await with great anticipation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Not as good as I had hoped, maybe next time (if there is a next time) maybe better I hope
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
a top notch middle part of a triolgy, keeps you wanting more from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2006
Valerio Massimo Manfredi guides us back to Ancient Greece and what a wonderful journey! His dramatisation of Alexander's story grips you from the first page and then you're addicted. The first of a trilogy telling Alexander the Great's life story; it begins in the days leading up to his birth and follows him through his childhood and adolescence. At the same time, we learn much about his father, King Philip of Macedon, his exploits and their relationship as father and son. The book ends as he leads his army, now as King Alexander, into Asia to begin his conquests that built the Greek Empire. It's splendid, brutal and stirring stuff and I just can't wait to get my hands on Alexander: The Sands of Ammon, the second in the triology!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Great read,..read all in this series..will read again as thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2006
I had been reading books by Christian Jacq for a long time and remembered a book by an author with a funky name. I went back to look and in the other works bit I found the Alexander series. I bought this book and I could not set it down.

The characters become real to you and the plot is both interesting and believable. After reading this you will have to buy the next and the next. This is a fantastic author and you will love everything he does.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Book 1 of the fantastic trilogy retelling the story of Alexander the Great. The books are clearly based on fantastic levels of research, but making this a series of novels rather than a true biography gives Manfredi some poetic license which he uses well to produce a ripping yarn that still feels historically accurate.

A great introduction to the historical phenomenon that was Alexander the Great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
his best books i think are the Alexander trilogy. i love them and i got lost in them for hours! if you start with child of a dream then you will be hooked until ends of the earth! it cannot be helped! at all! seriously buy it and you will find another world to escape to for a long time! couldnt put it down! BUY IT!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have not finished reading it yet. So far very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.