Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rhythm and rhyme teamed with luscious illustrations
A simple but effective tale of sharing with great rhythm and rhyme. There's a hermit crab, a bristle worm and an anenome that all share a shell which they then outgrow and there's a stormy patch before they share again in a beautiful new shell.
The illustrations are soft yet bright and enriched by feely glittery patches - they're prettier than the Axel Scheffer ones...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by ELH Browning

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy another Julia book
As a Julia donaldson fan (I love reading all her books) I was really disappointed in this book. It is the only book my son has that I have not read more than once. Would recommend buying one of her other books our favourites being the gruffalo, what the ladybird heard, chocolate mousse for a greedy goose, a squash and a squeeze, wake up do Lydia Lou, the smartest giant in...
Published 5 months ago by sarah


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rhythm and rhyme teamed with luscious illustrations, 1 Mar 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Hardcover)
A simple but effective tale of sharing with great rhythm and rhyme. There's a hermit crab, a bristle worm and an anenome that all share a shell which they then outgrow and there's a stormy patch before they share again in a beautiful new shell.
The illustrations are soft yet bright and enriched by feely glittery patches - they're prettier than the Axel Scheffer ones of the Gruffalo etc. Also, my children love to spot the next addition to the trio and the new shell etc. tiny in the pages ahead before the text reaches them.
This book has the usual Julia Donaldson flair, and the added bonus of being attractive to younger children than some of her other titles - its suitable from 18 months I'd say and my son loved to join in as soon as he could talk.
A pleasure to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to share over and over again., 15 July 2006
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
This is my two year old's favourite book - and he LOVES books. I actually look forward to reading with him every night, he joins in now and finishes off the lines. Julia Donaldson's rhyming narrative is fun, clever and flows beautifuuly, making it a joy to read. Lydia Monks' illlustrations are bright and beautiful with the added the bonus of glitter!!! We go on an exciting adventure with Crab, Blob and Brush every bedtime AND learn that sharing is best at the same time. Roll on 'Sharing a Shell 2: The Blob is Back!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whelkome home, 20 May 2007
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Board book)
Very sparkly, glittering illustrations illuminate an essentially moral story of what can happen if you take things for granted and are not prepared to share. The sea-side theme acts as a back-drop for some interesting and unusual 'characters' and are colourful in many senses. I particularly liked the sea-gulls in headscarves during a storm scene and the strangely rectangular dog tucked away in the background.

Good to read and fun to look at with some subtle plays on words which the adult reader will probably appreciate more than its intended audience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy to Read out Loud for all who are Young at Heart, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
This is simply a joy to read for anyone young at heart, whether they are a toddler or a pensioner. It is a wonderful story and with beautiful illustrations, of a little crab and his friends, which is completely captivating and engaging. There is an Octopus sitting on the horizon line of the sea on the first picture that my daughter still laughs at after listening to the story too many times to count... and is still in love with ryhmes and rythmns of the language... she knows all the words... and all of the illustrations... and I love the book even more than I did when I read it first! A highly recommended read for anyone who wants to discover the joy of reading out loud to a fully engaged young person(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Children's Book, 22 Dec 2009
By 
S. Chind - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 3 year old daughter, who loves it. The story is fun, the pictures are very colorful and the glitter on the pages add a lovely touch. Great acquisition would highly recommend for bed time reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book., 17 May 2009
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
This book was bought for my 2 year old son, we have the CD to go with it narrated by Julian Clary, very comical. However, we tend to read it ourselves more than listen to the CD. My son loves the colourful sparkly pictures, his attention is really captured by them. A good story about sharing and helping each other. Would reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharing a shell, 3 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
This was bought for my 2 year old grandson, he loves it !!!, and as a gentle lesson in sharing and caring it is a wonderful book, very gently phrased, and the pictures are wonderfully colourful and gripping, it is now one of his favourite 'bedtime stories' will certainly buy books by this author again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 13 Nov 2009
By 
L. Downs (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
Lovely bright and colourful book about friendship and sharing. I enjoy reading it as much as my son enjoys hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 12 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, full of wonderful illustratons and Julia Donanldson's fantastic rhymes. The bright colours and use of glitter throughout the book capture your childs attention and the story is wonderful and jolly throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic reading, 23 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing a Shell (Paperback)
What a great book!! About 3 sea creatures who have to learn to get on; about a falling out and making up. This is a firm favourite with my 6 year old, who adores the rhyming verses and beautifully illustrated pictures (with glitter!!) I bought this when he was 4 and it is still a firm bedtime favourite. I have virtually all Julia Donaldson's books and they are all fantastic but this one sticks out as a firm favourite. A great present and you'll enjoy reading it to your child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharing a Shell
Sharing a Shell by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 6 May 2005)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews