Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very helpful book
This book covers everything from Language issues, language and society and language change right through to stylistics. There are details of the board specifications for coursework and original writing and even mention of case study techniques. Written in a logical and organised manner this book is integral to A and A/S level success, and should be compulsory along with...
Published on 15 Feb 2001

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worthy dull and a little flawed
Yes it's very thorough but it tends to leave out the significance of context leading to assumptions about language that can't be sustained. Its sections on genre, for example, pretend that stylistically genre is always the same. Encyclopedic but the publisher could have worked a little harder on making it attractive too. Compare it to Crystal's encyclopedias and then...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by N. E. Duncan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very helpful book, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This book covers everything from Language issues, language and society and language change right through to stylistics. There are details of the board specifications for coursework and original writing and even mention of case study techniques. Written in a logical and organised manner this book is integral to A and A/S level success, and should be compulsory along with Crystal's Encyclopaedias. Whether revising or covering the topic for the first time, I suggest that you look into this book, and make your own decisions from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all A'level English Language students, 10 May 2000
By A Customer
I found this book really helpful during my A'level English Language course. It provided all the necessary requirements for my exam. I would highly recommend it for any A'level English Language student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Level Essential, 25 May 2007
This book was recommended by the exam board for my English Language A Level and proved to be a big help. I've even been able to refer to it during the first year of my degree. A helpful, easy to understand book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic all encompassing book of English, 26 May 2009
By 
A. Swan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was greatly suprised by the coverage of this book. First off, the chapters on language and word classes are in depth and comprehensive. Some areas are left a little ambiguous and not all areas have good enough examples; some forms of verbs I am yet to grasp because of the lack of depth.
Later chapters then look at the way language is used in a variety of mediums from poetry and literature to politics and journalism. If you are writing a paper on the stylistics of a contemporary format then this is indispensible.
It works very well for me as I will be using it to structure some taught classes following some of the ideas in this text; especially the Journalism chaper which has an indepth coverage of the format.
I would recomend this book to both language and literature learners and would encourage really reading and learning from the book rather than looking for quick answers as so much can be taken from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 28 April 2009
Sara Thorne's book covers everything around language issues, that an A-level English Language student (and much that an undergraduate) could conceivably need to know. Detailed specifications for AQA, OCR and Edexcel mean that it's suitable for all exam boards. If you are studying AS or A2 English Language then this is a must have book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book Of Power, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) (Paperback)
They say that knowledge is power, and that true power comes from confidence and control of the dangerous and the complex.
With this book, power is easily acheived. It is clear, concise and provides wonderful way to discover and memorize the true joys of the English language. A must read for all English Lingustics & Language Students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any English studier., 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) (Paperback)
My lecturer advised this book for mature students as it covers English at a high academic level without being mind boggling--although it is soft with its approach the content is high quality and not to be thought of as lesser in anyway. The book can be used for both high end and low end English. It covers a variety of usage and uses different techniques to get the point across for the different tastes, needs and level of the reader.

I can honestly see this book being used by a person in their first year of a degree or even A-level.

I will use it not only for reference purposes but general study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A levels - a must, 6 Jan 2010
By 
M. Sear (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) (Paperback)
Cant review it myself. This is used by my daugher for her A levels English. She says it is great - so I'll give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for general use. Found it very useful., 17 Feb 2009
This review is from: Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) (Paperback)
Been using this book to help me with my A2 Language course, and the book is quite good. Some bits may not be that useful or relevant for college use depending on your course, but all-in-all, I have no complaints about the product and feel happy about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) (Paperback)
The book is in excellent condition and it is a great resource for a level English and I am very satisfied with this item. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series)
Mastering Advanced English Language (Palgrave Master Series) by Sara Thorne (Paperback - 21 Mar 2008)
18.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews