Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars covers a fundemental area for social workers. A must have!
The subject is by no means new, yet I found the book a perfect start for understanding the principles around the contruction of values and the dangers of having oppressive values. Banks' writing style is fluid and the language used means that the information is accessable. The Use of examples will help any student (or practising) Social Worker to focus on their own value...
Published on 22 Nov 2001 by Nick Raymond

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest read to get into
There is some useful information in this book, but it is not the easiest read. She references many other books within it.
Published 19 months ago by Julie Cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars covers a fundemental area for social workers. A must have!, 22 Nov 2001
By 
Nick Raymond (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The subject is by no means new, yet I found the book a perfect start for understanding the principles around the contruction of values and the dangers of having oppressive values. Banks' writing style is fluid and the language used means that the information is accessable. The Use of examples will help any student (or practising) Social Worker to focus on their own value base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the cash, 30 Dec 2008
By 
C. Fearns "over and out." (Debyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
Readable and interesting and managable.

This explores difficult and complex issues in a easy to understand way. It's well written and clear. I liked the section on the guilt faced by social workers and the different approaches to practice - radical and so forth.

Compact and small enough to carry/read on the train/bus to work/uni.

I found it usefu for assignments and when reflecting on my practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the purchase, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
Excellent easily read and understood book. I would recommend it to social workers who hope to improve their knowledge of ethics and values. It has also been very valuable to me a social work student to clarify the diffrence between ethics and values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
good value for the money i paid, the book is perfect for my course it give me a broader perspective on the profession.

thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest read to get into, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
There is some useful information in this book, but it is not the easiest read. She references many other books within it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good annotations, 23 Oct 2012
good condition and excellent notes. Reasonable price for edition. loved the post it's and underlining. some work done for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Social worker, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
This is one of those books that you will find yourself going back to again and again and realising that it manages to articulate in a very straight forward way the essential elements needed to balance those complex dilemas that face social workers throughout their working life. I am qualified some 15 years and am all too aware that there is good reason for this book to be on the "Practical Social Work Series" as it acts not only as an essential hand book, but a book full of thought provoking questions that are essential for reflective practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Banks Ehichs in Social Work, 27 May 2010
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book full of up to date values and principles that underpin social work practice. I used quotes from it to write my essay on social work values and ethics. It is an easy to read informative book that sets the scence for using values and ethics in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible Professional Text, 2 Nov 2009
By 
G. Brewin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
Great book, a must for first year undergraduates and professionals alike! Case studies, practice exercises and clear explinations and figures. Lots of accessable content with theoretical issue based features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
A++++++++++ Would Highly Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series)
Used & New from: 0.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews