Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars covers a fundemental area for social workers. A must have!
The subject is by no means new, yet I found the book a perfect start for understanding the principles around the contruction of values and the dangers of having oppressive values. Banks' writing style is fluid and the language used means that the information is accessable. The Use of examples will help any student (or practising) Social Worker to focus on their own value...
Published on 22 Nov. 2001 by Nick Raymond

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest read to get into
There is some useful information in this book, but it is not the easiest read. She references many other books within it.
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Julie Cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars covers a fundemental area for social workers. A must have!, 22 Nov. 2001
By 
Nick Raymond (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The subject is by no means new, yet I found the book a perfect start for understanding the principles around the contruction of values and the dangers of having oppressive values. Banks' writing style is fluid and the language used means that the information is accessable. The Use of examples will help any student (or practising) Social Worker to focus on their own value base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential for students and professionals alike!, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because it is on the recommended reading list for my Social Work Degree. I never bought it last year and now I wish I had, maybe my marks would have been higher. I would recommend it highly for students of Social Work. I was impressed with the speedy dispatch and delivery and I will buy again using Ocelot. A very happy customer :) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect amdeasy read, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Easy read and great for all assignments with ethics involved!! Helped alot woth my assignments for social work degree! Perfect and handy to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth the cash, 30 Dec. 2008
By 
C. Fearns "over and out." (Debyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
Readable and interesting and managable.

This explores difficult and complex issues in a easy to understand way. It's well written and clear. I liked the section on the guilt faced by social workers and the different approaches to practice - radical and so forth.

Compact and small enough to carry/read on the train/bus to work/uni.

I found it usefu for assignments and when reflecting on my practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the purchase, 14 July 2009
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
Excellent easily read and understood book. I would recommend it to social workers who hope to improve their knowledge of ethics and values. It has also been very valuable to me a social work student to clarify the diffrence between ethics and values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Studying, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm applying to study a post-grad in social work next year and this was on the reading list. Only on chapter one but so far very well written, straightforward. Think it will be a very useful guide to understanding more about the profession of social work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading!!!, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book and is recommended reading on all modules of the social work programme, at times it can be a bit of a heavy read but all in all it has what you need to know about values and ethics as a social worker, which is fundamental in this role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Social Work degree, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended this book by some second year BA students so of course I bought it straight away, yes they are expensive but they are so worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series) (Paperback)
good value for the money i paid, the book is perfect for my course it give me a broader perspective on the profession.

thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for Student Social Workers, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is worth every penny as it is all the basic knowledge you need to know about Ethics and Values rolled up in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ethics and Values in Social Work (BASW Practical Social Work Series)
Used & New from: £4.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews