Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Study on Global Politics
A vintage Heywood academic masterpiece. Thick and chunky and full of essential detail with sections dedicated to theory, fact, historical moments and key figures, Global Politics is a key works for any College or University Politics student studying World Politics or any area of politics linked to global relations.
Published 9 months ago by S.E. Haughton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
i agree this book is too long and difficult to understand for
A level politics students, it was aimed for university students

students studying for edexcel global politics, should purchase another book.

i used the below book as a revision guide, recommmened by edexcel, details of other recommended global politics books are on edexcel...
Published on 3 April 2012 by p


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Study on Global Politics, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
A vintage Heywood academic masterpiece. Thick and chunky and full of essential detail with sections dedicated to theory, fact, historical moments and key figures, Global Politics is a key works for any College or University Politics student studying World Politics or any area of politics linked to global relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
I used this book for A2 politics and it was extremely helpful. Despite its complexity at times, it is beautiful written and well suited even for those who just want to learn something about Politcs. The book is clearly presented with clear titles and Heywood provides the reader with a range of theorists. .
I certainly enjoyed using this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I enjoyed the author's AS level text called 'Essentials of UK Politics.' This particular text is rich in detail, superbly cross referenced and a lottery win for those studying the A2 option in A level Global Politics [who, prior, did not really have set core text, although, apparently, this text is more aimed at first year undergrduates, but is still accessible and perfectly relevent to A2 global politics students]. The text has a feel that the author spent a huge amount of time on it, a feeling that one don't get with many texts.
The text also has a 'companion website' to (mildly) supplement the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A* worthy, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
I would recommend this to anyone who is doing Edexcel Government and Politics unit 3D and 4D. This book was especially useful for someone who had to self teach as the number of examples and the explanation of concepts are simple and easy to understand. I would recommend prospective students to use this book in conjunction with the specification in order to cover the required content. Do not be daunted by the size, the A2 exams only require you to learn a couple of sections of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic textbook, well worth the money, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. Clear, concise and easy to read but not oversimplifying . I used this book for my A-levels and found it to be a great resource and have continued to use it as a point of reference throughout my degree. A life-saver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great For A2 Politics, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
If you study Government and Politics at A2, especially if you're on the Edexcel specification, this is the perfect textbook. The author, Andrew Heywood, has a big part in writing the Edexcel exam questions and mark schemes and if you use this book, you're covered. When I was looking through the mark scheme one of my essays I had written and one of the debates in this textbook that was related to the essay question, a lot of the mark scheme was based on what is in this textbook word for word. If you use this textbook, you're covered on the information side, all you have left to do is keep up with the news and practice your essays. I'm studying the Edexcel units 3 Structures of Global Politics and 4 Global Political Issues and this book has been perfect for the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
Excellent book, I finished A LEVEL Politics and still keep it for my own references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 April 2012
By 
p (london,uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
i agree this book is too long and difficult to understand for
A level politics students, it was aimed for university students

students studying for edexcel global politics, should purchase another book.

i used the below book as a revision guide, recommmened by edexcel, details of other recommended global politics books are on edexcel website

link to product > Global Politics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
Really helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) (Paperback)
This book appears to have been written by someone who didn't quite understand his subject, and so threw everything remotely connected to it into the pot. As a result, the text wanders in a confusing manner. As a teacher of this subject for many years I and my students have tried to work with this book over the past year but I will not be recommending it to my students next year.
Try Global Politics: Trend and Transformation for a beautifully crafted text as clear as a bell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series)
Global Politics (Palgrave Foundations Series) by Andrew Heywood (Paperback - 15 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews