Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for All, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Hanna Hagström "Sean Kenny" (Rep of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
I am currently doing a PhD in Economic History and have always been a fan of the matter of fact descriptive and explanatory nature of macroeconomics by people like Krugman and Rajan. However, when it came to some exhange rate theories or concepts in international capital flows discussed by Eichengreen, I was unaware of some fundamentals. Usually these type of books are either bizarrely mathematically abstract with no foundations in the real world or very descriptive without models. This book for the first time strikes a beautiful balance between both. I'd imagine Krugmans International Macroeconomics does the same but the price differential was too great and this Macroeconomics course I am taking at present has been working with this book for years. Its easy to see why. It does assume a basic knowledge of economic fundamentals but does not lose you in equations before writing about the concepts involved first, be it balance of payments or exchange rates etc. Thoroughly recommended-I dont really ever write reviews but this book impressed me so much that I felt I had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 18 Jan. 2006
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
This is easily the best of the books that I have had delivered to cover our course in international macroeconomics this term. It covers the balance of payments,exchange rates, the European Monetary Union and the Asian financial crisis. There is a great balance between the theory and data - we are also using another book which only has theory but surely it should be a combination if students is to remain interested. Although the course has been only running for a couple of weeks this book is proviing to be a great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent International Economics text, 10 Oct. 2010
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
This UK text is beautifully written and the mathematics that underpins the economic models is clearly explained.

For example, the Keynesian IS / LM / BP loci are derived with reference to Keynesian algebra, and the contrasting methodology of the monetarist approach is outlined in comprehensible mathematical jargon. Like all good texts, the empirical validity of the models is appraised.

The analysis of economic 'shocks' for each model is logically expounded and, in summary, alongside Laurence Copeland's text,this is a must-buy for any undergraduate.

(Incidentally, I graduated in the 1980s, but, being unemployed, this text keeps me out of mischief).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very recommended book, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Aditya P. Sitanggang (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
I love the composition of this book and find that it gives its reader the best point of view of the subject.
The fonts are very nice to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on the issue I ever read, 11 Jan. 2011
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
The books offers not just a theory, but examines extensively empirical evidence of the proposed concepts like exchange rate models and purchasing power parities, which is extremely interesting and valuable. I can recommend the book for all who are interested in international economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars International Finance, 25 Aug. 2009
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
The book has helped me gain a clearer understanding in a difficult subject! Fast delivery and condition as described!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
As a used book with such low price, it is pretty good . The condition of the book is accepted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: International Finance (Paperback)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

International Finance
International Finance by Keith Pilbeam (Paperback - 15 Nov. 2005)
Used & New from: £6.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews