Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2006
Toptrumper from Palgrave - takes the reader through the riq'a script (the more fluent script used by adult), outlining the differences between the aforementioned and the naskh script - the printed script taught to children and beginners in Arabic. Somewhat different, and it appears moreso the more fluent one becomes (early days in studying, could be wrong).

Takes you through the letters one by one - ample exercises (written IN the book, hurrah) to practice the newly-learnt skills, with vocab being introduced here and there throughout. An excellent resource for the total beginner to Arabic - highly reccomended.

* * * * * 5 Stars.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
Very very highly recommended.
Good for beginners and those who can read the Naskh script. I had previously found handwriting really hard to interpret but now I can see much more clearly. Fun to do and really easy to follow; it's set out at a perfect pace and you can finish the book quickly. I love this. More than 10/10.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Really good seller, fast delivery two days after the order with free super saver delivery.

The book is really well structured and clear, good exercises to practice your handwriting and helpful tips.

I was just disappointed because even though the book says it's good for beginners in my opinion it's not and I did struggle a bit when started and I am used to study difficult languages at home by myself (studying mandarin as well) so for complete beginners it will be difficult. Anyway you can work your way around it.
The book focuses only on the differences between the standard printed arabic and the handwritten form but it does not explain how written arabic works. I'm studying arabic with Michael Thomas course and I wanted to integrate the oral lessons with written arabic as I had no clue how it worked.

It's a good book if you are studying grammar and following a standard course - if you are on a listening and speaking course with no written arabic clues I'd study on internet or with a grammar/standard text book before moving to this one which you'll need anyway soon or later to really progress with written arabic!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
It shows the difference between handwritten arabic and printed arabic clearly. Most books only provide you with the printed writing, which means that, if someone leaves you a quick note, you're unable to read it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Perfect for beginners, gives you printed and handwritten form. Very clear and easy to use.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
This little book was brilliant for practicing my Arabic script. It was recommended to me by my Arabic teacher. It is quite basic but you have plenty of space to practice forming your letters. I would recommend this book alongside an Arabic class as it works well as supplementary material but probably would not be enough to teach you Arabic script by itself. One really useful feature is that it has both printed (naskh) and handwritten (riq'a) Arabic examples (it's surprising how much they can differ!). It improves both your writing and reading of Arabic script and I would recommend it to anyone new to Arabic writing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
Mastering arabic script shows you exactly the way one can master the language. It guides you though all arabic letters and it provides examples of words using each letter in all positions --initial, middle, end. Also it give examples of how each letter is written both in its typed and handwritten form. This helps the learner distinguish the letters even when one has to do with informal ways fo writing. Of course, this book is easier to follow when one knows some oral arabic. Knowing how each letter sounds phonetically and being able to understand some words makes it easier to test your knowledge of the letters themselves. Nonetheless, it can also work for those who do not know any arabic at all, since the writers provide examples of how each letter is pronounced.I recommend it to anyone who is interested inlearning arabic.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Looks very useful. Script, exercises etc broken down into manageable chunks and answers to activities are given at the end. Much better than similar products I've looked at.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Takes you from basic letter shapes to reading cursive script. Allows you to read both the printed and handwritten form.

Good for both the child and adult learner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Found this an excellent guide in understanding how to write Arabic script. Clear examples extensive illustrations divided into three parts
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)