Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The music, groups and singer songwriters of my youth...
Every now and then a book comes along that stands head and shoulders over others - and this is one of them. Lovingly compiled and full of evocative mainly colour period photographs, plus a few great contemporary ones of the "main players" who comprised the Laurel Canyon scene. The Byrds, The Doors, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Buffalo Springfield, Richie Furay, The Mamas and...
Published on 20 May 2010 by Mr L N Price

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No magic here
Looks good, reads bad. This is a lazy book. No narrative , themes or viewpoint to hold it together. It's basically lots of pictures (which are very good) and lots of quotes randomly strung together. The high quality of the design and photos suggest a cynical commercial exercise. Stick to the Barny Hoskins book.
Published 15 months ago by Neil Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The music, groups and singer songwriters of my youth..., 20 May 2010
Every now and then a book comes along that stands head and shoulders over others - and this is one of them. Lovingly compiled and full of evocative mainly colour period photographs, plus a few great contemporary ones of the "main players" who comprised the Laurel Canyon scene. The Byrds, The Doors, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Buffalo Springfield, Richie Furay, The Mamas and Papas, Mama Cass, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, James Taylor, The Eagles - the list is endless - and all great, great artists in my mind - the music of my heart. Representing the UK we get Donovan, Eric Burdon and Keith Richards - and there are many, many others. It's one lost musical Eden. A full and interesting text, with interviews and reminiscences, of the good and sometimes the bad memories - but overall it is an elegy to a period that is an important and integral part of the history of rock (and pop) music. A lot of interesting background too, about the earlier jazz heritage of Laurel Canyon and its Hollywood film star background of the greats such as Great Garbo and Clark Gable. This is far far more than just another coffee table volume on the era - a beautiful book to be treasured and to be dipped into for many years to come (or however many more years I might be granted...) If you were there, a fantastic memory jerker, if you weren't read about what you missed. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canyon of Dreams., 14 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone with a real interest in the music and social history of this area of Los Angeles, particularly in its heyday between 1964 and 1974 must read this book - and look at the pictures. Harvey Kubernik has researched his subject in depth, interviewed those who have something to offer and gleaned the best photographs from the great photographers of the time (Henry Diltz - wow!- see also 'Crosby, Stills and Nash by Dave Zimmer).
One criticism: a good map on a double page spread near the beginning of the book would set the scene for those of us who will probably never visit southern California.
This book stands beside (above) Michael Walker's 'Laurel Canyon. The Inside Story of Rock and Roll's Legendary Neighbourhood' and Barney Hoskyns' 'Hotel California' - both of which are excellent.
My interest started with Joni and CSNY but now my CD collection includes JD Souther, Poco, Mamas and Papas, Canned Heat, Eagles, Flying Burrito Brothers, Jackson Browne and Carol King.
What a place Laurel Canyon must have been . . . a perhaps still is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No magic here, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon (Paperback)
Looks good, reads bad. This is a lazy book. No narrative , themes or viewpoint to hold it together. It's basically lots of pictures (which are very good) and lots of quotes randomly strung together. The high quality of the design and photos suggest a cynical commercial exercise. Stick to the Barny Hoskins book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about a great time in music, 5 Feb 2011
I was really surprised at the size of this book - it's a weighty tome - but there is almost no padding!
Kubernik uses a series of inteviews interwoven with cameos of life in the canyon from the heady days of the 60s through to the decline of creativity and freedom that crept into the LA music business in the late 70s and 80s. It's all done with great illustrations mostly from Henry Diltz.
I'm a huge fan of LA music from that period and for me this book gives a raw but tender insight into the lives, loves and chaos of a community who produced some of the finest songwriting and playing of the twentieth century. I grew up in England but like many others was influenced by the confluence of British and American music that flourished in Laurel Canyon. I read this book from cover to cover, then read it again! If you love the music of Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Crosby, Stills, Nash, Eric Burden and the rest you must buy this book - it opens up the complex forces that drove them and their music.

Thanks Harvey - it rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How The West Was Sung, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon (Paperback)
Beautifully presented and informative, an entertaining look at an innovative period in the development of a musical genre and the L.A. area that was home to many of its stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 1 July 2013
By 
Rvc Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon (Paperback)
Great book, brought back some wonderful memories, it's well laid out and has some memorable photographs. If you are into the 60's and 70's then you will really enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quality record of the time!, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon (Paperback)
If you wern't around at the the time , or lived the late sixties early seventies in or around L.A. this is a quality record of the time.
With superb photos and stories of the main players and those not so well know , the book highlights the culture and the characters that were around L.A. and the magic for such a short space of time that lives on in people today.
A superb tribute to arguably the best era of singer - songwriters and bands, together in one place at one time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 16 Feb 2011
By 
Derek W. Ridgers "Derek_R" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fabulous, beautiful book. Why don't the vendors of this book make more effort to let one know how wonderfully it's produced, I'm sure they'd sell more. I almost didn't buy this because I thought it would cover the same ground as all the other books I have on the same subject but I'm certainly very pleased I did.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thing of beauty, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've purchased two books concerning the Laurel Canyon era: this one and "Laurel Canyon: The Inside Story of Rock-And-Roll's Legendary Neighborhood" by Michael Walker.

While I cannot review their content in detail (I've just received them both), what I wanted to stress out is that "Canyon of dreams" is a visually stunning experience. Another reviewer already pointed out how gorgeous this book looks, but until I received I couldn't possibly expect something so... Well, you've got to see it to believe it.

Get yourself a copy. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 21 July 2011
By 
Poul Nielsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No doubt that Laurel Canyon was a magic place i the sixties, and this book gives you so many details that you feel like having to read it over again. You get stories of all the well known and some not so well know musicians and people in the music business, how Laurel Canyon turned into the center of pop and rock during the sixties. If you are a fan of west coast music this book is a must - what a journey it sends you on, and if you want to double the pleasure while reading, then play some of the music from those who lived in and near the Canyon: Crosby, Stills & Nash, Buffalo Springfield, Donovan, The Byrds, The Doors, Richie Furay, The Mamas and Papas, Neil Young and Joni Mitchell. It's a magical mystery tour and in more than one way a heavy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon
Canyon of Dreams: The Magic and the Music of Laurel Canyon by afterword by Lou Adler Harvey Kubernik (Paperback - 5 Mar 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews