Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most moving book I've read for ages, 17 Mar 2012
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
I have read many books related to the Holocaust. This is one of the most moving, emotional and life affirming boos that I have read, even though I am nowehere near as religious as Chief Rabbi Lau. His humanity shines through and his story is one of the triumph of life and all that is good over evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMW, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
This is the most moving book I have ever read.
It has been very effectively produced in English and should be an essential part of one's education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A child who survived two years in Buchenwald facing again our world, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
Beautiful story how a little boy loosing most of his family, who
survived and strugled through life with strong jewish faith,
all the way up until Chief Rabbi of Israel, always helping
and encouraging people in dificulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what an incredible story, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
what an incredible story. you really feel that he was put on this earth to achieve something. His God was with him all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic, beautiful, and inspiring, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
The story of Chief Rabbi Yisrael Meir Lau is both tragic and uplifting. To have gone through what he did at such a young age,yet to have stayed normal, healthy, and with a sense of idealism, is truly amazing. I have met holocaust survivors whose experiences so shattered them that even today they have great difficulty leading normal lives. To think that a small boy whose most impressionable years were spent in the horrors of a Nazi concentration camp, would one day grow to be the chief Rabbi of Israel, is almost beyond belief. We should all take such a lesson that no matter how bad things appear, there is always hope. Chief Rabbi Lau is an inspiration, especially for a nation like Israel who sees tragedy almost daily; he has an ability to console the mourner, particularly young children, like no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and Inspiring, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
An obviously moving and inspiring book. I bought this after meeting Robbie Waisman (a child survivor of Buchenwald and a marvellous man - his testimony and others to the Shoah Foundation can be viewed on Youtube).
When asked, Robbie suggested I read amongst others Night by Elie Wiesel and I followed that with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Deep and emotional.
This man went through it all and emerged with humanity and love in his heart.
Truly inspirational.
Please read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Graham Khan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Depths (Hardcover)
Excellent book Well worth the read .The actual book itself was not finished off properly. The pages werent trimmed

Would read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Depths
Out of the Depths by foreword by Elie Wiesel (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2011)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews