Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional value historical ramble through cameras
Brilliant book. Superb images and details of hundreds of cameras including those you own, those you wish you owned, and those you should have bought years ago and didn't. Not to be missed.
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Chris S

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Kodak cameras and others 400...
In my opinion many Kodak camera models when many other brands were ignored. Good photos and good paper on this book.
Published 10 months ago by seis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional value historical ramble through cameras, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Superb images and details of hundreds of cameras including those you own, those you wish you owned, and those you should have bought years ago and didn't. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 26 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
Very nice book with nice pictures and review, structured in categories. Very nice to learn about the history of cameras and for those that are willing to buy some camera antiques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Kodak cameras and others 400..., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
In my opinion many Kodak camera models when many other brands were ignored. Good photos and good paper on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for camera collectors, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
Great pictures and descriptions of collectable cameras. Pictures are in color, so you can see the details perfectly. Hardly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classy camera book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
Great book bought for my camera fanatical Dad for Christmas. A fantastic range of older and newer cameras with excellent photography and descriptions, also a very sizeable book for the price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars camera book, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
this is just the book I was looking for my son - a book about the history of the camera over the many years. a good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Eastman Kodak view of the history of photography, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Raimo K (Uusikaupunki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
A little limited viewpoint but useful book anyway - and very well illustrated. Good read if you are interested in the history of photography, even from the earliest days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Limited in scope but an excellent source of information about Kodak cameras and very old pre-war models, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. Kay (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
I have and regularly use about 11 film cameras. I was surprised that this book doesn't feature any of them. Instead it concentrates on Kodak models (the author has had clear links with Kodak in the past and has a good knowledge of their cameras) and a few other, essentially non mainstream models, many of which are pre-war.

It is a thick book and is well illustrated. The amount of information about each camera is fairly limited and lacks detail. You can find out a lot more about specific cameras online quite easily.

If you were interested in pre-war cameras, you would find it useful. I remain disappointed that none of my cameras were featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The enthusiasm shows through, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
I like this book very much. It's quite odd, but I suspect it was a labour of love for author Todd Gustavson (who is curator for a museum for photography & film). I suspect many readers, like me will try to find their own cameras within these pages, and will likely be disappointed. But the point of the book is not a critical comparative review of cameras. It's more a celebration of the diversity of camera design & style.

The models featured are all the personal choice of one man (he likes Leica). The photographs are large and of high quality. The descriptions are informative without being in the least dry. The enthusiasm shows through. Note: This is listed as a paperback. The (US published) version I received had very much better paper quality than any UK paperback. The cover seems plasticised, is decoratively embossed and appears to be hard wearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 500 cameras, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Bj Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Cameras (Paperback)
hubby loved it - he has always been interested in older cameras, and I thought this would be just the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

500 Cameras
500 Cameras by Todd Gustavson (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
17.99
Usually dispatched within 11 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews