Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Has Left The Building
I couldn't resist ordering this book, and I am glad I did. Ideal for you to read to little children, and then for them to read when they sart to learn how, this should also raise a chuckle from adults as well.

Marge and Lola, two chickens, want to win tickets to go and see the legendary Elvis Poultrey in concert. All they have to do is enter the local talent...
Published on 18 Sep 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funky chickens
Hmmm. Hard to know exactly what ages this is for. A group of sneering ducks challenge Marge and Lola, our chicken heroines, to a talent contest. The chickens seem to constantly come unstuck in whatever they try. Will they find their groove? I read it to my 5 year old boy and he laughed at some of the visual gags but was not sure at the end of it all. This is because,...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Has Left The Building, 18 Sep 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I couldn't resist ordering this book, and I am glad I did. Ideal for you to read to little children, and then for them to read when they sart to learn how, this should also raise a chuckle from adults as well.

Marge and Lola, two chickens, want to win tickets to go and see the legendary Elvis Poultrey in concert. All they have to do is enter the local talent contest; but there is a problem. Chickens haven't really got any talent, but will our intrepid duo be able to pull off something truly great to impress the judges, or will the ducks win again for yet another year?

With minimal wording, making it great for children just learning to read, this is beautifully illustrated throughout. Well worth considering if you are looking for something different for the little rugrats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken dance, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Ms. Lorraine M. Moore (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read this book to my little boy as his bedtime story. We both enjoyed the story. He liked the different farmyard animals that were in the talent contest and as we were reading the story I was pointing at the different animals for him to name. This book has really nice big pictures in so there's plenty to look at. It looks a if it's quite a long story but it was surprising how quick it was to read (not a bad thing when it comes to a bedtime story!). Overall a nice story with some really nice pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Dance, 18 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. P. Clements "bibliophilly" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Intended as a children's book I have to say I am far beyond even my second childhood but thoroughly enjoyed it. The illustrations are fun and the competition between all the animals and, in particular between the ducks and the chickens is most amusing. Any parent reading this as a bedtime story will enjoy this as much as the kids. I couldn't put it down until I'd finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big little book!, 17 Mar 2011
By 
T. Segurado "Ty Segurado" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Such a cute and funny book! Elvis is in the building !!! really funny. Marge and Lola are trying they very best to impress by 'discovering' talents in themselves, what they not realise is that the talent is being themselves! Thats all you need to impress people, being yourself and never giving up just because a bunch of ducks decide to think they are better than you! Seriously, this is a great anti-bullying start for your little ones as is it for mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved reading this!, 11 Mar 2011
By 
Magdalene (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice easy read for kids and the story is fun too. The book tells the story of two chickens - Marge and Lola. Marge and Lola are on a mission to win the banyard talent contest for two tickets to see the famed singer Elvis Poulty. I would recommend reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylishly illustrated, but not quite a 5, 10 Mar 2011
By 
K. Z. Sobol (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book went down very well with my two girls aged 3 and 4. So much so I was asked to read it over and over again with them falling about laughing at the wonderful illustrations of the chickens and their crazy ideas for "talent" that they might be able to display. Nice combination of references for the children (cows jumping over the moon) references for adults "Elvis Poultry was in the building) and just plain silliness, which in our household appeals to everyone (e.g. The goats ate a tractor and scored a seven")
As a fun extra, at the very front and the very back of the book there are chicken footprints showing the step by step directions for a number of dances from the foxtrot to the disco chicken - which has had our family falling over their own feet trying to follow, but adds a nice, unexpected feature to the book.
I enjoyed reading words such as wattle, smirking, crooned, flounced, bumbled and tottered throughout the story which add a bit of bounce to the storytelling when reading it aloud, but for me it was the illustrations that made the book - if the story had a bit more of a final flourish for an ending I would have given it a 5. Very close, but just not quite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally insane book - but surprising success, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book certainly makes a change from the usual rhyming fare and cutesy illustrations that make for most books aimed at the under 7's these days - the whole story is about two chickens, Marge and Lola who want to win tickets to see their hero Elvis Poultry sing, via a talent contest. If this sounds a bit crazy, that is because it is, but somewhere amongst rather funky farmyard illustrations and a story that's a little bit "Strictly Ballroom" there's something that appealed to my 4 and a half year old.

Truth be told it's not one of my favourite books to read and I wonder, frankly, if some of the vocabulary and gentle humour don't go right over her head (at one point the chickens say "we'll have to wing it", surely too subtle a pun for the very young), however, though there's no telling why, this book is a winner with my child. The jokes do seem to be aimed more at the adult reading to the child, but somehow, just perhaps because pictures of chickens dancing or trying to tightrope walk are just funny regardless, my little book-lover finds this book fun and enjoys having it read to her.

With a gentle moral message and a happy ending, this book is perfect bedtime reading length - it's not, I suspect, one that we will end up knowing off by heart, or reading over and over, but nonetheless it's an enjoyable and well written tale with memorable characters. Although this book is, when all is said and done, what can only be described as rather weird, it most definitely is a refreshingly different and interesting book, and my child likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Includes the dance steps!, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A lovely 'ignoring bullies and achieving your goals' story for young children. Very nice to have the pictures in dusty farmyard tones, rather than the usual sugary sweet colours used for children's tales. The inclusion of a guide to the dance steps is an inspired idea, so you can learn to Foxtrot, Cha cha, Rhumba and Waltz - chicken dancing along with Marge and Lola hen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A talent show picture book as chickens Follow That Dream., 3 Oct 2010
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a story with lovely pictures of foolish chickens looking for their special talent and being really very hopeless. My son smiles at their bowling mishap, their juggling disaster and their inadequate tightrope walking. Despite their special bathing suits, their swimming is no better than their flying. How can they ever win the barnyard talent competition and get their claws on the prize tickets to the Elvis concert when all chickens can really do is bawk, flap and shake. The talent show arrives and brigns a smile to the reader as the chickens decide they'll have to 'wing it' (having still left any special talent undiscovered) while the goats get a seven for eating a tractor and the cows jump over the moon (surely that's passe!?). Can the chickens with their bawk flap and shaking outperform the ducks' surfing spectacular? But there's a twist in the tale as Elvis Poultry appreciates a chicken that's "All Shook Up", and I loved the additional footstep instructions for the chicken foxtrot.
A good fun farmyard tale for the 3-5s. Let's Shake, Rattle and Roll.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated, 6 Mar 2011
By 
Angela Lovelace "Angela" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chicken Dance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a short and sweet tale with a moral behind it. Two chickens want to enter a talent contest, even though they know they have little chance of winning, but they are determined to do their best against the odds. They are inspired by the famous Elvis Poultry, and do a dance routine. They are just beaten by a few points by the boastful ducks, when their idol shows up and decides to hire them for his act, shocking all the other animals and showing the ducks who had been mean that they had talent.

It is a fairly simple story, not too long and not too short, but just right for reading to young children at bedtime and also easy for young readers to read for themselves. The book is fairly large with bright and colourful illustrations which are beautifully drawn and have a bit of a vintage feel about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicken Dance
Chicken Dance by Tammi Sauer (Paperback - 22 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £0.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews