Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacy adaptation of a cosmic horror classic
It is 1930, and a team of scientists sets out from Miskatonic University, Arkham, intent on venturing further into the Antarctic than any previous expedition. What they find at first promises to revolutionise the scientific view of human history: fourteen perfectly preserved specimens of a completely alien lifeform buried in a thirty million year old strata of Antarctic...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by Murray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Subpar experience of a monumental tale
Having just read Lovecraft's 'At the Mountains of Madness' (which is brilliant btw), I rushed to get this graphic novel to see with my own eyes the author's stunning descriptions of the art and architecture of the 'lost' city. I was really let down by the artist's rendition of the 'lost' city and its interior decorations which, to me, were among the story's strengths. The...
Published 2 months ago by NatashaRomanova


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pacy adaptation of a cosmic horror classic, 7 Nov 2010
It is 1930, and a team of scientists sets out from Miskatonic University, Arkham, intent on venturing further into the Antarctic than any previous expedition. What they find at first promises to revolutionise the scientific view of human history: fourteen perfectly preserved specimens of a completely alien lifeform buried in a thirty million year old strata of Antarctic ice. One of the expedition nicknames them "Elder Things", taking his cue from an ancient, worm-ridden volume of forbidden lore back in the Miskatonic stacks, The Necronomicon of Mad Abdul Alhazred. And then the terror begins...

Culbard's pacy adaptation of H P Lovecraft's most extended, and successful, foray into the realms of science fictional cosmic horror captures the awe (those towering mountains, that ancient cyclopean city) and vertiginous, creeping terror of Lovecraft's original in a bold, direct style that nevertheless leaves room for some nice subtleties of build-up. The brief glimpse of movement in the ancient city, for instance, is particularly nicely done -- to single out but one moment in this excellent retelling of a weird fiction classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant adaptation that mixes the style of Hergé with Lovecrafts unspeakable horrors!, 29 Dec 2010
By 
F. S. Ord - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I received this as a Christmas gift as i'm quite a fan of the stories of H.P. Lovecraft. I was quickly taken by the obvious love that Ian Culbard has for the source material, and was immediately reminded by the art style of Hergés' Tintin books and the Zombieworld: Champion Of The Worms graphic paperback by Mike Mignola and Pat McEown. I enjoyed it so much that I was saddened that it was over.
I can only hope that Ian Culbard decides to do more of Lovecrafts stories (The Call of Cthulhu or The Shadow Over Innsmouth) or perhaps dabble with the stories of M.R. James (Oh Whistle and I'll Come To You, A Warning To The Curious).
Anyway this comes highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Came from Kadath!, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Mountains of Madness (Illustrated Classics (Sterling)) (Paperback)
This graphic novel expressed the feeling of At the Mountains of Madness in a way that few other tributes have. The cosmic horror of this ancient city was brought to the page with skill worthy of the Elder Things themselves. I really enjoyed the art style as well, which called to mind comic work of that same time period. The real star of the book is Antarctica, depicted in all its terrible glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Subpar experience of a monumental tale, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just read Lovecraft's 'At the Mountains of Madness' (which is brilliant btw), I rushed to get this graphic novel to see with my own eyes the author's stunning descriptions of the art and architecture of the 'lost' city. I was really let down by the artist's rendition of the 'lost' city and its interior decorations which, to me, were among the story's strengths. The city's art felt lazy, unrepresentative and sells Lovecraft's vision short. I realise that every artists' work based on the written word will be his/her personal 'interpretation' of it, but I can't help feel that in this case shortcuts were taken.

Storytelling-wise, it feels rushed, clipped and for lack of a better word, pretty 'meh'. Do yourself a favour by reading the full story and let your imagination fill in the artistic blanks since it will undoubtedly do a better job than this graphic novel. For the sake of brevity and space, plenty of the dread and foreboding is unavoidably lost in the graphic novel too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A strong graphic novel rendition of the original story, 5 Oct 2014
By 
C. Nicholas (Zurich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Mountains of Madness (Illustrated Classics (Sterling)) (Paperback)
My teenage son loved the book. He had read the original story by Lovecraft a couple of times and it is one of his favorites. He is convinced that John Carpenter took the original story line from George Campbell's "Who Goes There" and Lovercraft's "Mountains of Madness" to come up with his screenplay for "The Thing". I will take his word for it. We have enjoyed the graphic novel renditions of his works in Lovecraft Anthology's 1 & 2: but my son says this book has them beat on artwork and storyline. I am waiting my turn as it makes the rounds through the family, but all thumbs up so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye Classics: At The Mountains Of Madness Graphic Novel, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the original story by HP Lovecraft, which I loved by the way, I found out about the graphic novel and had to buy it. After reading it, I liked this version as well. Adapted and illustrated by Ian Culbard, it gives a different, and obviously, more visual take on the classic tale. Yes, it glosses over some passages, but overall the artwork (which is a delight) and plot pacing go hand in hand and carries you along for the ride. Would definitely recommend getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice adaption, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty good, love the comic strip vibe. Hopefully more books can be adapted into comic books in the near future. At the mountains of madness is my favourite book and this adaption was good, slight changes due to it being a comic strip, so necessary really. All round good read and good artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adaptation of HP Lovecraft's seminal work, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Mountains of Madness (Illustrated Classics (Sterling)) (Paperback)
I love HP Lovecraft and this is a must have book for aficionados of the macabre. Really brings the story to life in a fantastic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well recommended. Great item and breand new. Great addition to anyones collection. A must for any avid fans. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Elder Things would be pleased, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh Mr. Culbard is a bit of a master isn't he? An excellent if not entirely accurate adaptation of HPL's greatest single work. For newbies or die hards like myself this is a must for anyone who have ever wondered what the city of the Elder Things contains. Excellent art and pacing and mood. Can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the Mountains of Madness (Illustrated Classics (Sterling))
At the Mountains of Madness (Illustrated Classics (Sterling)) by H. P. Lovecraft (Paperback - 7 Feb 2012)
Used & New from: £16.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews