Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn how to beat cancer and improve your diet.
I read an article in the Daily Telegraph about cancer and being a cancer survivor myself was immediately intrigued.
It mentioned "Healing Spices" by Bharat Aggarwal as a good source of information. I am always interested
to know about foods that are linked to prevention or help with the many illnesses our world is afflicted with, in
particular cancer. The...
Published on 10 Oct 2012 by Lindos

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Healing spices - do your own research
I was so looking forward to this book, full of information about spices. What was my disappointment, though, when the first sentence in the book is like, "All spices come from Asia". What? So chili is not spice? And I bet that things like caraway and aniseed and menthe and a lot of otheres were not brought all the way from India, either. But well, okay, we all tend to be...
Published 18 months ago by Donnar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn how to beat cancer and improve your diet., 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
I read an article in the Daily Telegraph about cancer and being a cancer survivor myself was immediately intrigued.
It mentioned "Healing Spices" by Bharat Aggarwal as a good source of information. I am always interested
to know about foods that are linked to prevention or help with the many illnesses our world is afflicted with, in
particular cancer. The book is wonderful, full of advice and great recipes for 50 spices. I heartily recommend it.
The only gripe I have is that it seems to be aimed at the American market and most of the websites or retailers it recommends
are American-that aside it is a wonderful book that not only helps improve your diet but also your health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healing book, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Very good book: full of informations about spices, and with some recepies. It is realy worth to read it, and it will change your way of cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than pills!, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Very interesting insight into Indian spices for culinary and medicinal use. Clearly written and understandable. A useful healthy eating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
This book is very well written and easy to understand. The information contained withing the book far exceeded my expectations.
It's not often I come across a book I cannot stop reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Chrsitmas reading, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
This book met my all of expectations. It delivers precise and accurate descriptions of the spices and their medicinal information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice of Life, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Absorbing and enlightening read. It is written in a very friendly way and provides lots of information about the results of scientific research on various common spices. Add to that a comprehensive list of recommended recipes and you have a book that is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Extremely informative on each and every spice (including spices I had never even heard of and now want to try), includes tips on useful properties and complimenting foods. A great book for anyone with the slightest interest in spices and their origin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
By 
Ms. J. A. Pollak (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Lots of lovely, healthy recipes and information on traditionally used spices for health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
Fast & efficient service. Product as described. Would use again! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Healing spices - do your own research, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Healing Spices (Hardcover)
I was so looking forward to this book, full of information about spices. What was my disappointment, though, when the first sentence in the book is like, "All spices come from Asia". What? So chili is not spice? And I bet that things like caraway and aniseed and menthe and a lot of otheres were not brought all the way from India, either. But well, okay, we all tend to be national-centric, so to speak, especially when it comes to our glorious ancestors. Then the other thing - this book has a lot of scientific information of sorts, like what experiments on what animals were made where. It doesn't say a word about how people would react to these chemicals, so it is of no value for normal reader, but fine, you have to show that you are a scientist, I suppose. But what is more serious flaw in my eyes - there are no scientific names for the herbs mentioned. And as is common, lot of them have different names in different countries, even counties, so to find what the autor is writing about, you need to sit around Internet and do some research yourself. And finally, this is a book oriented mainly to American market. I'd give 3 stars for the effort, if there were at least decent pictures of the plants, not some very vague drawings, so you have some reference when googling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Healing Spices
Healing Spices by with Debora Yost (Hardcover - 7 Mar 2011)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews