Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:35 Mins
his book is a delightful treat to anyone who loves optical illusion.

Here's a quote from the author, Al Seckel, in the introduction:

<quote start>

In researching and presenting optical illusions to wide audiences, I have found that their effect on people is very primal. It does not matter how old they are, how...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Parka

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Deception
Underwhelmed with this book. The best illusion/ picture is on the cover. Inside there are the familiar Escher pictures & the Magrittes. The quality of the paper is good but the colour realisation is poor. Wish I hadn't wasted my money.
Published 17 months ago by Pat45


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining book, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
Length:: 0:35 Mins

his book is a delightful treat to anyone who loves optical illusion.

Here's a quote from the author, Al Seckel, in the introduction:

<quote start>

In researching and presenting optical illusions to wide audiences, I have found that their effect on people is very primal. It does not matter how old they are, how artistic they are, how intelligent they are, what their background or culture is; people just love optical illusions and enjoy being deceived in a delightful and surprising way.

<quote end>

He has done a terrific job at research on the subject, collecting over hundreds of paintings all the way back from the 16th century. Many of the optical illusions found on the Internet are just extensions or interpretation of these masterpieces.

There are 20 artists featured in the book. Every one comes with a well written introduction and a gallery of their best work. While the book can't print all the art work for each artist, it has packed enough to entertain for hours. Each is also captioned to explain the idea and inspiration behind.

There's an incredible array of artistic style used in creating optical illusions. There's Escher who plays with perspective, Shigeo Fukuda who works with light and shadow and many more.

This is a very entertaining book.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visual Illusion in Art - A Must Buy Book!, 2 Jan 2009
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
This is a fantastic value book - great if you are particularly interested in visual illusion in art or it also makes a lovely coffee table book that you can just pick up and flick through whenever it takes your fancy!

The book covers 20 different types of visual illusion (e.g. visual suprise, paradoxical worlds, change of perspective, optical llusion, impossible figures etc) by focusing on the work of 20 different artists including Salvador Dali, Sandro Del-Prete and Escher. The layout is clean and simple and there are plenty of pictures to peruse! You also get information/background on each artist and their work so the book is a good all-rounder if you are a student.

In summary, a must-buy for any art enthusiast but you don't have to love art to love this book as it's such a joy to look through! I notice new things every time I pick this one off the shelf - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively Brilliant, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
This is a marvelously entertaining book that will please both the general reader and those interested in art history. It is, amongst other things,one of those rare books that are better when thumbed through with someone else. The editor has put together some genuinely amazing artists whose cleverness jumps off the page. I imagine teachers could enliven any classroom with the contents of this book. I hope there is a second volume on the way, perhaps including the work of the World War I camouflage artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masters of deception, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
this book is excellant a differant view on pictures a good stocking filler for artists and non artists delivered very quickly and in excellant condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st, 7 April 2010
By 
Bridget Bigwood (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
Also for my grandaughter's 21st - she's doing an Art degree - and much appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great introduction to illusion in art, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter who was interested in illusion in art but I didn't want to overdo one artist or another just help her understand that there are lots of artists creating illusions in different ways. She loves it and often dips into it taking it to school to show friends or trys to make drawings like some of the drawings in the book. A great introduction for all ages, could do with more pics and less text but having said that for the price it is a very good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
Package well protected, Arrived as new. Fabulous book with amazing works of deception set to thrill you. Extremely clever. Highly recommend. Swift and efficient delivery. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Masters of Deception, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Pat45 "Pats" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
Underwhelmed with this book. The best illusion/ picture is on the cover. Inside there are the familiar Escher pictures & the Magrittes. The quality of the paper is good but the colour realisation is poor. Wish I hadn't wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
Well set out. Great pictures. Nice details/history. Received quickly. So many favourite Optical illusions all in one place! Well Done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion (Paperback)
to compliment a forthcoming lecture on visual illusion and of excellent quality and members of the committee enjoyed a preview - !looks very tempting and should mean more raffle tickets than usual are purchased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali and the Artists of Optical Illusion
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews