Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only choice
If you are finding most of the puzzles in the newspapers too easy and are looking for something more challenging then as far as I am concerned this series is the only choice. Admittedly this first book is quite easy and doesn't require techniques more difficult than naked trebles or x wings but as you go through the series it increases steadily in difficulty so your are...
Published on 29 May 2011 by Nemo James - Singer Songwriter

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that tricky...
I've sent this book back as it's not a all tricky. It's meant to be the hardest set in the series but not hard at all.
Published on 2 July 2007 by NavLondon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only choice, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
If you are finding most of the puzzles in the newspapers too easy and are looking for something more challenging then as far as I am concerned this series is the only choice. Admittedly this first book is quite easy and doesn't require techniques more difficult than naked trebles or x wings but as you go through the series it increases steadily in difficulty so your are able to judge your improvement. By the beginning of book 2 more advanced techniques are needed like xy and xyz wings and then book 3 introduces swordfish and forcing chains etc. Having solved all the puzzles in books 1 to 3 I am now on book 4 and so far haven't been able to solve any so it looks like it's back to the drawing board. If you need help rather than looking at the answer I would highly recommend "Pauls Pages" sudoku website which will give you clues and so help you to work out the answers for yourself.

I should add that the quality of the paper is excellent so there is no problem using a rubber as there is with some books with flimsy paper. I also find having a spiral binder a great help as the page not being used can be folded back completely out of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Hard! Oh Yes, 6 Dec. 2008
By 
St Hubbins (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
These are the hardest sudokus I have done. I have to resort to putting in all the pssibilities and trying different combinations. It's not the ideal way but I enjoy it. I'll try level 1 now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardest Sudoku in book form, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
Mike (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
While the first couple of puzzles can be completed with forcing chains method which is how I started thinking this isn't so tough (ref to Nav review - who clearly didn't try more than 1 or 2) this book contains puzzles that require more advanced techniques to solve than anything you'll find in the sunday times. I had to learn how to play Sudoku properley before being able to complete any properley. X wings, Y wings, ALS, colouring techniques, xloops etc etc. some puzzles only needing one advance technique, some puzzles requiring multiple. Even online solvers struggle with these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good books, 20 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
this set so far is great i have 2 -4 and both really good, size of book is nice and also Spiral-bound type of book works out really well alsothe cover, covers the Spiral-bound in a "nice" way so really it dose not look like some childs Spiral-bound book, these are reall good well worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another nice challenge, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
P. L. Hulme (Loughborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
At 30-page steps through the book 42 puzzles took close to 1400mins averaging 33mins/puzzle. A little trickier than 'Beyond Black Belt Sudoku' you have to tread more carefully to avoid mistakes. The quickest was done in 13mins but others took over 1hr. I like this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great :D, 17 Dec. 2011
By 
Gabriela (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
Very happy with this book, my dad is a fan of hardcore sudoku, so I think he'll like it. Also, the book looks very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
I've completed the series now. What shall I do next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that tricky..., 2 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
I've sent this book back as it's not a all tricky. It's meant to be the hardest set in the series but not hard at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
Yet to complete, stille on Level 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) (Spiral-bound)
Brilliant. Love the spiral spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book)
Absolutely Nasty Sudoku Level 4 (Official Mensa Puzzle Book) by Frank Longo (Spiral-bound - 3 May 2007)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews