Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic for all ages
I've been looking forward to reading this book for a while and at last got around to it. all i can say is my god what a story! from the very start of the novel the authors wonderful writing style has you immediately intrigued by the story and the curious Mr Phileas Fogg who is introduced as the most laconic and orderly man imaginable. his routine is meticulous with a...
Published on 3 Jun. 2012 by john

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 days
This wasn't as good as I thought I would be. At times it was really confusing. The summary of the book is about this very wealthy man called Phileas Fogg, one day he decides to hire a new servant called Passepartout. At night Phileas goes to the reform club, which he is a member at, and finds the other members there. They end up playing a game of poker and start a...
Published on 29 May 2012 by S1 Class 2012


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic for all ages, 3 Jun. 2012
I've been looking forward to reading this book for a while and at last got around to it. all i can say is my god what a story! from the very start of the novel the authors wonderful writing style has you immediately intrigued by the story and the curious Mr Phileas Fogg who is introduced as the most laconic and orderly man imaginable. his routine is meticulous with a strict timetable for each day which he keeps to on the dot, he never leaves London and lives the most quite and uneventful life imaginable spending each day at the Reform club where he reads the daily paper or plays a game of cards. Passepartout, his new servant, is looking for just such a calm life but he is to be disappointed for on the day he is employed he Master returns from the club telling him to pack at once for a trip around the world.

at the club that day Fogg had bet half his fortune that he could travel around the world in an easterly direction in 80 days. in a race to save face and fortune what follows next is an amazing adventure that will have you gripped all the way through. a classic that should be read by all ages, by the end of it all that may be said is 'those Frenches sure know how to tell a story!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel has never been this easy., 4 Mar. 2004
By 
I really think this classic tale of travel and adventure is indispensable for any decent book collection. In comparison with the dated and crusty translations used in most modern reprints, this new edition contains clarity of expression and lively prose that kept me engrossed in Phileas Fogg's incredible odyssey around the globe. By reading Around the World in Eighty Days it is possible to recapture that lost sense of travel, characterised by crossing frontiers, improvisation and self-control whatever the circumstances. Armchair travelling it may be, but it is still much more pleasurable than the bland consumption of foreign cultures that most tourists are fed! Simply a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in Eighty Days, 12 Aug. 2011
Around the World in Eighty Days is a fascinating book set in the time of 1872. It is about a very wealthy, yet modest, man called Phileas Fogg. He lives at no. 7, Saville Row in London. Phileas Fogg is a man who never likes to attract attention, but is extremely clever and takes great interest in science and maths. With such a great mind, you would think that he is a member of a group, maybe a university; but he isn't. The only thing he is a member of is the Reform Club. Phileas is a man who is very precise and in-fact has not one but two clocks by his bedside and both tick at exactly the same second.
Being as rich as he is, Phileas Fogg, at the start of the book, searches for a servant. He is recommended one called Jean Passpartout. Phileas likes Passpartout and employs him on Wednesday 2nd October. Passpartout is a man about forty years of age. He is a tall Frenchman with fair hair.
When Phileas and Passpartout make a visit to the Reform Club, Phileas makes a bet of twenty thousand pounds to the rest of the club that he could travel around the World in eighty days using steamers and rails.
The first places that Mr Fogg and Passpartout go to are Dover and Calais, both in France. On the way there, they meet a detective called Fix. Fix has been sent out to look for suspicious passengers at the train station. This because of a Bank of England robbery that took place; fifty-five thousand pounds was stolen. He thinks that the robbers were Phileas and Passpartout as they are carrying a large amount of money. Mr Fogg agrees to let Detective Fix follow him throughout his journey, just to prove that they aren't guilty.
Next, Phileas Fogg and Passpartout go to Bombay. In Bombay, they meet (or rescue) a widow called Aouda. Aouda travels with them for the rest of the journey and she comes as a great help to them. Phileas, Passpartout and Aouda also buy an elephant in Bombay and travel around the different Indian rainforests. They enjoy themselves a lot!
Phileas Fogg, Passpartout and Aouda enjoy the rest of their journey around the world. But do they make it back in time? A heart-warming classic that you want to read over and over!
RATING: 10/10
AGE RANGE: 9-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fogg's journey is a transport of delight, 27 April 2012
By 
For some reason I had never before got round to reading this classic, nor seen any of the adaptations on screen, despite my enjoyment of other Verne works, especially 'Journey to the Centre of the Earth' which has resonated with me since childhood. I am glad now that I saved this pleasure to savour it all the more today.

Like our hero, I was transported from start to finish of Phileas Fogg's incredible journey; before that, in fact, for his introduction by the author and his calm placing of a £20,000 wager against his friends in the Reform Club had me immediately engaged.

Verne's adroit use of point of view is one example of his masterful skills as story-teller. He never permits the reader Fogg's internal perspective on a situation - instead telling the story partly authorially and partly though Passepartout or Fix, fellow-passengers with opposing views of the protagonist. As a result we never lose the sense of Fogg as an enigma (note his name), never have any advance notice of his planning, while his ability to extemporise solutions to overcome seemingly impossible barriers is our constant surprise and delight.

Paradoxically, the less we know about him the more interesting and intriguing he becomes, and the stronger the bond we feel both for Fogg and those he protects. We can easily comprehend the hero-worship of Passepartout and the love interest of Aouda, for we share it.

Fogg has few compeers in English literature that I can think of, though it strikes me that Ian Fleming may have had something of Fogg in mind when he created the generally imperturbable and resourceful James Bond. Verne's creation, though, for me is the greater hero, and the more memorable.

Reviewer David Williams blogs regularly as Writer in the North.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heart-warming classic, 16 Dec. 2011
Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
Reviewed by Heena Pala

Around the World in Eighty Days is a fascinating book about a wealthy yet modest man called Phileas Fogg. It is set in 1872 in London. He is a member of the Reform Club; in the club, Phileas makes a bet of 20,000 pounds that he could travel around the World in eighty days using steamers and rails.
One adventure that Phileas Fogg and his French servant, Passpartout have is when they go to Bombay. In Bombay, they meet (or rescue) a widow called Aouda. Aouda travels with them for the rest of the journey and she comes as a great help to them. They enjoy themselves a lot!
Phileas Fogg, Passpartout and Aouda enjoy the rest of their journey around the world.

I really enjoyed Around the World in eighty Days. I especially liked the happy ending and the anticipation of waiting to see if the three make it back in the eighty day time limit! It is a heart-warming classic I would read over and over.

RATING: 10/10
AGE RANGE: 9-13
PUBLISHER: Penguin Classics
RRP: £7.99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise., 8 July 2012
By 
Isla Swan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Was short of reading material so decided to give "Around the world in 80 days" a whirl as it was a freebie on my e-reader..Expected it to be a fusty,boring tale however I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it.
The story revolves around Mr Fogg and his companions attempting to complete their journey in the allotted time.There are lots of twists and turns that almost thwart their success.Fogg is cool throughout all the disasters that befall the group.There is gentle humour and some moments of suspense to keep the reader interested however the parts I disliked the most were the explanations of where the companions were travelling to. These should have been a really important part of the plot however I found the descriptions dry and dull.I felt that the odd little map dotted through the book would have helped the reader to follow the journey.
Overall,a really enjoyable read and one that everyone should try. I was sceptical but very pleased that I gave it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not enthralling, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For some reason, I always envisioned a hot air balloon when I thought of Around the World in Eighty Days; in point of fact, a hot air balloon is about the only means of transportation not employed by Phileas Fogg in his circumnavigational sojourn (though it is given a fleeting thought by the hero at one point). Fogg is an interesting character, a man who takes punctuality to an unheard of degree. Basically, his whist partners at the Reform Club tell him there is no way to go around the globe in just 80 days, notwithstanding the fact that a detailed itinerary involving specific boats and trains promises to make it possible. Fogg immediately bets half his fortune that he can do it, setting out on his journey that very night. Passepartout, his newly hired manservant, finds himself dragged along on this historic journey. It so happens that someone matching a description of Fogg has just robbed the Bank of England of 55,000 pounds, and a detective named Fix "discovers" his robber when Fogg arrives in Suez. He wires England with the news and asks for an arrest warrant to be issued; before it arrives, Fogg is off again. Fix finds himself joining in on Fogg's epic journey, waiting for the warrant to reach him on his way, then waiting to arrest Fogg when he steps back on English soil. The travelers face many perils and stumbling blocks along their way, many brought about by Passeportout's naivete and later on by his selfless act of heroism. At every turn, Fogg finds himself in need of alternate transportation methods; he employs, among other vehicles, an elephant, a bridge-jumping train, and a wind-propelled sled. A series of uncommon adventures unfold, involving damsels in distress, Indian attacks, matters of honor, etc. All these events come to a climax the day on which he is due back at the Reform Club.
There is not really much science in this fiction; instead, there is a good bit of geography; the stretches of text explaining the route from one place to another is rather boring to me personally. Luckily, most of the book is full of action. Throughout, the interesting Mr. Fogg remains as calm and placid as a cucumber while Passepartout provides some comic relief by continually finding himself in some sort of trouble. Most of the actors come across as rather wooden and artificial, but the story is good and the ending is quite satisfactory. The reading of this book led me to conjecture that this was one of Verne's earlier works because the characters here are rather drab compared to those in From the Earth to the Moon and because the pages are not weighed down by scientific terminology as in 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea; actually, it is one of his later novels.
Around the World in Eighty Days would well serve the purpose of introducing a Verne newbie to his writing. If you want to see glimpses of Verne's prophetic scientific ideas, though, this is probably not the book for you; it is best suited for recreational reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of the Book, 21 April 2011
By 
lagouge (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
The book "Round the World in Eighty Days" was written by Jules Verne. It is about the adventurous life of Phileas Fogg who is living quietly in London. He makes a bet for twenty thousand pounds that he can travel around the world in eighty days.

In my opionion, this book is so fantastic as the plot is very gripping and it is easy to read.However,it does not have pictures in the book.I think if the book had pictures, the readers would be more interested in reading this book.

The book gives a sense of suspicion of the main character "Phileas Fogg".When you read it, you will find out whether he is a robber or not.

"Round the World in Eighty Days" really suits the adventure-lovers. You are sure to enjoy the crazy,exciting journey throughout the book.

Penguin Readers are simplified texts which provide a step-by-step approach to the joys of reading for pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel * read the summary!, 4 Dec. 2000
By 
Phileas Fogg was an English gentleman, phlegmatic and obsessed with exact time. He had no wife, children, relatives or close friends. He was quite rich and lived alone with one manservant, a Frenchman named Jean Passepartout, but he spent most of this time at the Reform Club in London's Pall Mall, where he had his lunch and dinner, read his newspaper and played cards.
One day, during a discussion about a bank robbery, he bet 20,000 pounds that he could travel around the world in 80 days or less. So, accompanied by Passepartout and carrying just a small overnight bag and a very big amount of money, he starts from London for his extraordinary voyage...The ending of the book is very unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 days, 29 May 2012
This wasn't as good as I thought I would be. At times it was really confusing. The summary of the book is about this very wealthy man called Phileas Fogg, one day he decides to hire a new servant called Passepartout. At night Phileas goes to the reform club, which he is a member at, and finds the other members there. They end up playing a game of poker and start a conversation on how long it would take to go around the world, but Phileas is an expert and the every country and knows a lot about the world, so he bets 20'000 that he can go around the world in 80 days. He rushes home to his gigantic home and tells Passepartout to pack a few things. It was really good on some bits and bad on others but i do recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Starts: Around the World in 80 Days: Retold from the Jules Verne Original
Classic Starts: Around the World in 80 Days: Retold from the Jules Verne Original by Retold from the Jules Verne original (Hardcover - 1 Aug. 2007)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews