Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to the mutable majesty of clouds
John Day - or 'Cloudman' as he is known to thousands of Americans, both through his pioneering website and his visits to schools around the country - is truly the doyen of international cloud scholars. This book is the culmination of decades of research and reading, and is full of all manner of wit and wisdom concerning clouds, 'the patron goddesses of idle men', as the...
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by Rich Ham

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a dreadful shame
A beautiful book. I received a copy for Christmas (at my specific request!). I'm so sorry I can't give it the 5 stars it ought to have. Why? Because the quality of the photographic printing so often leaves a lot to be desired. I just don't believe that so many of the photos were, in their originals, as grainy as they have been reproduced. Even the paper feels rough...
Published on 26 Dec 2007 by J. M. Aucken


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to the mutable majesty of clouds, 30 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
John Day - or 'Cloudman' as he is known to thousands of Americans, both through his pioneering website and his visits to schools around the country - is truly the doyen of international cloud scholars. This book is the culmination of decades of research and reading, and is full of all manner of wit and wisdom concerning clouds, 'the patron goddesses of idle men', as the dramatist Aristophanes described them. The photographs, many of them taken by Day himself, are outstanding, and do much to bring the book to glorious life, showing how the sky really is an enormous free outdoor cinema screen. What a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a dreadful shame, 26 Dec 2007
By 
J. M. Aucken (Twickenham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
A beautiful book. I received a copy for Christmas (at my specific request!). I'm so sorry I can't give it the 5 stars it ought to have. Why? Because the quality of the photographic printing so often leaves a lot to be desired. I just don't believe that so many of the photos were, in their originals, as grainy as they have been reproduced. Even the paper feels rough! Pages 94/95 are just one example of many. I have loved clouds for decades and was really hoping for a set of photographs of coffee table standard. I am very disappointed. However, I would far rather have the book than not - and in spite of my criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely reference book, 18 May 2008
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
This book is a great for those who have a 'beginner' interest in clouds, as it is mostly pictorial. I bought it as a gift for my boyfriend and he has great fun trying to identify what types of cloud are in the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but has flaws, 19 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
When I first opened I was quite impressed but it is difficult to work out who it is intended for.
It is big enough to be a coffee table picture book but the binding didn't stand up to a first read through and some of the pictures are not of good enough quality. For an identification guide it is too large, the pictures could have been half the size and just as informative.

If you are serious about cloud identification look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 25 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
Any aviator would tell you about the importance of the need to have a thorough understanding of the different types of clouds, how they are formed, and most especially, what they are telling us.

Look up in the sky and you'll see that each and every bit of cloud is telling us a different story, in addition to the spectacle you see right before your eyes.

Needless to say, it would be most foolish of any pilot not to fully understand the implication of the different types of clouds whilst on the ground, before a flight, as well as whilst in the air.

My interest in the clouds started a few years ago due to a near-miss air accident whilst learning to fly GA aircraft. My instructor and I nearly got sucked into the clouds, due to the fact that he, my instructor, being the pilot in command, failed to maintain the specified distance from the clouds whilst flying under VFR. Needless to say, we were lucky to get out of the way of the swelling cumulus which seemed to be coming after us as we were about to be sucked in. Phew, never again with a cloud suck!!

Having that bad experience and now flying the most personal form of aircraft, I searched around for a good book about the clouds. Luckily, I stumbled on this one and then decided to buy it.

Wow, what a book! This is a must-have for all pilots as well as anybody that's interested in the clouds. All credits to its author, Dr John A. Day, for his exposition of the subject like no other. He is indeed, the 'Cloud doctor'.

The author does not ramble on about the different cloud types, (that, indeed, would be most boring), rather, he gives a very short introduction to a particular type of cloud as well as the cloud family to which it belongs. This is then followed by photographs, more photographs and indeed more photographs.

Regarding each and every type of cloud, there's a very small but most important insert, showing its key characteristics, such as group, name, base, top, air mass stability, buoyancy, moisture content, temperature, frontal lift and precipitation type.

The key thing that sets this book apart from all the others out there is, its simplicity as well as the many photographs on each and every type of cloud formation that there is out there. So, so many photographs, you wouldn't believe it.

The best part is that most (if not all), of the photographs were actually taken by the author, who worked in the aviation industry until his retirement.

If you really need to understand the clouds, this is the book for you. It is a great book, bar none, in my humble opinion. Here's what I'd advice you to do inorder to get the most out of the book:

1. Firstly, read through the book from cover to cover.

2. Next, re-read it slowly and pay more attention.

3. Finally, close the book and leave it on your desk.

4. When you wake up from bed in the morning, just look out of your window and look at the sky. See if you can identify the type of cloud formation you see up there.

5. Can you identify the type of cloud? If so, what are its characteristics? If not, quickly refer to the book that's on your desk. Can you identify the cloud now after referring to the book? The photographs are all there for you to see. Do this as many times as possible until you really get to know the clouds. This is a must.

6. Are you a pilot? If so, after identifying the cloud, what would you say are its implications for flying? You really ought to get to grips with this aspect 'cos it's most crucial.

This is a superb book. Buy it if you can manage to get hold of it 'cos it sells like hot cake.

Ibiduo Chris Berepiki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars V. good, 17 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
A great book - I didn't know anything about clouds before buying this, but it was recommended to me as something to take your time over. A few pages a day. Startling images and the right level of detail for the non-specialist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the binding quality, 7 July 2009
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
This book promised much but only partially delivered. The quality of many of the pictures leaves much to be desired and the explanations are more limited than other cloud books I have read, but the worst aspect concerns the manufacture. The binding is very poor, I treat books with great care but with this one the cover spine had detached from the pages within 2 days and the pages themselves are showing signs of seperating from each other. Quality as poor as this is unusual these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Clouds, 8 May 2009
By 
C. Barrass (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
This book was bought for my mother and she can't put it down! She's fascinated with cloud formations and I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
A marvellous book, pictures are wonderful, only minor niggle is that the author quotes figures in miles otherwise a wonderful book with the pictures taking pride of place, pity there isn't a DVD to show movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Clouds (Paperback)
We take this book away with us when travelling in our Motorhome and it is such good fun seeing what the weather means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Clouds
The Book of Clouds by John Day (Paperback - 27 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: £44.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews