Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crosswords for kids
The clues seem at a good level for my 10 year old son. The only problem is that some of the clues refer to American brands or personalities that a British child (or adult) wouldn't be aware of.
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Fiona

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crosswords for the Crossword Book
If you want to help your child with spelling the English way avoid this boook. It is american and uses american spelling, which managed to just confuse speeling rather than help.
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crosswords for the Crossword Book, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
If you want to help your child with spelling the English way avoid this boook. It is american and uses american spelling, which managed to just confuse speeling rather than help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Clues, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
Lovely book - exactly what I was after - except that it's written by an American and therefore at least half a dozen of the clues within each crossword are pretty impossible for an 8 yr old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crosswords for kids, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
The clues seem at a good level for my 10 year old son. The only problem is that some of the clues refer to American brands or personalities that a British child (or adult) wouldn't be aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids entertainment, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
Brilliant for my grand daughter although some clues are very American. Needs an adult to explain some of the clues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The crossword Book was useless, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
The book had been filled in already, consequently it was of no use. I was very disappointd as was my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is American English, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
The book itself is American and uses American references and American English. Whilst it is reasonably useful (if you want your children to learn American language usage) Some clues refer to American TV programmes and US popular culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crosswords for kids, 26 July 2011
By 
Mr. KEVIN S. O'HARA "Ciderman" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
Great little book of crosswords which is great for deleoping word recognition for kids. My 5 year old loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reasonably well balanced but watch out for American clues and spellings, 2 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) (Paperback)
I bought this for a linguistically gifted 6 year old. He loves it, but I agree with the previous review that you need to be wary of its Americanism's such as words being spelled the American way and regular clues about American states (in every crossword). However, the crosswords are carefully laid out so that even if you don't know some of the answers you can still get them by filling in other words (there is much more intersecting of words than in regular crosswords).

Thus he has learned something new with virtually every crossword he has so far completed. My son loves the crossword in the kids paper First News but can never answer all the clues, so these are a great compromise. Some clues occur in more than one crossword, but that is not a bad thing necessarily.

I would recommend this book, with the above provisos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa)
Amazing Crosswords for Kids (Mensa) by Trip Payne (Paperback - Jun 2005)
£4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews